[تخطى الى المحتوى]

بيكون وكينيدي ساتشر: تعزيز المساواة في الصحة السلوكية

قادمًا في شهر يوليو ، سيتم إطلاق أول خط ساخن على مستوى البلاد لحالات الطوارئ الصحية السلوكية. ما يعادل 911 للصحة العقلية ، يمثل 988 معلمًا تاريخيًا في تحسين الوصول إلى خدمات الأزمات المنقذة للحياة. بينما يمثل 988 خطوة حاسمة إلى الأمام لمعالجة أزمة الصحة العقلية الحالية في الولايات المتحدة ، لا يزال هناك الكثير من العمل لضمان أن يكون نظام الاستجابة للأزمات منصفًا - لا سيما للمجتمعات التي عانت تاريخيًا من عدم المساواة والصدمات.

تشير البيانات إلى أن الأشخاص الذين يُعرفون باسم LGBTQIA + ؛ أسود ، أصلي وملونون (BIPOC) ؛ مجتمعات قروية؛ المهاجرون واللاجئون والأشخاص غير الناطقين باللغة الإنجليزية ؛ الأشخاص الذين يعانون من إعاقات ؛ كبار السن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من التشرد أو عدم الاستقرار في السكن ؛ السكان المسجونون سابقًا أو المنخرطون في العدالة ؛ الناجين من الصدمة. ويتردد الأشخاص ذوو التنوع العصبي في الاتصال بالرقم 911 في أوقات الحاجة لأنهم يخشون أن تؤدي الاستجابة إلى ضرر أكثر من نفعها.[أنا] يقدم ظهور 988 فرصة لتغيير ذلك.

عقدت Beacon Health Options شراكة مع مركز Kennedy-Satcher لحقوق الصحة العقلية (KSCMHE) لمعالجة هذه المشكلة المهمة قبل إطلاق 988 في يوليو. تركز شراكتنا على مكونين رئيسيين: (1) مبادرة بحثية وسياسية تتخيل الاستجابة العادلة للأزمات من أجل مستقبل تقديم الخدمات الصحية السلوكية ، و (2) قمة القيادة لاستكشاف كيفية دمج الإنصاف في الاستجابة للأزمات.

موجز سياستنا تضمين حقوق الملكية في 988: تخيل حالة طبيعية جديدة للاستجابة للأزمات، يصف كيف تواجه المجتمعات المختلفة خدمات الصحة العقلية ، بما في ذلك رعاية الأزمات. من بين العديد من النتائج ، وجد بحثنا ما يلي:

• مجتمعات اللون لديها معدلات أقل من الاحتفاظ في العلاج
• وصمة العار والمعتقدات الثقافية حول الصحة العقلية هي حواجز أمام وصول العديد من السكان
• تم تشخيص المجتمعات الملونة تاريخياً خطأً ، كما يتضح من معدلات تشخيص اضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه وانفصام الشخصية


مع تعيين 988 على الإطلاق في غضون أسابيع قليلة ، من المهم أكثر من أي وقت مضى فهم كيفية إنشاء مشهد خدمة أكثر إنصافًا. تتضمن بعض التوصيات لدمج عدالة الصحة السلوكية في أنظمة 988 الحكومية والمحلية ما يلي:


• إعطاء الأولوية لإبراز المجموعات التي تم استبعادها تاريخيًا أو الوصول إليها بشكل غير كافٍ بواسطة أنظمة الطوارئ النفسية
• نشر تطبيق القانون في الاستجابة للطوارئ النفسية فقط حسب الحاجة
• الاستفادة من وحدات الأزمات المتنقلة التي يعمل بها موظفون أكفاء ثقافيًا

يمثل ظهور 988 وقتًا مثيرًا للصحة السلوكية ويوفر فرصة لجعل الحياة أفضل وأكثر إنصافًا للجميع. قال جلين ماكفارلين ، رئيس شركة Beacon Health Options: "ستستمر Beacon في تقديم القدرات التي ستساعد في معالجة الفجوات في الخدمات والموارد في مجتمعاتنا". "نتطلع إلى فرصة التعاون مع KSCMHE في هذه المبادرة لضمان أننا نساعد المجتمعات على بناء أنظمة أزمات أفضل على أساس المساواة والقدرة على الاستجابة للاحتياجات والتجارب الفريدة لكل فرد." 

لتعلم المزيد، تحميل موجزنا وتخطط للانضمام إلى Beacon و KSCMHE في 21 يونيو من أجل ترسيخ مبدأ الإنصاف في قمة 988 للقيادة، حيث سيتحدث قادة الأسهم الوطنية ، بما في ذلك موظفو Beacon ، حول ما يمكن أن تفعله صناعتنا لزيادة الوصول العادل للجميع. التسجيل مجاني ومفتوح للجميع.

الرجاء توجيه أي أسئلة إلى ويندي فارمر أو الدكتورة ليندا هندرسون سميث.


[أنا] ساسون ، سي ، هاوكوس ، شبيبة ، بن يوسف ، إل ، راميريز ، إل ، بول ، إس ، إيجل ، بي ، ماجد ، دي جي ، وباديلا ، ر. (2015). عوائق الاتصال برقم 911 وتعلم وإجراء الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي للمقيمين في الأحياء ذات الخطورة العالية في لاتينو في المقام الأول في دنفر ، كولورادو. حوليات https://doi.org/10.1016/j.annemergmed.2014.10.028.

[الثاني] أسيفيدو ، إيه ، هارفي ، إن ، كامانو ، إم ، تيندولكار ، إس ، وفليري ، إس (2020). العوائق والميسرات والتفاوتات في الاحتفاظ بالمراهقين في علاج اضطرابات تعاطي المخدرات: دراسة نوعية مع مقدمي العلاج. العلاج والوقاية والسياسة من تعاطي المخدرات ، 15 (1) ، 42. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13011-020-00284-4

[الثالث] Misra، S.، Jackson، VW، Chong، J.، Choe، K.، Tay، C.، Wong، J.، & Yang، LH (2021). مراجعة منهجية للجوانب الثقافية للوصم والأمراض العقلية بين مجموعات الأقليات العرقية والإثنية في الولايات المتحدة: الآثار المترتبة على التدخلات. المجلة الأمريكية لعلم نفس المجتمع ، 68 (3-4) ، 486-512. https://doi.org/10.1002/ajcp.12516

[رابعا] Gara، MA، Minsky، S.، Silverstein، SM، Miskimen، T.، & Strakowski، SM (2019). دراسة طبيعية للتباينات العرقية في التشخيص في عيادة الصحة السلوكية الخارجية. خدمات الطب النفسي ، 70 (2) ، 130-134. https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.ps.201800223


لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

رابط علوي
arالعربية

[Skip to Content]

Beacon and Kennedy-Satcher: advancing behavioral health equity

Coming in July, the first nationwide crisis hotline for behavioral health emergencies will go live. The equivalent of 911 for mental health, 988 marks a historic milestone in improving access to life-saving crisis services. While 988 represents a crucial step forward to address the current mental health crisis in the United States, much work remains to ensure that the crisis response system is equitable – particularly for communities that have historically experienced great inequity and trauma.

Data indicates that people who identify as LGBTQIA+; black, indigenous and people of color (BIPOC); rural communities; immigrants, refugees, and non-English speaking people; people living with disabilities; older adults; people experiencing homelessness or housing instability; formerly incarcerated or justice-involved populations; survivors of trauma; and neurodiverse people hesitate to call 911 in times of need because they fear the response will result in more harm than good.[i] The advent of 988 presents an opportunity to change that.

Beacon Health Options has partnered with the Kennedy-Satcher Center for Mental Health Equity (KSCMHE) to address this important issue ahead of the 988 launch in July. Our partnership centers on two main components: (1) a research and policy initiative that imagines equitable crisis response for the future of behavioral health service delivery, and (2) a leadership summit to explore how to embed equity into crisis response.

Our policy brief Embedding Equity into 988: Imagining a New Normal for Crisis Response, describes how various communities encounter mental health services, including crisis care. Among the many findings, our research found that:

•Communities of color have lower rates of retention in treatment
• Stigma and cultural beliefs about mental wellness are barriers to access for many populations
• Communities of color have historically been misdiagnosed, as exhibited by rates of diagnosis of ADHD and schizophrenia


With 988 set to launch in a few short weeks, it is more important than ever to understand how to create a more equitable service landscape. Some recommendations for embedding behavioral health equity into state and local 988 systems include:


• Prioritizing visibility of groups that are historically excluded or inadequately reached by psychiatric emergency systems
• Deploying law enforcement in psychiatric emergency response only as needed
• Leveraging mobile crisis units staffed by culturally competent staff

The advent of 988 marks an exciting time for behavioral health and provides an opportunity to make life better and more equitable for all. “Beacon will continue to deliver capabilities that will help address gaps in services and resources in our communities,” said Glenn MacFarlane, President, Beacon Health Options. “We look forward to the opportunity to collaborate with KSCMHE on this initiative to ensure we are helping communities build better crisis systems based on a foundation of equity and capable of responding to the unique needs and experiences of each individual.” 

To learn more, download our brief and plan to join Beacon and KSCMHE on June 21 for the Embedding Equity into 988 Leadership Summit, where national equity leaders, including Beacon staff, will talk about what our industry can do to increase equitable access for all. Registration is free and open to all.

Please direct any questions to Wendy Farmer or Dr. Linda Henderson-Smith.


[i] Sasson, C., Haukoos, J. S., Ben-Youssef, L., Ramirez, L., Bull, S., Eigel, B., Magid, D. J., & Padilla, R. (2015). Barriers to calling 911 and learning and performing cardiopulmonary resuscitation for residents of primarily Latino, high-risk neighborhoods in Denver, Colorado. Annals https://doi.org/10.1016/j.annemergmed.2014.10.028.

[ii] Acevedo, A., Harvey, N., Kamanu, M., Tendulkar, S., & Fleary, S. (2020). Barriers, facilitators, and disparities in retention for adolescents in treatment for substance use disorders: a qualitative study with treatment providers. Substance abuse treatment, prevention, and policy, 15(1), 42. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13011-020-00284-4

[iii] Misra, S., Jackson, V. W., Chong, J., Choe, K., Tay, C., Wong, J., & Yang, L. H. (2021). Systematic Review of Cultural Aspects of Stigma and Mental Illness among Racial and Ethnic Minority Groups in the United States: Implications for Interventions. American Journal of Community Psychology, 68(3-4), 486-512. https://doi.org/10.1002/ajcp.12516

[iv] Gara, M. A., Minsky, S., Silverstein, S. M., Miskimen, T., & Strakowski, S. M. (2019). A Naturalistic Study of Racial Disparities in Diagnoses at an Outpatient Behavioral Health Clinic. Psychiatric Services, 70(2), 130–134. https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.ps.201800223


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish