[تخطى الى المحتوى]

حرق الشمعة من كلا الطرفين: 6 نصائح لتقليل إجهاد مقدم الرعاية

بالنسبة للكثيرين ، يمثل شهر نوفمبر بداية موسم العطاء. ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يعتنون بالعائلة والأحباء ، يمكن أن يستمر هذا الموسم طوال العام.

مع تقدم سكان أمتنا في العمر ، تزداد الحاجة إلى تقديم الرعاية الرحيمة والميسورة التكلفة. في كثير من الأحيان ، يكون هذا الدور غير مدفوع الأجر ويقع على عاتق أحد أفراد الأسرة. وفقًا للتقديرات الأخيرة الصادرة عن مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) ، أبلغ 22.3% من البالغين في الولايات المتحدة عن توفير الرعاية لأحد أفراد الأسرة أو أحد أفراد أسرته في الثلاثين يومًا الماضية.[1]

يعتبر تقديم الرعاية أحد أهم الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها لشخص عزيز عليك ومكافأتها. وهي أيضًا واحدة من أكثر التحديات تحديًا لأنها تضع ضغطًا نفسيًا وجسديًا إضافيًا على مقدم الرعاية.

يُعد توتر مقدم الرعاية أمرًا حقيقيًا ويمكن أن يتخذ أشكالًا عديدة بما في ذلك الشعور بالإرهاق والوحدة والاستياء - وكل ذلك يؤدي غالبًا إلى الشعور بالذنب. قد يظهر إجهاد مقدم الرعاية أيضًا على شكل صداع أو ألم في الجسم أو مرض جسدي آخر. هذا يجعل من الصعب تقديم الرعاية المناسبة لمن تحب ، ويكاد يكون من المستحيل الاعتناء بنفسك.

من المهم التعرف على علامات إجهاد مقدم الرعاية. فيما يلي بعض النصائح المفيدة للتخفيف من الإحباط والإرهاق أثناء تقديم الرعاية:

  1. تعامل مع مشاعرك بجدية واستمع إلى ما يخبرك به جسدك. يمكن أن يؤدي إجهاد مقدم الرعاية إلى مشاكل صحية خطيرة وتحديات للصحة العقلية. تحدث إلى طبيبك أو معالجك عما تعانيه. ضع في اعتبارك مواعيد الرعاية الصحية عن بُعد الافتراضية إذا كانت مناسبة لمخاوفك.
  2. يمكن أن يؤدي القلق أو الشعور بالعجز إلى تفاقم التوتر وتأثيراته على الجسم. يمكن أن يؤدي وضع خطة لتقليل التوتر إلى الشعور بالقوة وتقليل تلك الآثار الضارة. قد تتضمن خطتك وقتًا مدمجًا للتواصل الاجتماعي مع الأصدقاء أو قضاء أمسية هادئة في المنزل ، على سبيل المثال.
  3. أنشئ نظام دعم واطلب المساعدة - وهذا يشمل المساعدة المالية. كن محددًا بشأن ما تحتاجه ولا تخف من مطالبة أفراد العائلة بالمساهمة. أنشئ قائمة بالطرق التي يمكن للآخرين من خلالها المساعدة وفكر في الانضمام إلى مجموعة دعم. ثم امنح نفسك الإذن بقبول المساعدة.
  4. قل "لا" للطلبات التي قد تكون مستنزفة. دع شخصًا آخر يستضيف وجبة العيد ، على سبيل المثال.
  5. ضع في اعتبارك الرعاية المؤقتة أو ابحث عن موارد المجتمع التي يمكن أن تساعد من تحب على المدى القصير بينما تأخذ وقتًا لنفسك.
  6. اعلم أن مقدم الرعاية المثالي غير موجود. الشعور بالذنب يجعل من الصعب التعامل مع توتر مقدم الرعاية. ذكّر نفسك أنك تبذل قصارى جهدك.

إذا كنت تشعر بالإرهاق أو تعاني من ضائقة عاطفية ، فإن خطنا الساخن الذي يعمل على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع متاح لك. اتصل بنا في أي وقت على 6934-580-800-1 أو اتصل بشريان الحياة 988 Suicide and Crisis.


[1] الموقع الإلكتروني لمراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها ، رعاية الأسرة والأصدقاء - قضية تتعلق بالصحة العامة (تم الدخول في نوفمبر 2022): cdc.gov/aging/caregiving/caregiver-brief.html


لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

رابط علوي
arالعربية

[Skip to Content]

Burning the candle at both ends: 6 tips to reduce caregiver stress

For many, November marks the beginning of the season of giving. For those caring for family and loved ones, however, that season can last all year long.

As our nation’s population ages, the need for compassionate and affordable caregiving increases. Many times, that role is unpaid and falls to a family member. According to recent estimates from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), 22.3% of adults in the United States report providing care to a family member or loved one in the past 30 days.[1]

Caregiving is one of the most important and rewarding things you can do for a loved one. It is also one of the more challenging because it places additional emotional and physical strain on the caregiver.

Caregiver stress is real and can take many forms including feelings of exhaustion, loneliness, and resentment – all of which often lead to feelings of guilt. Caregiver stress may also appear as headaches, body pain, or other physical illness. This makes it more difficult to properly provide care for your loved one and almost impossible to care for yourself.

It is important to recognize the signs of caregiver stress. Here are some helpful tips to mitigate both frustration and burnout while caregiving:

  1. Take your feelings seriously and listen to what your body is telling you. Caregiver stress can lead to serious health problems and mental health challenges. Talk to your doctor or therapist about what you’re experiencing. Consider virtual telehealth appointments if appropriate for your concerns.
  2. Worrying or feeling helpless can exacerbate stress and its effects on the body. Creating a plan to reduce stress can feel empowering and reduce those harmful effects. Your plan might include built-in time for socializing with friends or spending a quiet evening at home, for example.
  3. Create a support system and ask for help –  this includes financial help. Be specific about what you need and don’t be afraid to ask family members to contribute. Create a list of ways others can help and consider joining a support group. Then give yourself permission to accept help.
  4. Say “no” to  requests that may be draining. Let someone else host the holiday meal, for example.
  5. Consider respite care or look for community resources that can help your loved one on a short-term basis while you take time for yourself.
  6. Recognize that the perfect caregiver does not exist. Feelings of guilt only make caregiver stress more difficult to handle. Remind yourself that you’re doing the best you can.

If you are feeling burned out or experiencing emotional distress, our 24/7 hotline is here for you. Call us anytime at 1-800-580-6934 or contact the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline.


[1] Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website, Caregiving for Family and Friends — A Public Health Issue (accessed November 2022): cdc.gov/aging/caregiving/caregiver-brief.html


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish