[跳至内容]

矫kill过正:不必要的护理就是低价值的护理

Overkill_Blog Post 4

解决方案在于坚持证明有效的证据.

上个月,阿图尔·加万德(Atul Gawande)博士发表了一篇发人深省的论文 纽约客 关于美国人每年要进行的数百万次检查,药物和手术,这些检查,药物和手术并不能使它们变得更好,可能会造成伤害,并造成数十亿美元的损失。令人遗憾的是,这种不必要护理的泛滥不仅限于身体保健。行为健康和药物滥用障碍系统也犯有部署研究人员所谓的“低价值”护理的罪行。

此消息很刺耳,表明系统故障的数据更是如此。例如,每年在基层医疗机构开出抗抑郁药的3000万美国人中,只有25%的人表现出明显的临床改善。鉴于抗抑郁药的常见副作用包括恶心,失眠和性欲减退,数百万人服用这些药物产生了净负面影响。最近的文章 英国医学杂志 我们认为,精神药物每年在西方世界造成超过50万人的死亡,这些人的年龄在65岁以上。为了证明这一点,好处必须是巨大的,但它们是微不足道的。心理疗法并没有好得多。许多被称为心理治疗的人将不会获得足够的就诊次数和/或无效的形式,从而导致反应率低至20%。

低价值行为卫生保健的最大罪魁祸首可能是我们根本无法衡量我们作为临床医生所做的影响。由于没有通过标准化的评估广泛采用基于测量的哲学,这意味着随着时间的推移,我们很少捕获患者报告的结果来评估治疗反应。例如,目前正在流行将行为保健专业知识“整合”到基层医疗机构中。然而,现实情况是,似乎单独筛查精神病,筛查PCP并制定治疗指南的直觉努力并没有带来改善的结果。将精神卫生专业人员安置在基层医疗机构中已显示出治疗常见焦虑症和抑郁症的希望。但是,仅靠就医并不能改善人群水平的患者预后,如果缺乏系统的评估,治疗计划和进展评估方法,就有可能成为“低价值”干预措施。

托管护理公司和其他付款人有责任保持系统正常运行。在Beacon,我们通过坚持有效的证据来努力促进高价值护理的提供:例如,协作护理模型得到70多项随机对照试验的支持。我们正在使用付款模型来增加对具有更多功能和规模的实践的快速访问,并可以使用有效的模型,包括预约/当日和次日约会。我们希望我们的会员能够采用基于测量的护理原则,快速与以团队为基础的方法工作的专家取得联系。如果不能系统地采用这种基于证据的模型,那么对于本已服务不足的人群,公众以及即将崩溃的医疗体系来说,低价值的护理模式将永远存在。现在是时候让利益相关者研究事实并采取相应行动了。

参考:

加万德(A. Overkill) 纽约客。 2015年5月11日

Fortney,J.,Sladek,R.,Unutzer,J.在美国修复精神卫生保健:将特殊行为卫生保健整合和协调到医疗系统中的全国性呼吁。肯尼迪论坛发布的问题简介。 2015年2月26日。

瓦伦斯坦,M。, 阿德勒(Adler DA) 伯兰特(J. LB Dixon, 杜利特 RA 高盛B. 哈克曼., 奥斯林,D,西里斯(Siris SG),华盛顿州索尼斯(Sonis,WA)在临床护理中实施标准化评估:现在是时候了。 PubMed。 精神科服务。 2009年10月,60(10):1372-5。 DOI:10.1176 / appi.ps.60.10.1372 http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19797378

Unutzer,J.,哈尔滨H.,Schoenbaum,N.,Druss B.协同护理模式:一种将医疗和心理健康护理整合到医疗补助医疗之家的方法。卫生保健策略与Mathematica政策研究中心。保健之家信息资源中心。 2013年5月。 http://www.medicaid.gov/State-Resource-Center/Medicaid-State-Technical-Assistance/Health-Homes-Technical-Assistance/Downloads/HH-IRC-Collaborative-5-13.pdf

戴维斯(J.Davies),2013年。 破解:为什么精神病学弊大于利。 伦敦,英国。偶像图书有限公司

Gøtzsche,P.,Young,A.,Crace,J.长期服用精神科药物是否弊大于利? 英国医学杂志 2015; 350:h2435 http://www.bmj.com/content/350/bmj.h2435


2评论。 留下新的

主题:过度服药我们的退伍军人

我已与一位退伍军人结婚,我的父亲是一位退伍军人,我的兄弟,我们有一个已任职的儿子和一个刚开始他的职业生涯的儿子。

我们的儿子曾在伊拉克及其同志们服役,服药过量。我们不明白为什么这种情况在继续成为国家头条新闻时仍然持续下去,而我们的退伍军人由于“意外过量”而继续死亡。他们为解决问题投掷药丸,而不是帮助他们解决问题。

我提到我84岁的父亲曾在朝鲜战争中服役,因为事实恰恰相反,他们没有服药,他们只好掩埋所有这些记忆,回到家中回到工作岗位。直到最近几年,他才开始用泪流满面的眼睛讲述自己的故事,几十年后仍然充满恐惧。我们的年轻退伍军人想要更多,应该得到更多,我们最古老的退伍军人也需要。父亲为他的战时服务获得的唯一报酬是一些短暂的VA福利,由于痴呆正在接管,我的母亲必须经过地狱才能为他争取,所以我们为他奋斗。我认为今天的青年男女根本无法应付那样的事情,大规模的自杀比今天要大得多。我敢肯定,在较早的时期中有自杀事件并未被记录下来。至少他们比那些“幸运”的退伍军人有更多的支持,这些退伍军人足够“幸运”地从以前的战区返回,尤其是越南,却被自己的家乡蒙羞。

但是,无论如何,他们都需要更多的帮助,无论男女老少。而且他们不需要药丸的形式。他们需要一个能够真正将他们带出我们政府所面对的地狱的程序,他们愿意为爱国,自由和上帝而去。

回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

Overkill: Unnecessary Care Is Low-Value Care

Overkill_Blog Post 4

Solution lies in adhering to evidence that shows what works.

Last month, Dr. Atul Gawande published a thought-provoking essay in The New Yorker about the millions of tests, drugs and surgeries that American people undergo every year, which won’t make them better, may cause harm, and costs billions. Sadly, this avalanche of unnecessary care is not confined solely to physical health care. Behavioral health and substance use disorder systems are also guilty of deploying what researchers call “low-value” care.

This message is jarring, and the data indicating system failure is even more so. For example, only 25 percent of the 30 million Americans prescribed an antidepressant in a primary care setting every year show substantial clinical improvement. Given that common side effects of antidepressants include nausea, insomnia and reduced libido, millions of people take these medications for a net-negative impact. A recent article in the British Medical Journal posited that psychiatric drugs are responsible for the deaths of more than half a million people aged 65 and older each year in the Western world. The benefits would need to be colossal to justify this, yet they are minimal. Psychotherapy isn’t faring much better. Many people referred to psychotherapy will receive an insufficient number of visits and/or ineffective forms of it, leading to response rates as low as 20 percent.

Perhaps the biggest culprit for low-value behavioral health care is that we simply don’t measure the impact of what we, as clinicians, do. The absence of any widespread adoption of a measurement-based philosophy through standardized assessments means that we are rarely capturing patient-reported outcomes over time to assess treatment response. For example, the “integration” of behavioral health care expertise into primary care settings is currently in vogue. Yet the reality is that seemingly intuitive efforts to screen for mental illness, educate PCPs and develop treatment guidelines – alone and in combination – have not led to improved outcomes. Co-locating a mental health professional in a primary care setting has shown promise for treating common anxiety and depression. However, proximity alone does not improve patient outcomes at a population level and is at risk of being a “low-value” intervention in the absence of a systematic approach to assessment, treatment planning and progress measurement.

Managed care companies and other payers have a responsibility to keep the system on track. At Beacon, we strive to promote the delivery of high-value care by adhering to the evidence about what will work: the collaborative care model, for example, is backed up by more than 70 randomized controlled trials. We are using payment models to increase rapid access to practices that have more capability and scale with the models that work, including walk-in/same-day and next-day appointments. We want our members to have rapid access to specialists working in a team-based approach, employing principles of measurement-based care. Failure to systematically adopt such evidence-based models perpetuates low-value models of care for an already under-served population, the general public and for a health care system that is going broke. It’s time for stakeholders to look at the hard facts and act accordingly.

References:

Gawande, A. Overkill, The New Yorker. May 11, 2015

Fortney, J., Sladek, R., Unutzer, J. Fixing Mental Health Care in America: A National Call for Integrating and Coordinating Specialty Behavioral Health Care into the Medical System. An issue brief released by the Kennedy Forum. Feb. 26, 2015.

Valenstein, M., Adler D.A., Berlant, J., Dixon, L.B., Dulit, R.A. Goldman, B., Hackman, A., Oslin, D., Siris S.G., Sonis, W.A. Implementing Standardized Assessments in Clinical Care: Now’s the Time. PubMed. Psychiatric Services. 2009. Oct., 60(10): 1372-5. DOI: 10.1176/appi.ps.60.10.1372 http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19797378

Unutzer, J., Harbin H., Schoenbaum, N., Druss B. The Collaborative Care Model: An Approach for Integrating Physical and Mental Health Care in Medicaid Health Homes. Center for Health Care Strategies and Mathematica Policy Research. Health Home Information Resource Center. May 2013. http://www.medicaid.gov/State-Resource-Center/Medicaid-State-Technical-Assistance/Health-Homes-Technical-Assistance/Downloads/HH-IRC-Collaborative-5-13.pdf

Davies, J. 2013. Cracked: Why Psychiatry Is Doing More Harm than Good. London, England. Icon Books Ltd.

Gøtzsche, P., Young, A., Crace, J. Does long term use of psychiatric drugs cause more harm than good? BMJ 2015;350:h2435 http://www.bmj.com/content/350/bmj.h2435


2 Comments. Leave new

Subject: Over medicating of our Veterans

I am married to a Veteran, my dad is a Veteran, my brother, and we have a son who has served and one who is just beginning his career.

Our son, who served in Iraq and along with some of his comrades are over medicated. We do not understand why this continues when it continues to make national headlines where our Veterans continue to die due to “accidental overdose”. They are throwing pills at their problems rather that helping them to work through them.

I mention my 84 year old dad who served in the Korean War because it is quite the opposite, they were not medicated, they just had to bury all of those memories, come home to their families and get back to work. Only in recent years has he began to tell his stories, with teary eyes, filled with apprehension still decades later. Our young veterans want more and deserve more, well so do our oldest Veterans. The only compensation my dad gets for his wartime service is some small time VA benefits that my mom has to go through hell to get for him because dementia is taking over, so we pick up the fight for him. I do not think the young men and women today could have coped at all back then, it would have been mass suicide far greater than today. I am sure there were suicides in the those earlier times that were not recorded as such. At least they have far more support than say those Veterans who were “lucky” enough to return from previous theaters of war, especially Vietnam, only to be dishonored by their homeland.

But none-the-less, they all need more help young and old, not less help. And they do not need it in the form of pills. They need a program that is going to really bring them home out of the hell our government has exposed them to, a hell that they willing went to for the love country, freedom, and God.

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *