[跳至内容]

改善阿片类药物使用障碍患者的预后

2021年,美国药物过量死亡人数增加了近29%,每年超过10万人。这些死亡中有超过 75% 来自阿片类药物 (75,673)。[1] 有了这些令人震惊的统计数据,迫切需要对阿片类药物使用障碍 (OUD) 进行有效治疗。

使用药物治疗阿片类药物使用障碍 (MOUD) 是目前 OUD 最有效的治疗方法。[2] 尽管有三种 FDA 批准的药物(美沙酮、丁丙诺啡和纳曲酮),但 MOUD 并没有得到尽可能多的利用。在急性护理环境中,许多住院病房仍然依赖于传统的戒断管理方案,这与由于身体耐受性降低而导致复发、意外过量和/或死亡的高风险有关。

2018 年,Beacon Health Options 和康涅狄格州行为健康伙伴关系 (CT BHP) 发起了改变途径,以促进 MOUD、改善 OUD 患者的治疗结果并挽救生命。该模型现在处于该州应对阿片类药物流行的最前沿,最近已扩展到纽约。

改变途径的三个要素是:1) 对治疗方案的彻底教育,包括向所有接受 OUD 护理的成员提供 FDA 批准的三种 MOUD,2) 为有兴趣的成员提供 MOUD 诱导,以及 3) 与后期护理的无缝连接MOUD的延续。

同行专家在该计划中发挥了关键作用,他们从住院病房开始提供教育和支持,直至出院后 90 天。 “因为参与者知道同伴了解他们正在经历的事情,所以同伴能够建立更私人的联系。参与者更有可能与自己经历过的人建立信任,”认证同伴恢复专家 Mary Jo Capitani 说。     

在改变途径计划中,参与者在退出管理阶段开始接受 MOUD。然后它们以稳定的剂量排出。该计划将成员与社区提供者联系起来,以便他们可以继续 MOUD 并遵循恢复计划。

迄今为止,改变途径的结果是积极的。会员参与度有所提高,更多 OUD 患者正在成功康复。在该计划的前 18 个月中,入选的参与者取得了许多积极成果,包括:

  • 通过 32% 增加与 MOUD 的连接
  • 与传统的戒断管理相比,在 30 天内再入院的人数减少了 12%
  • 对于保持 MOUD 依从性的参与者,在出院后 90 天内,行为健康 ED 就诊、住院天数和戒断管理事件的平均次数分别为 54%、39.7% 和 55.8%[3]
  • 对于出院后仍保持 MOUD 依从性 90 天的个人,可减少 74% 的过量用药

改变途径正在通过改变实践、对 MOUD 重要性的教育以及提高 MOUD 依从性的挽救生命的策略来改变对抗阿片类药物流行的游戏。获取我们的 提供者工具包 在线了解更多信息。


[1] CDC 国家卫生统计中心,美国药物过量死亡人数每年前 100,000 人,

[2] https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/research-and-analysis/fact-sheets/2020/12/medications-for-opioid-use-disorder-improve-patient-outcomes#:~:text=The%20most%20effective%20treatments%20for,methadone%2C%20buprenorphine%2C%20and%20naltrexone

[3] “坚持”是指在出院后的三个月内使用 MOUD 至少 80% 天。


标签: 倡导,

没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Improving outcomes for people with opioid use disorder

In 2021, the number of drug overdose deaths in the United States increased by nearly 29%, topping 100,000 annually. More than 75% of those deaths were from opioids (75,673).[1] With alarming statistics like these, the need for effective treatment options for opioid use disorder (OUD) is urgent.

The use of medications for opioid use disorder (MOUD) is currently the most effective treatment for OUD.[2] Although there are three FDA-approved medications (methadone, buprenorphine, and naltrexone), MOUD is not utilized as much as it could be. In acute care settings many inpatient units still rely on traditional withdrawal management protocols, which are associated with high risk for relapse, accidental overdose, and/or death due to decreased physical tolerance.

In 2018, Beacon Health Options and the Connecticut Behavioral Health Partnership (CT BHP) launched Changing Pathways to promote MOUD, improve outcomes for individuals with OUD, and save lives. The model is now at the forefront of the state’s response to the opioid epidemic and has recently expanded to New York.

The three elements of Changing Pathways are: 1) thorough education on treatment options including the three FDA-approved MOUD provided to all members entering care with OUD, 2) offering MOUD induction for members who are interested, and 3) seamless connection to aftercare for the continuation of MOUD.

Peer specialists play a key role in this program by providing education and support starting in the inpatient unit and up to 90 days after discharge. “Because the participant knows the peer understands what they are going through, a peer is able to make a more personal connection. Participants are more likely to develop trust with someone who’s been through it themselves,” said Mary Jo Capitani, Certified Peer Recovery Specialist.     

In the Changing Pathways program, participants begin receiving MOUD during a withdrawal management episode. They are then discharged on a stable dose. The program links members with a community provider so that they can continue MOUD and follow a plan to recovery.

To date, the outcomes for Changing Pathways have been positive. Member engagement has increased and more people with OUD are experiencing successful recovery. In the program’s first 18 months, inducted participants experienced a number of positive outcomes including:

  • Increased connection to MOUD by 32%
  • Decrease in readmissions to inpatient facilities by 12% within 30 days compared to traditional withdrawal management
  • the average number of behavioral health ED visits, inpatient days, and withdrawal management episodes by 54%, 39.7%, and 55.8% respectively, in the 90 days following discharge for participants who remained MOUD adherent[3]
  • Reduction in overdoses by 74% for individuals who remained MOUD adherent for 90 days following discharge

Changing Pathways is changing the game in the fight against the opioid epidemic through practice change, education on the importance of MOUD, and life-saving strategies that increase MOUD adherence. Get our provider toolkit online to learn more.


[1] CDC National Center for Health Statistics, Drug Overdose Deaths in the U.S. Top 100,000 Annually,

[2] https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/research-and-analysis/fact-sheets/2020/12/medications-for-opioid-use-disorder-improve-patient-outcomes#:~:text=The%20most%20effective%20treatments%20for,methadone%2C%20buprenorphine%2C%20and%20naltrexone

[3] “Adherence” refers to using MOUD at least 80% of days for the three months following discharge.


Tags: advocacy,

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish