[تخطى الى المحتوى]

تعزيز العدالة السلوكية الصحية - ابدأ في المدارس

تؤثر العديد من العوامل على الصحة السلوكية لأطفال مدرستنا. إن جائحة COVID-19 هو أحد العوامل المساهمة الواضحة ، وكذلك مسألة المساواة في الصحة السلوكية. قبل الوباء بوقت طويل ، كانت الصحة العقلية للأطفال أزمة متنامية. وفقًا لاستشارة الجراح العام لعام 2021 بشأن الصحة العقلية للشباب ، يعاني ما يصل إلى 1 من كل 5 أطفال تتراوح أعمارهم بين 3 و 17 عامًا من اضطراب عقلي أو عاطفي أو تنموي أو سلوكي تم الإبلاغ عنه. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لم يتلق ما يقرب من نصف 7.7 مليون طفل يعانون من اضطرابات نفسية يمكن علاجها العلاج المناسب.1

ما هو العدل السلوكي الصحي؟

المساواة في الصحة السلوكية هي الحق في الحصول على رعاية صحية جيدة لجميع السكان بغض النظر عن عرق الفرد أو عرقه أو جنسه أو وضعه الاجتماعي الاقتصادي أو توجهه الجنسي أو موقعه الجغرافي. وهذا يشمل الوصول إلى خدمات الوقاية والعلاج والتعافي من الاضطرابات النفسية وتعاطي المخدرات.

https://www.samhsa.gov/behavioral-health-equity

يستفيد الأطفال ، وخاصة الفئات الضعيفة والمحرومة من الخدمات ، الذين لا يحصلون على الخدمات في منازلهم أو مجتمعاتهم المحلية ، من خدمات الصحة النفسية المتزايدة في المدرسة. سلط الوباء الضوء على هذه الحاجة بالإضافة إلى حقيقة أن مجموعات الأقليات العرقية والإثنية ، إلى جانب السكان الشباب ذوي الدخل المنخفض و LGTBQ + ، يواجهون حواجز إضافية أمام خدمات الصحة العقلية. هذا يضع هؤلاء الطلاب في خطر أكبر من عواقب الصحة العقلية طويلة الأجل.

إن الحجة للحصول على المزيد من خدمات الصحة العقلية في المدارس ، وتحديداً عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمجتمعات المحرومة ، مقنعة.

يشير هذا إلى الحاجة الواضحة لتحسين خدمات الصحة العقلية التي تقدمها مدارسنا. لكن من أين تبدأ؟ ال يوصي مركز السيطرة على الأمراض ما يلي للمساعدة في توفير بيئة مدرسية أكثر أمانًا وداعمة: 2

  • ربط الطلاب بخدمات الصحة النفسية في الموقع أو في المجتمع
  • دمج التعلم الاجتماعي العاطفي
  • تدريب الموظفين
  • دعم الصحة النفسية للمعلمين
  • مراجعة سياسات الانضباط لضمان العدالة
  • بناء بيئات آمنة وداعمة

غالبًا ما يكون العاملون في الخطوط الأمامية مثل المعلمين وموظفي المدرسة الآخرين هم أول من يرى مشاكل الصحة العقلية لدى الأطفال ، ولكن لا يُتوقع منهم أن يتحملوا مسؤولية إحداث التغيير بمفردهم. سوف يتطلب الأمر تضافر جهود مجتمع الرعاية الصحية والوكالات الحكومية والأنظمة المدرسية لخلق الابتكارات والإصلاحات اللازمة لجعل الصحة العقلية للأطفال ومحنة المحرومين من الأولويات. في حين أن الوباء يجلب العديد من التحديات الواضحة ، فإنه يوفر أيضًا فرصة للنمو - ولكن فقط من خلال جعل هذه القضايا أولوية. إذا فعلنا ذلك ، فيمكننا تحسين النتائج لجميع الأطفال.


[1] https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/mental-health/index.htm

[2] https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/mental-health/index.htm



لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

رابط علوي
arالعربية

[Skip to Content]

Advancing behavioral health equity – start in schools

Many factors impact the behavioral health of our school children. The COVID-19 pandemic is an obvious contributor, but so is the issue of behavioral health equity. Long before the pandemic, children’s mental health was a growing crisis. According to the Surgeon General’s 2021 advisory on youth mental health, up to 1 in 5 children ages 3 to 17 struggled with a reported mental, emotional, developmental or behavioral disorder. Additionally, approximately half of the 7.7 million children with a treatable mental health disorder did not receive adequate treatment.1

What is behavioral health equity?

Behavioral Health Equity is the right to access quality health care for all populations regardless of the individual’s race, ethnicity, gender, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, or geographical location. This includes access to prevention, treatment, and recovery services for mental and substance use disorders.

https://www.samhsa.gov/behavioral-health-equity

Children, especially vulnerable and underserved populations without access to services in their home or community, benefit from increased mental health services at school. The pandemic highlighted this need as well as the fact that racial and ethnic minority groups, along with low-income and LGTBQ+ youth populations, face extra barriers to mental health services. This puts these students in even greater danger of long-term mental health consequences.

The case for more accessible mental health services in schools, specifically when it comes to underserved communities, is compelling.

This points to an obvious need for improvement in mental health services offered by our schools. But where to start? The CDC recommends the following to help provide a safer and more supportive school environment: 2

  • Linking students to mental health services onsite or in the community
  • Integrating social emotional learning
  • Training staff
  • Supporting the mental health of teachers
  • Reviewing discipline policies to ensure equity
  • Building safe and supportive environments

Frontline workers such as teachers and other school personnel are often the first to see mental health issues in children, but they cannot be expected to bear the responsibility of creating change alone. It will take the combined efforts of the healthcare community, government agencies and school systems to create the innovations and reforms that are needed to make children’s mental health and the plight of the underserved a priority. While the pandemic brings many obvious challenges it also brings opportunity for growth – but only by making these issues a priority. If we do that, then we can improve outcomes for all kids.


[1] https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/mental-health/index.htm

[2] https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/mental-health/index.htm



No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish