[跳至内容]

Beacon 和 Kennedy-Satcher:促进行为健康公平

即将在 7 月上线的第一条针对行为健康紧急情况的全国性危机热线。相当于心理健康的 911,988 标志着在改善获得挽救生命的危机服务方面的历史性里程碑。虽然 988 代表了解决美国当前心理健康危机的关键一步,但仍有许多工作要确保危机应对系统是公平的——特别是对于历史上经历过巨大不平等和创伤的社区。

数据表明,识别为 LGBTQIA+ 的人;黑人、土著和有色人种 (BIPOC);农村社区;移民、难民和非英语人士;残疾人士;老年人;无家可归或住房不稳定的人;以前被监禁或参与司法的人口;创伤幸存者;神经多样性的人在需要时不愿拨打 911,因为他们担心这种反应会弊大于利。[一世] 988 的出现提供了改变这种状况的机会。

Beacon Health Options 与 Kennedy-Satcher 心理健康公平中心 (KSCMHE) 合作,在 7 月推出 988 之前解决这一重要问题。我们的合作伙伴关系集中在两个主要组成部分:(1) 一项研究和政策倡议,为未来的行为健康服务提供设想公平的危机应对措施,以及 (2) 领导峰会,探讨如何将公平纳入危机应对措施。

我们的政策简介 将股权嵌入 988:想象危机应对的新常态,描述了各个社区如何获得心理健康服务,包括危机护理。在众多发现中,我们的研究发现:

•有色人种在治疗中的保留率较低
• 关于心理健康的污名化和文化信仰是许多人获得心理健康的障碍
• 有色人种社区历来被误诊,如多动症和精神分裂症的诊断率所示


随着 988 计划在短短几周内推出,了解如何创建更公平的服务环境比以往任何时候都更加重要。将行为健康公平纳入州和地方 988 系统的一些建议包括:


• 优先关注那些历来被精神病急救系统排除在外或未能充分覆盖的群体
• 仅在需要时在精神科应急响应中部署执法
• 利用由具有文化能力的员工组成的流动危机小组

988 的出现标志着行为健康的一个激动人心的时刻,并提供了一个让所有人的生活更美好、更公平的机会。 “Beacon 将继续提供有助于解决我们社区服务和资源差距的能力,”Beacon Health Options 总裁 Glenn MacFarlane 说。 “我们期待有机会与 KSCMHE 合作开展这项计划,以确保我们在公平的基础上帮助社区建立更好的危机系统,并能够响应每个人的独特需求和经验。” 

了解更多, 下载我们的简介 并计划于 6 月 21 日加入 Beacon 和 KSCMHE 将股权嵌入 988 领导力峰会,包括 Beacon 员工在内的国家股权领导人将讨论我们的行业可以做些什么来增加所有人的平等机会。注册是免费的,对所有人开放。

如有任何问题,请直接发送至 温迪农夫 要么 琳达·亨德森-史密斯博士.


[一世] Sasson, C.、Haukoos, JS、Ben-Youssef, L.、Ramirez, L.、Bull, S.、Eigel, B.、Magid, DJ 和 Padilla, R. (2015)。科罗拉多州丹佛市主要拉丁裔高风险社区的居民拨打 911 以及学习和进行心肺复苏术的障碍。年鉴 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.annemergmed.2014.10.028。

[二] Acevedo, A.、Harvey, N.、Kamanu, M.、Tendulkar, S. 和 Fleary, S. (2020)。青少年物质使用障碍治疗中的障碍、促进因素和留存差异:与治疗提供者进行的定性研究。药物滥用治疗、预防和政策,15(1), 42. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13011-020-00284-4

[三] Misra, S., Jackson, VW, Chong, J., Choe, K., Tay, C., Wong, J., & Yang, LH (2021)。对美国种族和少数族裔群体的污名和精神疾病的文化方面的系统评价:干预的意义。美国社区心理学杂志,68(3-4),486-512。 https://doi.org/10.1002/ajcp.12516

[四] Gara, MA, Minsky, S., Silverstein, SM, Miskimen, T., & Strakowski, SM (2019)。在门诊行为健康诊所诊断种族差异的自然主义研究。精神病学服务,70(2),130–134。 https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.ps.201800223


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Beacon and Kennedy-Satcher: advancing behavioral health equity

Coming in July, the first nationwide crisis hotline for behavioral health emergencies will go live. The equivalent of 911 for mental health, 988 marks a historic milestone in improving access to life-saving crisis services. While 988 represents a crucial step forward to address the current mental health crisis in the United States, much work remains to ensure that the crisis response system is equitable – particularly for communities that have historically experienced great inequity and trauma.

Data indicates that people who identify as LGBTQIA+; black, indigenous and people of color (BIPOC); rural communities; immigrants, refugees, and non-English speaking people; people living with disabilities; older adults; people experiencing homelessness or housing instability; formerly incarcerated or justice-involved populations; survivors of trauma; and neurodiverse people hesitate to call 911 in times of need because they fear the response will result in more harm than good.[i] The advent of 988 presents an opportunity to change that.

Beacon Health Options has partnered with the Kennedy-Satcher Center for Mental Health Equity (KSCMHE) to address this important issue ahead of the 988 launch in July. Our partnership centers on two main components: (1) a research and policy initiative that imagines equitable crisis response for the future of behavioral health service delivery, and (2) a leadership summit to explore how to embed equity into crisis response.

Our policy brief Embedding Equity into 988: Imagining a New Normal for Crisis Response, describes how various communities encounter mental health services, including crisis care. Among the many findings, our research found that:

•Communities of color have lower rates of retention in treatment
• Stigma and cultural beliefs about mental wellness are barriers to access for many populations
• Communities of color have historically been misdiagnosed, as exhibited by rates of diagnosis of ADHD and schizophrenia


With 988 set to launch in a few short weeks, it is more important than ever to understand how to create a more equitable service landscape. Some recommendations for embedding behavioral health equity into state and local 988 systems include:


• Prioritizing visibility of groups that are historically excluded or inadequately reached by psychiatric emergency systems
• Deploying law enforcement in psychiatric emergency response only as needed
• Leveraging mobile crisis units staffed by culturally competent staff

The advent of 988 marks an exciting time for behavioral health and provides an opportunity to make life better and more equitable for all. “Beacon will continue to deliver capabilities that will help address gaps in services and resources in our communities,” said Glenn MacFarlane, President, Beacon Health Options. “We look forward to the opportunity to collaborate with KSCMHE on this initiative to ensure we are helping communities build better crisis systems based on a foundation of equity and capable of responding to the unique needs and experiences of each individual.” 

To learn more, download our brief and plan to join Beacon and KSCMHE on June 21 for the Embedding Equity into 988 Leadership Summit, where national equity leaders, including Beacon staff, will talk about what our industry can do to increase equitable access for all. Registration is free and open to all.

Please direct any questions to Wendy Farmer or Dr. Linda Henderson-Smith.


[i] Sasson, C., Haukoos, J. S., Ben-Youssef, L., Ramirez, L., Bull, S., Eigel, B., Magid, D. J., & Padilla, R. (2015). Barriers to calling 911 and learning and performing cardiopulmonary resuscitation for residents of primarily Latino, high-risk neighborhoods in Denver, Colorado. Annals https://doi.org/10.1016/j.annemergmed.2014.10.028.

[ii] Acevedo, A., Harvey, N., Kamanu, M., Tendulkar, S., & Fleary, S. (2020). Barriers, facilitators, and disparities in retention for adolescents in treatment for substance use disorders: a qualitative study with treatment providers. Substance abuse treatment, prevention, and policy, 15(1), 42. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13011-020-00284-4

[iii] Misra, S., Jackson, V. W., Chong, J., Choe, K., Tay, C., Wong, J., & Yang, L. H. (2021). Systematic Review of Cultural Aspects of Stigma and Mental Illness among Racial and Ethnic Minority Groups in the United States: Implications for Interventions. American Journal of Community Psychology, 68(3-4), 486-512. https://doi.org/10.1002/ajcp.12516

[iv] Gara, M. A., Minsky, S., Silverstein, S. M., Miskimen, T., & Strakowski, S. M. (2019). A Naturalistic Study of Racial Disparities in Diagnoses at an Outpatient Behavioral Health Clinic. Psychiatric Services, 70(2), 130–134. https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.ps.201800223


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish