[跳至内容]

在假期及以后管理孤独感

假期即将来临,具有讽刺意味的是,假期可能会带来孤独和孤独。假期的基本特征是与亲人在一起,但有些人并没有像他们想要的或期望的那样联系紧密。在2020年,添加COVID-19及其隔离指示,这样的可能性就会增强。

因此,假期提供了一个极好的时机,以讨论我们如何在需要分开以保护身体健康的时间里加强联系,这一要求反常会对我们的心理健康造成破坏性影响。我们 能够但是,负责改善我们的心理健康。

孤独与孤立与我们的健康

孤独与孤立有什么区别? “孤独是一种孤独感,无论社会交往的程度如何,”根据 疾病预防与控制中心 (CDC)。另一方面,社会孤立是缺乏社会联系。换句话说,一个人可以拥有许多社交关系,但仍然感到孤独。

孤独和孤立对身体和心理的健康风险很大。它们包括但不限于:

  • 社会隔离增加了过早死亡的风险, 29%可以与吸烟,肥胖和缺乏运动相抗衡。
  • 社会孤立与痴呆症风险增加约 50%.
  • 孤独感相连 导致抑郁症,焦虑症和自杀率更高。

美国国家科学,工程和医学研究院的2020年报告 (NASEM)指出,在45岁以上的成年人中,有超过三分之一的人感到孤独,在65岁以上的成年人中,约有四分之一的人感到孤独。将假期和COVID-19添加到已经存在的条件下,我们所有人采取行动保护自己的心理健康的时机已经成熟。

在假期期间改善心理健康的简单步骤

特定于季节和时间,有一些常识性提示,我们每个人都可以练习以帮助管理孤独感。例如:

  • 与某人谈谈您的孤独感和孤独感。孤独感存在污名,因此很难做到。但是,您可能会发现自己并不孤单,与他人分享可能会减轻他们的影响。
  • 管理您的假期/ COVID-19的期望。假期可能无法达到预期,但今年可能会更糟。了解这种大流行不会永远持续下去,而且我们在一起。确实,今年许多人的假期聚会可能会有所不同。
  • 记住要比现在更加照顾自己。睡眠,运动和良好的营养-适当地放纵假期-可以极大地改善心理健康。
  • 避免使用社交媒体,例如Facebook或Instagram,尤其是在假期期间。否定性地将自己的生活与社交媒体上发布的“完美”生活进行比较很容易,而忘记了人们大多只发布积极的生活。

孤独和孤立是其自身的大流行

假期不会永远持续下去,我们将度过COVID-19大流行。但是,孤独感和社会孤立感可能会持续存在,这给行为健康提供者带来了挑战。

NASEM最近的报告 探索医疗保健系统可以采取的干预措施,以解决作为社会状况的孤独感,例如参与支持小组,认知行为疗法和正念,健康的社会决定因素,社会处方等。

社会处方可以说是更有趣的干预措施之一,因为它把临床观点放在了非临床解决方案上。根据NASEM的说法,虽然对社交处方没有一个明确的定义,但它被普遍认为是将人们与非临床支持联系起来的一种方式。具体来说,这是“非医学推荐或链接服务,旨在帮助人们识别其社会需求并制定福祉行动计划,以促进,建立或重建其社区中的融合与支持,以改善个人福祉。”改善影响健康的社会问题的二级服务的例子包括住房和粮食不安全服务。

尽管对于不同的基于社区的组织来说是众所周知的,但是社交处方在从业者中并不常见,但这是一种常识性的解决方案。对NASEM报告中的一个试点计划(尽管很小)的分析发现,社交处方使住院病人减少了多达21%,急诊室就诊人数减少了20%。

由于没有社交媒体和其他技术,没有COVID-19的现代世界比以往任何时候都更加紧密地联系在一起。但是,研究表明,我们现在比最近历史上的任何时候都更加孤独。当我们越来越意识到非生理状况(例如从公共卫生突发事件到社交媒体的各种问题)如何影响我们的健康时,是时候开箱思考了。 


22评论。 留下新的

凯瑟琳·安·西罗依斯(Kathleen Ann Sirois)
2020年12月9日,下午4:00

谢谢哈根博士
说得真好……

回复
玛丽莲·格林(Marilyn Green)
2020年12月9日下午4:14

我发现由于合二为一,对治疗师的需求很高。治疗师很难跟上转诊的时间。我本人一直在进行转介,因为我每周六天最多每天晚上九点工作。我们每个人都需要注意并自我照顾。感谢您提供的信息,我将与您分享。

回复

我认为,对于那些能够开车或通过电子方式下车的人来说,与他人隔离是一个自我伤害的伤口。更重要的是,如果我们相信自己一个人,那将是一个精神问题/危机。我的基督教信仰使我想起“我不孤单”,因为我相信我通过耶稣基督与上帝的关系。即使有时我可能会感到“孤单”,但我并非如此。认识到我孤独的感觉的另一种方式是,这种感觉是上帝促使人们起床并做一些事情的提示!

我为那些独自“感觉”自己寻求能量的人祈祷。如果您有信仰,则要求该信仰的作者提供帮助。对于那些没有信仰的人,您必须依靠自己或爱或关心您的福利的另一个人。

对于那些无论出于什么原因都无法起床或下车的人,我祈祷上帝会提供某人干预他们的生活。我相信他在这种情况下的完美意志。

回复

好主意,谢谢分享🙏

回复

我向客户介绍了以家庭为中心的历史,注入了节日的欢呼声,对美好的家庭联系想法寄予厚望。显然,大约在1920年左右,政府担心假期前后举行过多的聚会,并大力推动以家庭为中心的聚会。因此,如果这是一个相对较新的想法,那么我们可以发明其他新想法和传统,这些新想法和传统不具有商业价值,对健康的功能性家庭没有决定性,等等,并减轻了我们的压力。

回复

打印并与我们所有的临床医生共享。

回复
托马斯·约翰逊
2020年12月9日下午4:50

非常有帮助和发人深省。

回复
乔安妮·罗西(Joanne Rossi)
十二月9,2020 5:06下午

当然,对于我们的许多客户来说,假期可能既开心又痛苦
回忆。作为在COVID这段时期工作的治疗师,我们可以与我们分享
客户也许有新的习惯和方式来创造丰富和
使他们能够认识到个人选择并珍惜他们所珍视的东西
珍惜或不愿在某个时候融入生活。我们与我们的关系
客户是真正的情感药。让我们以一种健康和健康的方式来建模。

回复
LMFT的安吉拉·纽曼(Angela L Newman)
十二月9,2020 5:41下午

谢谢,非常及时的文章。

回复
摩根·旺格林(LPC-S)
2020年12月9日下午5:50

精神病治疗师的服务不仅需求量很大,而且鉴于大流行,满足客户期望也变得越来越困难。例如,我有一位渴望与人接触并想见面的客户,却又不了解继续采取安全预防措施的必要性。

回复

谢谢。这些关于Covid影响的偶发文章很有帮助

回复

我认为我们所有人,客户,员工和自我中都已经看到甚至可能正在经历的想法。
分享一些好的常识性建议。

回复
夏洛特·古德温
2020年12月9日,下午7:00

说得好。能够将其分解为我们可以理解的水平,对此深表感谢。这需要在世界范围内分享。孤独与孤立的含义!!!!

回复
丹妮丝·加格尼尔
2020年12月9日下午8:56

谢谢您的这篇深思熟虑的文章!

回复
Fazeeda Rahman博士
十二月10,2020 12:14上午

好点。我喜欢社交处方的想法,也鼓励别人注意自己的期望。

回复
迈克尔·霍华德
十二月10,2020 3:27下午

很棒的文章…高度了解

回复
道格拉斯·斯特兰奇
十二月10,2020 5:54下午

服务他人的价值已有数千年的历史了。通过简单的服务行为,我们可以为同胞提供一种归属感和社区兴起感。在社会层面以及精神层面上都建立了联系。深深的满足感来自为他人而不是自我造福的行为。从这一小小的举动中,我们还重申了与他人的联系,消除了孤独和孤立的感觉。我的视线越向内向自我,我的感觉就越少。我的视线越向外,越能与他人,自然和我的上帝交流。提出这种思维方式的最有影响力的现代作家之一是Logos Therapy的创始人Viktor Frankl。他指出“人类的最后自由–在任何给定的情况下选择自己的态度,选择自己的方式。”也就是说,选择一种自由的态度而不是被囚禁,选择社区而不是孤独,要为他人服务而不要扩大负面情绪。认为自由。

回复

绝对远离所有社交媒体,尤其是在假期,任何假期。他们只会不断提醒您,与他人的光荣和幸福时光相比,您的生活有多糟糕。最糟糕的是,您甚至都不知道它是否是真实的。他们中的许多人都是上演但经过精心完成的,使您认为它们是真实的。

回复
维罗妮卡·麦考伊(Veronica McKoy)
十二月10,2020 7:58下午

感谢你的这篇文章。很有帮助。

回复

感谢您对这个重要的话题发表评论,这对人们来说通常是一个问题,但是现在由于任务隔离而更加糟糕。我的案子中有些内向的人实际上向我评论说,隔离是一种缓解,因为“每个人都必须这样做”,而且他们并没有什么不同。

回复
LCSW的Pat Rodriguez
十二月11,2020 12:21上午

有趣的是,心理学家似乎总是想出了数十年来由专业社会工作者进行的活动的新的,临床的或伪临床的术语。 “社会处方” =具体的社区资源。否则,文章准确。
在这段艰难的时期,治疗师也极有可能出现倦怠,焦虑和沮丧的风险。

回复
吉尔·莫兰德
十二月11,2020 8:26下午

我认为人们需要对自己的选择有所控制。本文提供了一个很好的机会来提醒客户选择观看什么,如何进行互动以及他们会选择哪些自我护理的最爱。谢谢!!

回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Managing loneliness during the holidays and beyond

The holidays are upon us, and the irony they bring is the potential for isolation and loneliness. Holidays’ essential identity is getting together with loved ones, but some people do not feel as connected as they would like or expect. In 2020, add COVID-19 and its quarantining dictates, and the potential for such feelings can strengthen.

The holidays, therefore, present an excellent time to discuss how we can reinforce connections during a time that requires us to be apart to protect our physical health, a requirement that paradoxically can have a damaging effect on our mental health. We can, however, take charge of improving our mental health.

Loneliness and isolation and our health

What is the difference between loneliness and isolation? “Loneliness is the feeling of being alone, regardless of the amount of social contact,” according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Social isolation, on the other hand, is a lack of social connections. Put differently, one can have many social connections but still feel lonely.

The physical and mental health risks of loneliness and isolation are significant. They include but are not limited to:

  • Social isolation increases the risk of premature death by 29 percent, rivalling smoking, obesity and physical inactivity.
  • Social isolation is associated with increasing the risk for dementia by approximately 50 percent.
  • Loneliness is connected to higher rates of depression, anxiety and suicide.

A 2020 report by the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine (NASEM) states that more than one-third of adults 45 and older feel lonely, and approximately one-fourth 65 and older are socially isolated. Add the holidays and COVID-19 to an already preexisting condition, and the time is ripe for all of us to take action to protect our mental health.

Simple steps for better mental health during the holidays

Specific to the season and the times, there are common-sense tips that we all can practice to help manage loneliness. For example:

  • Talk to someone about your sense of loneliness and isolation. There’s stigma around loneliness so it can be hard to do. However, you may well find that you’re not alone in those feelings, and sharing them can help lessen their effect.
  • Manage your holiday/COVID-19 expectations. The holidays can fall short of expectations, but this year it may be worse. Understand that the pandemic won’t last forever, and that we’re all in this together. Indeed, many people’s holiday gatherings will likely be different this year.
  • Remember to take care of yourself, now more than ever. Sleep, exercise and good nutrition — with the proper amount of holiday indulgence — go a long way in addressing mental health.
  • Avoid social media, such as Facebook or Instagram, especially during the holidays. It’s easy to negatively compare one’s life to the “perfect” lives posted on social media, forgetting that people mostly post only the positive.

Loneliness and isolation as its own pandemic

The holidays don’t last forever, and we will get through the COVID-19 pandemic. However, loneliness and social isolation may persist, which presents a challenge for behavioral health providers.

The recent NASEM report explores interventions that the healthcare system can take to address loneliness as a societal condition, such as engagement in support groups, cognitive behavioral therapy and mindfulness, social determinants of health, social prescribing and more.

Social prescribing is arguably one of the more interesting interventions in that it puts a clinical lens on non-clinical solutions. While there is no hard-fast definition of social prescribing, it is generally accepted as a way to connect people to non-clinical sources of support, according to the NASEM. Specifically, it is a “non-medical referral, or linking service, to help people identify their social needs and develop wellbeing action plans to promote, establish or reestablish integration and support in their communities, with the aim of improving personal wellbeing.” Examples of secondary services that improve social concerns affecting health include housing and food insecurity services.

While known to varying community-based organizations, social prescribing is not common among practitioners, but it’s a common-sense solution. An analysis of one pilot program from the NASEM report — albeit a small one — found that social prescribing reduced inpatient admissions by as much as 21 percent and emergency room visits by 20 percent.

A modern world — without COVID-19 — is more connected than ever due to social media and other technology. However, studies have shown we are more lonely now than in any other time in recent history. It’s time to think out of the box as we realize more and more how non-physiological conditions — such as issues ranging from a public health emergency to social media — can affect our health. 


22 Comments. Leave new

Kathleen Ann Sirois
December 9, 2020 4:00 pm

Thank You Dr. Hagen
It is so well said …

Reply
Marilyn Green
December 9, 2020 4:14 pm

I have found that due to covid the need for therapist is high demand. Therapist are having a difficult time keeping up with the referrals. I myself have been making referrals because I am working until nine PM most days six day a week. We all need to be mindful and do self care. Thanks for the information I will share it.

Reply

In my opinion, for those who are able to drive, or get out via electronic means, it is a self-inflicted wound to isolate from others. More importantly, it is a spiritual issue/crisis if we believe that we are alone. My Christian faith reminds me that “I am never alone” because I trust in my relationship with God through Jesus Christ. Even though I may at times “feel” alone, I am not. Another way of recognizing my feelings of being alone, is that the feeling is a prompt from God to get up and do something about it!

I pray for those who do “feel” alone to ask for the energy to get energized. If you have a faith, you ask for the author of that faith to help you. For those who have no faith, you must depend on yourself or another who loves or cares for your welfare.

And for those who, for whatever reason can not get up or get out, I pray that God would provide someone to intervene in their life. I trust in His perfect will for those in this condition.

Reply

Great thoughts, thank you for sharing 🙏

Reply

I tell my clients about the history of the family centered, holiday cheer infused, high expectations of wonderful family connectivity idea. Apparently around 1920, government got concerned about too much partying going on around the holidays and put on a big push to make it family centered instead. So if this is a relatively new idea, then we can invent other new ideas and traditions that are less commercial, less determinant of a healthy functional family, etc. And reduce our stress.

Reply

printed and shared with all of our clinicians.

Reply
Thomas Johnson
December 9, 2020 4:50 pm

Very helpful and thought provoking.

Reply

And of course with many of our clients the holidays can hold both happy and hurtful
memories. As therapists working during these times of COVID we can share with our
clients perhaps new rituals and ways to creating a holiday time that enriches and
empowers them in recognizing personal choices and holding dear that which they
cherish or may wish to bring into their life at some time. Our relationship with our
clients is true emotional medicine. Let us model that in a healing and healthy manner.

Reply
Angela L Newman, LMFT
December 9, 2020 5:41 pm

Thank you, a very timely article.

Reply
Morgan Wangerin, LPC-S
December 9, 2020 5:50 pm

The services of mental health therapist is not only in high demand it is also becoming increasingly difficult to meet client expectations in light of the pandemic. For example, I have client’s who are craving human contact and wanting to meet in person while not able to understand the need for continued safety precautions.

Reply
Barbara Block
December 9, 2020 6:03 pm

Thank you. These occasional articles about the impact of Covid are helpful

Reply

Thoughts that I think we are all seeing and maybe even experiencing among our clients, staff and self.
Good common sense suggestions to share.

Reply
Charlotte Goodwin
December 9, 2020 7:00 pm

This was well said. To be able to break this down on a level that we can understand is very appreciated. This need to be share across the world. Loneliness and isolation the meaning!!!!

Reply
Denise Gagnier
December 9, 2020 8:56 pm

Thank-you for this thoughtful article!

Reply
Dr. Fazeeda Rahman
December 10, 2020 12:14 am

Good points. I love the idea of social prescribing as well as encouraging others to be mindful of their expectations.

Reply
Michael Howard
December 10, 2020 3:27 pm

Awesome article…great awareness

Reply
Douglas Strange
December 10, 2020 5:54 pm

The value of serving another person has been written about for millennia. Through the simple acts of service, we can provide to a fellow human being a sense of belonging and community arise. A connection at a social level and as well at a spiritual level is formed. Deep satisfaction comes from an action taken to benefit the other rather than the self. And from this small act, we also reaffirm our connection with others, driving away feelings of loneliness and isolation. The more my gaze turns inward toward the self, the less connected I feel. The more my gaze turns outward to the other, the more I am able to commune with others, nature, and my God. One of the most influential modern writers to present this way of thinking is Viktor Frankl, the founder of Logos Therapy. He points to the “last of the human freedoms — to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way.” That is, choose an attitude of freedom over captivity, community over aloneness, service to others over magnifying negative emotions. Think Freedom.

Reply

Definitely stay away from all social media, especially during the holidays, any holidays. They will only constantly remind you how terrible your life is comparing to others’ glamourous and happy times. Worst of all, you do not even know if it is true; a lot of them are staged but carefully done, make you think they are real.

Reply
Veronica McKoy
December 10, 2020 7:58 pm

Thank you for the article. Very helpful.

Reply

Thanks for commenting on this important topic which is often a problem for people but worse now with mandates to isolate. I have had a few introverted people on my caseload actually comment to me that isolating has been a relief as “everyone has to do so” and they don’t feel as different.

Reply
Pat Rodriguez, LCSW
December 11, 2020 12:21 am

Interesting that Psychologists always seem to come up with new, clinical or pseudo-clinical terminology for activities that have been conducted by professional social workers for decades. “Social Prescribing” = concrete, community resources. Otherwise, accurate article.
Therapists are also at high risk of burnout, anxiety and depression during this difficult time.

Reply

I think that people need to feel some control over their choices. This article gives a great opportunity to remind clients of the choice of what to watch, how to interact, what self- care favorites they will choose. Thank you!!

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish