[跳至内容]

促进行为健康公平——从学校开始

许多因素会影响我们学童的行为健康。 COVID-19 大流行是一个明显的贡献者,但行为健康公平问题也是如此。早在大流行之前,儿童的心理健康就是一场日益严重的危机。根据外科医生关于青少年心理健康的 2021 年咨询,在 3 至 17 岁的儿童中,多达五分之一的人患有精神、情绪、发育或行为障碍。此外,在 770 万患有可治疗精神疾病的儿童中,约有一半没有得到足够的治疗。1

什么是行为健康公平?

行为健康公平是所有人群获得优质医疗保健的权利,无论个人的种族、民族、性别、社会经济地位、性取向或地理位置如何。这包括获得针对精神和物质使用障碍的预防、治疗和康复服务。

https://www.samhsa.gov/behavioral-health-equity

儿童,尤其是在家中或社区无法获得服务的弱势和服务不足的人群,受益于学校增加的心理健康服务。大流行凸显了这一需求,以及种族和少数族裔群体以及低收入和 LGTBQ+ 青年群体在心理健康服务方面面临额外障碍的事实。这使这些学生面临更大的长期心理健康后果危险。

在学校提供更容易获得的心理健康服务的理由,特别是在服务不足的社区方面,是令人信服的。

这表明我们学校提供的心理健康服务显然需要改进。但是从哪里开始呢?这 疾控中心建议 以下内容有助于提供更安全和更有支持性的学校环境: 2

  • 将学生与现场或社区的心理健康服务联系起来
  • 整合社会情感学习
  • 培训人员
  • 支持教师的心理健康
  • 审查纪律政策以确保公平
  • 建立安全和支持性的环境

一线工作者,如教师和其他学校工作人员,往往最先看到儿童的心理健康问题,但不能指望他们独自承担创造改变的责任。这将需要医疗保健界、政府机构和学校系统的共同努力,以创造必要的创新和改革,将儿童的心理健康和弱势群体的困境作为优先事项。尽管大流行带来了许多明显的挑战,但它也带来了增长的机会——但只有将这些问题列为优先事项。如果我们这样做,那么我们可以改善所有孩子的成果。


[1] https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/mental-health/index.htm

[2] https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/mental-health/index.htm



没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Advancing behavioral health equity – start in schools

Many factors impact the behavioral health of our school children. The COVID-19 pandemic is an obvious contributor, but so is the issue of behavioral health equity. Long before the pandemic, children’s mental health was a growing crisis. According to the Surgeon General’s 2021 advisory on youth mental health, up to 1 in 5 children ages 3 to 17 struggled with a reported mental, emotional, developmental or behavioral disorder. Additionally, approximately half of the 7.7 million children with a treatable mental health disorder did not receive adequate treatment.1

What is behavioral health equity?

Behavioral Health Equity is the right to access quality health care for all populations regardless of the individual’s race, ethnicity, gender, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, or geographical location. This includes access to prevention, treatment, and recovery services for mental and substance use disorders.

https://www.samhsa.gov/behavioral-health-equity

Children, especially vulnerable and underserved populations without access to services in their home or community, benefit from increased mental health services at school. The pandemic highlighted this need as well as the fact that racial and ethnic minority groups, along with low-income and LGTBQ+ youth populations, face extra barriers to mental health services. This puts these students in even greater danger of long-term mental health consequences.

The case for more accessible mental health services in schools, specifically when it comes to underserved communities, is compelling.

This points to an obvious need for improvement in mental health services offered by our schools. But where to start? The CDC recommends the following to help provide a safer and more supportive school environment: 2

  • Linking students to mental health services onsite or in the community
  • Integrating social emotional learning
  • Training staff
  • Supporting the mental health of teachers
  • Reviewing discipline policies to ensure equity
  • Building safe and supportive environments

Frontline workers such as teachers and other school personnel are often the first to see mental health issues in children, but they cannot be expected to bear the responsibility of creating change alone. It will take the combined efforts of the healthcare community, government agencies and school systems to create the innovations and reforms that are needed to make children’s mental health and the plight of the underserved a priority. While the pandemic brings many obvious challenges it also brings opportunity for growth – but only by making these issues a priority. If we do that, then we can improve outcomes for all kids.


[1] https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/mental-health/index.htm

[2] https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/mental-health/index.htm



No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish