[跳至内容]

关于如何成为 LGBTQ+ 社区盟友的提示

六月作为骄傲月的历史跨越了三届总统政府,其不断变化的官方头衔反映了社会对 LGBTQ+ 社区的发展看法。 1999 年,比尔克林顿总统首次宣布六月为 同性恋骄傲月,后来,巴拉克奥巴马总统将标题更改为更具包容性,将六月命名为 LGBT 骄傲月.今年,乔·拜登总统宣布 6 月为 LGBTQ+ 骄傲月.

LGBTQ-graphic-Blog-1

自首次宣布以来,该国已将 6 月作为提高人们对 LGBTQ+((女同性恋、男同性恋、双性恋、跨性别、酷儿/质疑和其他性别和性膨胀身份)问题的认识的月份,这是有充分理由的。自1969 年 6 月的石墙骚乱,当纽约市的同性恋社区抗议警察突袭时,我们在接受 LGBTQ+ 个人方面取得了长足的进步,但总有改进的余地。尽管意识和接受度提高,作为女同性恋出柜,同性恋、双性恋、跨性别或其他性别和性膨胀的身份对某些人来说仍然很困难。对家人、朋友、同事和整个社会的反应的恐惧会导致焦虑、抑郁、孤立和自杀念头。请考虑以下事项数据:

当 LGBTQ+ 人了解他们是谁并发现一个支持社区时,出柜可以是一种解放。事实上,我们都可以在支持 LGBTQ+ 家庭成员、朋友和同事方面发挥作用。以下是关于我们如何更加支持 LGBTQ+ 社区的一些建议。

营造接纳氛围

  • 保持开放和平易近人的态度,并始终如一地表达您支持 LGBTQ+ 问题。
  • 对所有方向和身份保持敏感和尊重。避免对一个人的性别认同或性取向做出假设。不要假设每个人都是异性恋。
  • 使用包容性语言和首选代词。选择在对他人的介绍和电子邮件签名中包含您的代词可以消除某些人的困惑,并营造一个全方位、更具包容性的环境。这种做法有助于最大限度地减少错误性别,并且可以成为实现包容性的重要策略。
  • 寻找信息和教育资源以增加您的理解。

倾听并愿意交谈

  • 听而不判断。通常,您的 LGBTQ+ 家人、朋友或同事在分享感受和挫折时需要有人倾听。
  • 问问你能做些什么来更好地支持他们,同时不要问侵入性的问题。
  • 成为盟友并提供同情和支持。

大声说出来

  • 通过在不同环境(例如社交、工作或礼拜场所)中支持性发言,使围绕 LGBTQ+ 问题的讨论正常化。这样做有助于让其他人在做同样的事情时感到舒服。
  • 如果您听到有人发表贬低性言论或讲一个对 LGBTQ+ 人有刻板印象的笑话,请说点什么。沉默可以表达接受。

提供资源和帮助

  • 在适当的时候分享有用的资源,例如同性恋异性恋联盟网络(www.gsanetwork.org) 或者它变得更好 (www.itgetsbetter.org).
  • 验证关注点、经历和感受。如果有人表现出痛苦或抑郁的迹象,请联系当地支持团体或您公司的员工援助计划 (EAP),如果您可以获得该福利。
  • 注意紧急或紧急情况下可用的资源。例如,向 741741 发送短信“HOME”可以将您或您所爱的人与危机顾问联系起来,或者可以拨打 24/7 全国预防自杀热线 1-800-273-8255。

六月作为 LGBTQ+ 骄傲月提醒我们拥抱差异。我们并不都一样,并认识到这使我们作为个人并最终作为一个社会变得更好。当您开车经过悬挂在店面、餐厅、汽车或家庭窗户上的彩虹旗时,请停下来提醒自己作为 LGBTQ+ 社区盟友的角色。


9评论。 留下新的

记住人们会改变也很重要。他们可能会在某个时间点将自己的身份识别为自己的出生身份或异性恋或双性恋,随着时间的流逝,他们是非二元性或跨性别者或双性恋者或酷儿或泛性恋者或......发现他们被异性吸引。

回复
约翰·安哲罗普洛斯,教育学博士
六月 16, 2021 3:21 下午

最优秀......谢谢

回复

在我的心理治疗实践中,有几个客户是正在接触他们的 LGBTQ 身份的年轻人。总体而言,他们受益于不被评判地听取意见并被确认为有价值的人。我始终认为,当客户能够与我分享他们内心深处的想法、想法和感受时,这是我的荣幸。

回复

当我的客户要求提供变性手术的文件时,我会全力协助。在咨询确定是否有任何问题后,我开始着手写作,以帮助客户做出自我决定。
迪沃拉·斯特恩 LCSW 加利福尼亚

回复
明德尔·K·塞尔策
六月 16, 2021 11:42 下午

此外,我还为 LGBTQ+ 儿童的父母提供过咨询。让他们接受自己的孩子并且不对孩子的选择感到内疚可能具有挑战性。

回复
塔米·亚当斯(Tami Adams)
六月 17, 2021 2:09 上午

好文章……谢谢

回复
玛丽特·伊萨克森
六月 18, 2021 10:36 上午

感谢您满足对 LGBTQ+ 社区无条件接受和支持的需求。请继续告知和教育。

回复
朱莉·博斯韦尔
六月 18, 2021 5:50 下午

感谢您为提供商提供可见性和必要信息。自 Beacon 开始提供心理健康保险以来,我们的办公室一直与当地的 LGBTQ+ 社区中心建立联系。我们很高兴为 folx 提供一个安全的治疗场所。

回复

我正在和两个女同性恋一起工作。一,中国人,20多岁,争取得到父母,尤其是母亲的理解,感觉受到创伤和不安全。另一个是 40 岁的黑人妇女,已婚并有孩子,她终于明白自己是个奇怪的人,必须找到一种真实的生活方式。我接受他们的背景和性取向的能力对他们来说是无价的。我很高兴他们信任我作为他们的治疗师,并且可以开放地探索他们的问题。另一个是一位年轻的黑人女性,她对自己的性取向很敏感,并渴望探索她的偏好。

回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Tips on how to be an ally to the LGBTQ+ community

June’s history as Pride Month spans three presidential administrations, and its evolving official title reflects society’s developing views towards the LGBTQ+ community. In 1999, President Bill Clinton first declared June as Gay and Lesbian Pride Month, and later, President Barack Obama changed the title to be more inclusive, naming June as LGBT Pride Month. This year, President Joe Biden has extended the reach even further by declaring June as LGBTQ+ Pride Month.

LGBTQ-graphic-Blog-1

In the years since it was first announced, the country has set aside June as the month to raise awareness about LGBTQ+ ((Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning and other gender and sexually expansive identities) issues for good reason. Since the Stonewall riots in June 1969, when the gay community in New York City protested police raids, we have come a long way in accepting LGBTQ+ individuals, but there’s always room for improvement. In spite of increased awareness and acceptance, coming out as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or other gender and sexually expansive identities remains difficult for some people. Fears about the reactions of family, friends, coworkers, and society as a whole can contribute to anxiety, depression, isolation, and suicidal thoughts. Consider the following data:

Coming out can be liberating as LGBTQ+ people learn who they are and discover a community of support. Indeed, we all have a role to play in supporting LGBTQ+ family members, friends and coworkers. Below are some suggestions on how we all can be more supportive of the LGBTQ+ community.

Create an atmosphere of acceptance

  • Be open and approachable, and consistently convey you are supportive of LGBTQ+ concerns.
  • Be sensitive and respectful to all orientations and identities. Avoid making assumptions about a person’s gender identity or sexual orientation. Don’t assume that everyone is heterosexual.
  • Use inclusive language and preferred pronouns. Choosing to include your pronouns in introductions to others and in email signatures can eliminate confusion for some and foster an all-around more inclusive environment. This practice helps minimize mis-gendering and can be an important strategy toward inclusivity.
  • Seek out information and educational resources to increase your understanding.

Listen and be willing to talk

  • Listen without judgment. Often, your LGBTQ+ family members, friends, or coworkers need someone to listen as they share their feelings and frustrations.
  • Ask what you can do to better support them, while not asking intrusive questions.
  • Be an ally and offer empathy and support.

Speak up

  • Normalize the discussion around LGBTQ+ issues by speaking supportively across different settings, such as social, work, or places of worship. Doing so helps to make others comfortable doing the same.
  • Say something if you hear someone make a disparaging remark or tell a joke that stereotypes LGBTQ+ people. Silence can convey acceptance.

Provide resources and assistance

  • Share helpful resources when appropriate, such as the Gay-Straight Alliance Network (www.gsanetwork.org) or It Gets Better (www.itgetsbetter.org).
  • Validate concerns, experiences, and feelings. If someone shows signs of distress or depression, contact local support groups or your company’s Employee Assistance Program (EAP) if you have access to that benefit.
  • Be aware of resources available for urgent or emergency situations. For example, texting “HOME” to 741741 will connect you or a loved one to a crisis counselor, or the National Suicide Prevention Hotline can be reached 24/7 at 1-800-273-8255.

June as LGBTQ+ Pride Month is a reminder to embrace differences. We’re not all the same, and recognizing that makes us better as individuals and ultimately as a society. As you drive by a rainbow flag hanging from a storefront, restaurant, car or home window, pause to remind yourself of your role in being an ally to the LGBTQ+ community.


9 Comments. Leave new

It’s also important to remember that people change. They may identify at one point in time as their birth identity or as heterosexual or bisexual and as time goes by, as non-binary or trans or as Bi or queer or pansexual or….. And they may identify as lesbian and gay and then find that they are attracted to someone of the opposite sex.

Reply
John Angelopoulos, EdD
June 16, 2021 3:21 pm

Most excellent….thanks

Reply

Several clients in my psychotherapy practice are young adults who are getting in touch with their LGBTQ identities. Across the board, they benefit from being heard without judgement and validated as worthwhile human beings. I consistently feel it is my privilege when clients are able to share their innermost thoughts, ideas, and feelings with me.

Reply

I completely assist when my clients ask for documentation for sex change operations. After consultation to determine if there are any concerns, I get right to the task of writing to assist clients moving forward with self determination.
Divora Stern LCSW California

Reply
Mindelle K Seltzer
June 16, 2021 11:42 pm

Additionally I have counseled parents of LGBTQ+ children. Getting them to accept their children and not feel guilty about their children’s choices can be challenging.

Reply

Good article… thank you

Reply
Marit Isaksen
June 18, 2021 10:36 am

Thank you for addressing the need for unconditional acceptance and support of the LGBTQ+ community. Please continue to inform and educate.

Reply
Julie Boswell
June 18, 2021 5:50 pm

Thank YOU for the visibility and necessary info for Providers. Our office has been linked with the local LGBTQ+ community center since the onset of mental health coverage thru Beacon. We’re grateful to provide a safe place for folx to grow therapeutically.

Reply

I am working with two lesbian women. One, Chinese, in 20’s and fighting for understanding from parents, especially mother and feeling traumatized and unsafe. The other a Black woman, 40, married with children, finally understanding she is queer and must find a way to live with authenticity. My ability to accept both their backgrounds as well as sexual preference, has been invaluable to them. I am very glad they trust me as their therapist and can be open in exploring their issues. Another is a young Black woman who is bot yet sure of her sexuality and is eager to explore her preference.

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish