[跳至内容]

Beacon 支持 NLGA 为更好地预防自杀和照顾处于心理健康危机中的人所做的努力

灯塔危机负责人温迪·马丁内斯·法默 (Wendy Martinez Farmer)

九年前,我在亚特兰大高峰时段开车回家,担心我无法及时去托儿所接我 2 岁的孩子。交通很拥挤,我在处理完工作危机后已经迟到了。

突然间,我开始感到剧烈的胸痛,从双臂向下辐射到我的下巴。

我想也没想就开下高速公路,拐进便利店,买了一颗阿司匹林,嚼了一口,看着店员说:“请拨打911,我心脏病发作了。”

几秒钟之内,似乎也本能地知道该怎么做的旁观者介入让我保持冷静,甚至联系了我的家人。 EMS 和消防无缝协作,让我安全地渡过难关,到达该市最好的心脏护理。不到一个小时后,我在导管室,尽管心脏病发作确实让每个人都感到惊讶,但三天后我和家人一起回家了。

在我的健康恐慌之后,我对我的经历越来越感兴趣,如果我不是胸痛,而是自杀,经历精神病或药物过量。无论您住在哪里,对胸痛的反应都是可以预测的。我们要求它。行为健康紧急情况并非如此,行为健康紧急情况也可能是致命的。

911 是一项令人难以置信的挽救生命的服务,适用于有紧急身体健康问题的人。然而,我们还没有为那些有心理健康问题的人提供同样重要的服务。而且,心理健康是一个人整体健康不可或缺的一部分。它们有着内在的联系。

我知道这一点,因为我是一名获得许可的专业顾问,并且在行为健康危机服务部门工作了 20 多年。我经营过危机呼叫中心和移动危机团队,去年我开始与 Beacon Health Options 合作开发我们的危机能力,其中包括建立和监督全州和社区危机系统。

危机解决方案负责人温迪·法默 (Wendy Farmer) 讨论了处于危机中的个人如何更好地获得他们需要的帮助,以及如何在减少耻辱感的同时提高行为医疗结果。

与旁观者和急救人员确切知道该为我做什么不同,当紧急情况与心理健康或药物使用有关时,我们的家人、朋友同事甚至医疗专业人员不太可能知道该怎么做。

我们知道,在美国,每年有近 50,000 人死于自杀,我们年轻人的自杀率,尤其是有色人种儿童和 LGBTQ 青年的自杀率正在迅速上升。我们也正在经历一场无情的阿片类药物流行病,并忍受着 100 年来从未有过的大流行,对我们的心理健康产生了未知的影响。

如果没有协调的行为健康危机系统,社区就必须依赖专为医疗紧急情况设计的系统。一个常见的结果是拨打 911 致电执法部门并转诊至急诊部。如果个人可以在危机发生时通过热线、在自己家中通过流动危机小组或在紧急的步入式中心获得即时护理,这通常会以长时间等待精神科病床而告终设计时考虑到了他们的需求。 

我们不仅需要协调服务,还需要数据来为我们的工作提供信息。现在,我们知道每个县有多少人在几天或一周内被诊断出患有 COVID, 但经过验证的自杀数据落后了两年,因为我们对这些死亡缺乏统一的报告要求。 尽管人们担心自大流行开始以来发病率已经上升,但最近经过验证的数据来自 2019 年。 这种滞后导致自杀预防工作措手不及,并且对未知模式的反应缓慢。

计划于 2022 年 7 月推出 988,这将是行为卫生紧急事件的全国三位数数字,这是一个巨大的开始。 Beacon 支持实施 全国副州长协会 自杀意识和预防解决方案 由伊利诺伊州州长斯特拉顿和爱荷华州州长格雷格赞助,作为应对这一挑战的关键下一步。这些行动包括:

  • 支持开发数据收集机制以实时跟踪美国的自杀死亡人数,使卫生专业人员和研究人员能够加强预防自杀的努力。
  • 为未来支持适当的公共资金 988 心理健康危机和自杀预防的通用号码、药物滥用和心理健康服务管理局以及其他对为有自杀风险的人提供服务很重要的危机服务。

这些行动类型可以改变很多人,也可以改变在他们最糟糕的一天支持他们的人。


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Beacon supports NLGA’s efforts to better prevent suicide and care for people in mental health crisis

Wendy Martinez Farmer, Beacon Crisis Leader

Nine years ago, I was driving home through Atlanta rush hour concerned I would not make it in time to pick up my 2-year-old from daycare. Traffic was heavy and I was already running late after handling a crisis at work.

Suddenly, I started experiencing crushing chest pain that radiated down both arms and up into my jaw.

Without much conscious thought, I pulled off the highway, turned into a convenience store, bought an aspirin, chewed it and looked at the store clerk and said “please call 911, I am having a heart attack.”

Within seconds, bystanders who also seemed instinctively to know what to do stepped in to keep me calm and even contacted my family. EMS and fire worked seamlessly to get me safely through the gridlock to the best cardiac care in the city. Less than an hour later, I was in the cath lab and despite indeed having a heart attack that surprised everyone, I was home with my family three days later.

After my health scare, I became more and more interested in what my experience may have been if instead of chest pain, I was suicidal, experiencing psychosis or a drug overdose. The response to chest pain is predictable no matter where you live. We demand it. This is not the case for behavioral health emergencies which can also be fatal.

911 is an incredible, life-saving service for people with emergency physical health issues. However, we haven’t had this equally important service for those with mental health issues. And, mental health is an integral part of a person’s whole health. They are intrinsically linked.

I know this because I am a Licensed Professional Counselor and I have worked in behavioral health crisis services for more than 20 years. I have run crisis call centers and mobile crisis teams and last year I started working with Beacon Health Options to develop our crisis capabilities, which include building and overseeing statewide and community crisis systems.

Crisis Solutions Leader Wendy Farmer discusses how individuals in crisis can better receive the assistance they need, and how to increase behavioral healthcare outcomes while reducing stigma.

Unlike the bystanders and first responders who knew exactly what to do for me, our family, friends coworkers and even medical professionals are much less likely to know what to do when the emergency is related to mental health or substance use.

We know that every year suicide takes nearly 50,000 lives in the US and suicide rates among our young people, particularly children of color and LGBTQ youth are increasing rapidly. We also are experiencing an unrelenting opioid epidemic and enduring a pandemic of proportions not seen in 100 years with a yet unknown impact on our mental health.

Without coordinated behavioral health crisis systems, communities must rely on the system designed for medical emergencies. A common result is a 911 call to law enforcement and a referral to the emergency department.  This often ends in a long wait for a psychiatric bed that may not be needed if the individual could get immediate care at the point of crisis from a hotline, in their own home from a mobile crisis team or in an urgent walk-in center specifically designed with their needs in mind. 

Not only do we need coordinated services, but we also need data to inform our work. Right now, we know how many people in each county were diagnosed with COVID within a few days or a week, but verified suicide data is two years behind because we lack a uniform reporting requirement for these deaths. While there is fear that rates have gone up since the pandemic began, the most recent verified data is from 2019.  This lag leaves suicide prevention efforts flat-footed and slow to respond to unknown patterns.

Planning for the July 2022 launch of 988, which will be the nationwide three-digit number for behavioral health emergencies is a tremendous start. Beacon supports implementing actions outlined in the National Lieutenant Governors Association Suicide Awareness and Prevention Resolution sponsored by Illinois Lt. Gov. Stratton and Iowa Lt. Gov. Gregg as critical next steps in addressing this challenge.  These actions include:

  • Supporting the development of data collection mechanisms to track suicide deaths in the United States in real-time to enable health professionals and researchers to bolster efforts to prevent suicide.
  • Supporting appropriate public funding for future 988 universal number for mental health crises and suicide prevention, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, and other crisis services important in serving people at risk of suicide.

These are the types of actions that can be transformative for so many people and also for the people supporting them on their very worst day.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish