[跳至内容]

自杀和COVID-19:预防自杀的时间现在

Beacon Health Options着重强调了对美国自杀学协会(AAS)的采访。 九月份的博客 关于COVID-19对美国自杀率的潜在影响。该博客指出,自2018年以来的自杀数据(我们掌握的自杀趋势最新数据)无法告诉我们当今的任何信息,例如对大流行的反应,这使得难以告知预防工作。

日本最近成为头条新闻 关于其今年10月的自杀率:在这一个月中,死于自杀的人数比迄今为止全年死于COVID-19的人数还多。但是,不仅仅是日本的每月自杀率非常高。日本是为数不多的及时发布自杀数据的主要国家之一,这意味着该信息可以提供有关大流行对我们心理健康影响的全球见解。

在AAS的采访中,AAS首席执行官Colleen Creighton表示:“我们需要先了解趋势,然后才能发生。这意味着我们需要一种协调一致的国家战略来获取实时数据,这是AAS的重要目标。在这里,我们有充分的证据证明了这些趋势,并且没有任何时间可以浪费在加速该国家自杀预防战略上。

有关日本自杀的更多信息

从历史上看,日本的自杀率很高,通常是由于工作时间长,社会孤立,学术压力以及与心理健康相关的污名所致。因此,有些人可能会认为,由于COVID-19,日本可能不是衡量全球自杀趋势的最佳晴雨表。但是,在截至2019年的10年中,日本的自杀率下降了。去年,日本记录了大约20,000起自杀事件,是自1978年日本开始追踪这一数据以来的最低水平。

有趣的是,COVID-19扭转了这一下降趋势,妇女受到的影响尤其严重。解释包括担任兼职酒店,餐饮服务和零售职位较多的妇女,这些职位受裁员影响最大。此外,育儿负担和对子女福祉的担忧通常落在妇女身上。

日本的儿童也受到影响。自大流行之前,未满20岁的年轻人中的自杀人数一直在增加,大流行只会增加对年轻人的压力。许多人在隔离时在家中遭受虐待,并感到学校工作落后的负担。 3岁的5岁孩子正在拨打危机热线,该热线由一名21岁的大学生在3月开始,每天大约接到200个电话。

我们可以从日本学到什么?

据推测,美国必须等到2022年才能了解大流行对该国自杀率的影响。同时,许多人将丧生。但是,根据日本的经验和西班牙流感等以往大流行的经验,我们可以放心地假设,由于COVID-19,自杀率将会上升。

现在是重新讨论自杀问题的机会。以下是一些有助于快速启动对话的想法。

  • 深入了解自杀的动态。我们对自杀有很多假设,例如长期以来就认为精神疾病与自杀之间存在线性关系的假设。几年前,疾病预防控制中心发布了一份报告,指出许多因自杀未遂而丧生的人在死亡时都没有已知的精神健康状况。大流行期间正在发挥类似的作用。例如,这个年龄段的年轻人自杀意念有所增加,但自杀死亡人数却没有增加。 Beacon九月博客上的AAS的Jonathan Singer博士说,在大流行期间,年轻人感到特别的压力,而焦虑是对压力的现实反应。
  • 开始收集实时数据。实时数据对于了解有自杀风险的人们至关重要。辛格博士说,研究的重点是检索实时数据的技术作用,这开始挑战人们长期以来对自杀的假设。例如, 生态瞬间评估 技术已帮助我们了解到,近期有自杀未遂史的人可以在24小时内几次在无风险和高风险之间波动,这些重要数据有助于我们理解冲动和计划在自杀行为中的作用。
  • 包括所有理解自杀的声音。自杀观念和冲动不一定对所有人口群体都相同。老年白人男性自杀未遂和死亡的原因可能与黑人青年女性自杀的原因大不相同。为了了解护理和自杀预防工作之间的差距,我们需要了解不同人群,尤其是那些幸免于自杀的人群所经历的不同趋势。
  • 重新思考我们如何提供危机服务。就其定义而言,自杀是一场危机。社区必须确保其行为健康危机系统的作用不只是安全网。一个有效的危机系统会在导致危机和危机之后的所有阶段为个人提供支持。系统参与的五个阶段包括预防,早期干预,急性干预,危机处理以及恢复和重新整合。 (要了解有关重新构想的行为健康危机系统的更多信息,请阅读Beacon关于该主题的博客 这里.)

我们不能让两年的数据滞后停止我们的自杀预防工作。当前,日本提醒人们在这些不寻常的时期必须进行这些努力。


11评论。 留下新的

戴维·科米萨(David Comisar)
十二月16,2020 5:01下午

让我们从像Beacon这样的大型保险公司访问可负担的精神保健服务开始,尤其是在Covid 19大流行期间。积极招募精神卫生服务提供商以提供服务,而在超过90%的时间里,将通过远程医疗。鼓励初级保健医生监视抑郁症和自杀倾向,并建议患者接受心理治疗,而不仅仅是开处方精神药物。降低免费或低成本医疗保健的门槛。消除高免赔额和昂贵的共付额的壁垒,防止人们寻求心理保健。

回复
安妮·卡洛奇克(Annie Kalotschke)
十二月16,2020 5:06下午

我敢肯定,当我报告说作为精神卫生顾问时,我看到自己的精神疾病急剧增加,在这种流行病中加剧了现有疾病。
自杀念头在整个人群中都在增加。这些因素包括隔离,缺乏刺激,对PPE不遵从表示愤怒,对必须佩戴PPE表示愤怒,丧失愉快的活动和家庭时间。
美国需要像日本一样发布数据。

回复
克里斯蒂·卡里尼
十二月16,2020 5:13下午

感谢您的更新。我一生中有几次受到他人自杀的影响……..一个密友的兄弟,一个坐在我身后的办公桌上工作的人,死于家中自杀身亡他自己。即使我与这些人进行了互动和对话,这些也给我带来了极大的影响,但我不知道他们陷入了如此多的情感困扰。在这些日益孤立的日子,疾病以及生活中所有其他压力源的日子里,很高兴意识到人类灵魂的真实脆弱性。我们需要有意识地善待彼此,并且知道在需要时如何获得帮助的资源。

回复

杰森基金会(Jason Foundation)提供了大量免费信息和资源来帮助预防青年自杀,其中包括一个应用程序:
https://jasonfoundation.com/get-involved/student/a-friend-asks-app/

回复

非常翔实的感谢

回复
保罗·霍盖特
十二月17,2020 1:38上午

我感谢更新。令人遗憾的是,我对日本今年的自杀人数有所增加并不感到惊讶,并同意美国可能不会落后的担忧。美国人口的许多方面反映了日本所面临的挑战,例如工作时间长,社会孤立以及对心理健康问题的污名化。我同意先前的意见,即使咨询服务更经济实惠和更实用。我经常遇到有$75自付费用的客户,因为该服务的保险公司将费率的上限设定为$80,而保险公司每次疗程只支付$5。鉴于大多数全费咨询课程仅占大多数其他医疗程序费用的一小部分,因此行为健康服务的自付额应少一些。例如,我的人身保险(不是信标)具有$40的共同诊费,如果付全额费用,则对普通治疗师而言只会产生$125的账单。另一方面,我为急诊室就诊时需要支付的共同费用是$40,即收费服务可能是数千美元。另一个问题是,我发现大多数提到我的执业经历的人首先服用了药物达数月或更长时间,然后才有人最终建议寻求咨询。费用是否可能成为这些客户中许多人的一个因素,一个共付额(由于治疗师被认为是专家,并且通常具有更高的共付额,通常为PCP较低),而一种精神科药物可能是$10 – $20,其中一个咨询会可能要花费$50或者更多。不幸的是,在美国,精神病的耻辱似乎与寻求咨询而不是寻求药物有关。与初级医疗保健建立伙伴关系的趋势日益增长,这是未来在解决精神健康问题方面进行合作的希望迹象。由于美国的自杀人数在过去几年中呈上升趋势,因此2020年的自杀人数超过45,000并不令我感到惊讶。让我们继续对话。

回复

众所周知,自杀可能是一个非常复杂的话题。因此,需要提供更多的教育以及更好的资源。在这个国家,关于心理健康仍然存在很大的污名。正如我的一些同事所指出的那样,精神卫生保健的保险报销率似乎令人沮丧,而且自付费用对患者而言甚至更高。仅仅向精神卫生中心提供更多的州和联邦援助不是解决之道(因为实际客户护理的the滴效应)。最好只让保险公司承保精神保健服务,而在前几届会议中不支付任何自付费用。也许将税收美元花在提供关于该主题的心理教育的媒体广告上更好(只要有多个机构提供教育,而不仅仅是一个中标者)。最后,越来越强调提供短期的,以解决方案为中心的疗法。尽管存在,但还有很多更深层次的问题,需要更长期的多疗法模型方法。根据向其消费者提供的许多保险计划,更长的方法似乎并不是一种选择。

回复
玛丽安·里德·史克
十二月18,2020 11:51上午

谢谢您的艰难交谈。作为自杀遗失的长期幸存者,现在正在领导自杀预防工作的前线,像这样的讨论导致了变化。就像玛雅·安杰卢(Maya Angelou)所说的:“当我们知道得更多时,我们就会做得更好”。谢谢您通过在这个黑暗的话题上有所作为来“做得更好”。

回复
保罗·麦克拉伦
十二月18,2020 7:39下午

以下是我自2020年3月以来的经历。 “让我们“重新思考”这一点。”
我提醒人们以下几点:

(1)免费-我有选择的自由。
(2)在我的控制下-我仅对我说和做的事情负责。 (a)我无法控制他人或事件。
(3)99.7 % –病毒的恢复率。

人们从“ fEaR”走向救济和希望

回复

每个人的回应都很准确,我会说些什么。感谢您提供的信息和评论。让我们所有人都知道,并愿意对那些似乎正在“应付”的人提出棘手的问题。与您当地的医生和精神科医生建立联系,以便他们除开处方药外更有可能转介咨询。

回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Suicide and COVID-19: The time for suicide prevention is now

Highlighting an interview with the American Association of Suicidology (AAS), Beacon Health Options posted a blog in September about the potential impact of COVID-19 on suicide rates in the United States. The blog pointed out that suicide data from 2018 — the most recent we have on suicide trends — can tell us little about anything today, such as a reaction to the pandemic, making it difficult to inform prevention efforts.

Japan has made recent headlines regarding its suicide rate in October of this year: more people died from suicide in that month than from COVID-19 over the entire year to date. However, it’s more than a very high monthly suicide rate that makes Japan stand out. Japan is one of the few major countries to release timely suicide data, which means that this information could provide global insights on the pandemic’s effect on our mental health.

In the AAS interview, Colleen Creighton, CEO of AAS, stated: “We need to see trends before they happen. That means we need a coordinated national strategy to get that real-time data,” an important goal of the AAS. Here we have hard proof of those trends, and there’s no time to be lost in accelerating that national suicide prevention strategy.

More about suicide in Japan

Japan historically has had high suicide rates, often explained by long work days, social isolation, academic pressure, and the stigma associated with mental health. Consequently, some people might argue that Japan may not be the best barometer to gauge possible global suicide trends due to COVID-19. However, for the 10 years leading up to 2019, Japan’s suicide rate had gone down. Last year, the country recorded approximately 20,000 suicides, the lowest number since Japan started to track this data in 1978.

Interestingly, COVID-19 reversed that downward trend, with women disproportionately affected. Explanations include women holding more part-time hotel, food service and retail positions, positions most affected by layoffs. Additionally, childcare burdens and worry over their children’s wellbeing often fall on women.

Children in Japan are affected as well. Suicides among youth younger than 20 have been increasing since before the pandemic, and the pandemic has only increased pressure on youth. Many suffer abuse at home as they quarantine and feel the burden of falling behind in school work. Children as young as 5 are calling a crisis hotline started by a 21-year-old college student in March, which gets approximately 200 calls a day.

What can we learn from Japan?

Presumably, the United States has to wait until 2022 to understand the pandemic’s effect on suicide rates in this country. In the meantime, many lives will be lost. However, we can safely assume – based on Japan’s experience and the experience of past pandemics such as the Spanish Flu – that suicide rates will rise due to COVID-19.

Now is an opportunity to refocus our conversation around suicide. Below are a few thoughts to help jumpstart that conversation.

  • Take a deeper look at the dynamics of suicide. We make a lot of assumptions about suicide, such as the long-established belief that there is a linear relationship between mental illness and suicide. Several years ago, the CDC released a report indicating that many people who had attempted or died by suicide did not have a known pre-existing mental health condition at the time of death. A similar dynamic is playing out during the pandemic. For example, there has been a rise in suicide ideation among youth but not a rise in suicide deaths for this age group. Youth are feeling particular stress during the pandemic, and anxiety is a realistic reaction to stress, stated Dr. Jonathan Singer of the AAS in Beacon’s September blog.
  • Start collecting real-time data. Real-time data is critical to understanding people at suicide risk. Research is focusing on the role of technology to retrieve that real-time data, which is starting to challenge long-held assumptions about suicide, says Dr. Singer. For example, Ecological Momentary Assessment technology has helped us to learn that someone with a recent history of suicide attempt can fluctuate between no risk and high risk several times in a 24-hour period, important data that inform our efforts to understand the role of impulse and planning in suicidal behavior.
  • Include all voices to understand suicide. Suicide ideation and impulse are not necessarily the same for all demographic groups. The reasons for suicide attempts and deaths among older White males may well be different than for young Black females. In order to understand the gaps in care and suicide prevention efforts, we need to understand the different trends as experienced by different groups of people, especially those people who have survived suicide attempts.
  • Rethink how we deliver crisis services. Suicide by its very definition is a crisis. Communities must ensure they have a behavioral health crisis system that acts as more than a safety net. An effective crisis system supports individuals through all phases that lead up to and follow a crisis. The five phases of system involvement include prevention, early intervention, acute intervention, crisis treatment, and recovery and reintegration. (To learn more about a reimagined behavioral health crisis system, read Beacon’s blog on the topic here.)

We can’t let the two-year data lag stop our suicide prevention efforts. Japan is a current reminder of the urgency of those efforts during these unusual times.


11 Comments. Leave new

Let’s start with ACCESS to AFFORDABLE mental health care by the large insurance companies like Beacon, especially during the Covid 19 pandemic. Actively recruit mental health providers to provide services, that in over 90% of the time will be via telehealth. Encouraged primary care physicians to monitor for depression and suicidality, and to refer patients to psychotherapy–not just prescribe psychotropic medications. Lower the threshold for free or low cost health care. Eliminate the barriers of high deductibles and expensive copays that prevent folks from seeking mental health care.

Reply
Annie Kalotschke
December 16, 2020 5:06 pm

I’m sure I am not alone when I report that, as a mental health counselor, I am seeing a drastic increase in mental illness and an exacerbation of existing illness during this epidemic.
Suicidal ideation has increased across populations. Factors include the isolation, lack of stimulation, anger at noncompliance of PPE, anger at having to wear PPE, loss of pleasurable activities and family time.
The US needs to release data like Japan does.

Reply
Kristie Carlini
December 16, 2020 5:13 pm

Thank you for this update. There have been a couple of times in my life when I have been impacted by the suicide of others…..a brother of a close friend, a person who sat in the desk behind me at my job died by suicide in his home by hanging himself. Those impacted me greatly in that even though I had interaction and conversations with these people, I had no idea that they were in that much emotional trouble. In these days of increasing isolation, and sickness along with all the other stressors in life, it’s good to be aware of how fragile the human soul really is. We need to treat each other with intentional kindness and know the resources of how to obtain help if the need arises.

Reply

The Jason Foundation has lots of free information and resources to help prevent youth suicide, including an app:
https://jasonfoundation.com/get-involved/student/a-friend-asks-app/

Reply

Very informative thanks

Reply

I appreciate the update. Sadly, I’m not surprised that the number of suicides in Japan have increased this year and agree with the concern the US may not be far behind. Many facets of the US population mirror the challenges being faced in Japan such as long work hours, social isolation, and stigma regarding mental health issues. I agree with previous comments that making counseling more affordable and available would be helpful. I’m often faced with clients who have a $75 copay for counseling where the insurer caps the rate at $80 leaving the insurance company to only pay $5 per session. Co-pays should be less for behavioral health services in view of the fact that most counseling sessions at full-fee are only a small fraction of the cost of most other medical procedures. For example, my personal insurance (not Beacon) has a $40 copay for counseling which at full fee would only generate a bill of $125 for the average therapist. On the other hand, my co-pay for an ER visit is the same $40 for a billable service that could be thousands of dollars. Another issue is that I find the majority of individuals referred to my practice have been on meds first for months or more before someone finally suggests seeking counseling. Is it possible that cost is a factor for many of these clients, one copay (usually lower for PCP’s since therapists are considered specialists and usually have a higher copay) and a generic psychiatric medication could be $10 – $20 where one counseling session could cost $50 or more. Unfortunately, it seems the stigma of mental illness in the US is more related to seeking counseling than seeking medications. The growing trend toward partnership with primary medical care is a hopeful sign of future collaboration in addressing mental health issues. Since the number of suicides in the US have been trending upwards over the last few years, I will not be surprised to see the total number for 2020 to exceed 45,000. Let’s keep the conversation going.

Reply

Suicide, as many know, can be a very complicated subject. As such, much more education needs to be provided along with better resources. There still remains a large stigma regarding mental health in this country. As some of my colleagues point out, insurance reimbursement rates for mental health care seem dismal and copays even more cost prohibitive for the patient. Simply handing out more state and federal aid to mental health centers is not the answer (because of the trickle down effect for actual client care). It might be wise to simply have insurance companies cover mental health care without any copay for the first few sessions. Maybe tax dollars might be better spent on media advertisements that provide psychoeducation on the subject (provided multiple agencies provide the education, not just one successful bidder). Lastly, there is more and more emphasis on providing Short Term, Solution Focused Therapy. While it has it’s place, there are much deeper issues that require more long term, multi therapy model approaches. Under many insurance programs offered to their consumers the longer approaches don’t seem to be an option.

Reply
Marianne Reid Schrom
December 18, 2020 11:51 am

THANK YOU for having this difficult conversation. As a long-time survivor of suicide loss and now on the front lines leading suicide prevention efforts, it’s discussions like this that lead to change. Like Maya Angelou said “when we know better, we do better”. THANK YOU for “doing better” by shedding light on this dark topic .

Reply

The following is my experience since 2020 March. ‘ Let us “rethink” this.’
I remind people of the following:

(1) FREE WILL-I have freedom of choice.
(2) IN MY CONTROL-I am responsible only for things I say and do. (a) I canNOT control others or events.
(3) 99.7 %–the recovery rate of virus.

People go from ‘fEaR’ to RELIEF and HOPE

Reply

Everyone’s responses are spot on and what I would say. I appreciate the information and the comments. Let us all be aware and willing to ask the hard questions even with those who seem to be “coping”. Develop relationships with your local doctors and psychiatrists so they will be more likely to refer for counseling in addtion to the medication they prescribe.

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish