[跳至内容]

克服污名以改善心理健康

尽管态度正在慢慢改变,但污名化继续对心理健康治疗造成重大障碍。根据美国心理健康协会的数据,2020 年报告出现心理健康问题的人中有一半以上没有接受治疗。[1] 此外,BCBS 健康指数表明,在黑人和西班牙裔/拉丁裔社区中,严重抑郁症和焦虑症的诊断不足率降低了 32-40%。[2] 虽然造成这种情况的原因可能有所不同,但美国心理学会表示,较低的诊断率可能是由于提供者对文化差异、污名和获得护理的障碍缺乏了解,例如社会经济差异和提供者偏见/护理不平等。

特别是在黑人社区,污名化可能无处不在。研究表明,与白人成年人相比,黑人成年人更有可能报告悲伤和绝望的感觉,但只有三分之一需要心理保健的黑人成年人得到了这种感觉。[3] 根据一项研究,美国黑人 63% 认为心理健康状况是个人软弱的标志。[4] 它也与缺乏信仰或灵性有关。

对于黑人社区的许多人来说,讨论心理健康可能非常具有挑战性。害怕受到不公平的评判或歧视会阻碍接受心理健康治疗,并可能严重影响一个人的生活。努力减少污名有助于增加获得精神保健的机会。

规范公开谈论心理健康。 有强有力的证据表明,与有心理健康挑战经历的个人交流有助于减少耻辱感。[5] 公开谈论心理健康斗争可以帮助那些正在努力寻找资源并找到寻求治疗的勇气的人。

教育以减少误解。 积极回应负面评论和误解,用事实和诚实的生活经验来回应。保持对您使用的语言的意识对于与污名作斗争也至关重要。用事实和同理心沟通,对那些挣扎的人表现出同情心。

像谈论身体健康问题一样谈论行为健康障碍。 像谈论癌症或心脏病等身体问题一样谈论心理健康挑战有助于使敏感话题正常化并带来更大的接受度。

通过促进赋权来消除羞耻感。 成为那些希望讲述他们的心理健康挑战故事并鼓励他们从赋权场所公开发言的人的安全空间。如果你是一个有故事要讲的人,那就拥有它。你的诚实可能是别人的救命稻草。

避免自我污名化。 2020 年,美国五分之一的成年人报告患有精神疾病,超过 1200 万人有过严重的自杀念头。[6] 如果您是数百万遭受心理健康挑战的人之一,那么您并不孤单。提醒自己这个事实可以帮助你避免自我污名化。

寻求治疗并鼓励其他人也这样做。 Beacon 为任何寻求心理健康和情感支持服务的人提供了一个安全和开放的空间。我们正在积极努力整合我们的努力,将共生的社会因素与心理健康和情感支持结合起来,以确保为所有人提供全面的护理。这包括继续建立具有文化能力的从业人员的代表性网络。

如果您或您关心的人正在与精神或情感负担作斗争,请随时致电 888-204-5581 或致电 800-273-8255 与我们联系。

有关心理健康的更多信息以及在哪里可以找到资源,您可以在线访问 全国心理疾病联盟,  https://blackmentalhealth.com 要么 https://nami.org/Your-Journey/Identity-and-Cultural-Dimensions/Black-African-American  .


[1] https://mhanational.org/issues/2020/mental-health-america-access-care-data#adults_ami_no_treatmentt

[2] https://www.bcbs.com/the-health-of-america/health-index

[3] https://www.nami.org/Your-Journey/Identity-and-Cultural-Dimensions/Black-African-American

[4] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4279858/

[5] https://www.psychiatry.org/patients-families/stigma-and-discrimination

[6] https://www.nami.org/mhstats


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Overcoming stigma for better mental health

Although attitudes are slowly changing, stigma continues to create a significant barrier to mental health treatment. According to Mental Health America, more than half of the people who reported experiencing mental health problems in 2020 did not receive treatment.[1] Additionally, the BCBS Health Index indicated that major depression and anxiety are underdiagnosed at rates of 32-40 percent less in Black and Hispanic/Latino communities.[2] While the reasons for this may vary, the American Psychological Association says that lower diagnosis rates are likely driven by lack of provider understanding of cultural differences, stigma and barriers to getting care such as socioeconomic disparities and provider bias / inequality of care.

In the Black community in particular, stigma can be pervasive. Research has shown Black adults were more likely than White adults to report feelings of sadness and hopelessness, but only one in three Black adults who need mental health care receive it.[3] According to one study, 63% of Black people in the United States believe that a mental health condition is a sign of personal weakness.[4] It has also been associated with a lack of faith or spirituality.

Discussing mental health can be very challenging for many in the Black community. The fear of being unfairly judged or discriminated against creates a barrier to receiving mental health treatment and can severely impact a person’s life. Working to reduce stigma can help increase access to mental healthcare.

Normalize talking openly about mental health. There is strong evidence suggesting that communication with individuals with lived experience with mental health challenges works to reduce stigma.[5] Speaking openly about mental health struggles can help someone who is struggling identify resources and find the courage to seek treatment.

Educate to reduce misperceptions. Take an active role in responding to negative comments and misperceptions with facts and honesty about lived experience. Maintaining consciousness of the language you use is also critical to battling stigma. Communicate with facts and empathy and demonstrate compassion for those who are struggling.

Speak about behavioral health disorders the same way you would about physical health problems. Speaking about mental health challenges as you would physical problems such as cancer or heart disease helps to normalize a sensitive topic and bring about greater acceptance.

Work to eradicate shame by promoting empowerment. Become a safe space for those who wish to tell their story about their mental health challenges and encourage them to speak openly from a place of empowerment. If you’re the one with a story to tell, own it. Your honesty may be a life saver for someone else.

Refrain from self-stigma. In 2020 one in five adults in the United States reported experiencing a mental illness and more than 12 million had serious thoughts of suicide.[6] If you’re one of the millions who suffer from a mental health challenge, you’re not alone. Reminding yourself of this fact can help you avoid self-stigmatization.

Seek treatment and encourage others to do the same. Beacon offers a safe and open space for anyone to seek mental health and emotional support services. We are actively working to integrate our efforts to align social factors that are symbiotic with mental health and emotional support to ensure a comprehensive level of care for all people. This includes continuing to establish a representative network of culturally competent practitioners.

If you or someone you care about is struggling with mental or emotional burdens, do not hesitate to call us at 888-204-5581 or National Suicide Prevention Lifeline Hours at 800-273-8255.

For more information on mental health and where to find resources, you can visit online at the National Alliance on Mental Illness,  https://blackmentalhealth.com or https://nami.org/Your-Journey/Identity-and-Cultural-Dimensions/Black-African-American  .


[1] https://mhanational.org/issues/2020/mental-health-america-access-care-data#adults_ami_no_treatmentt

[2] https://www.bcbs.com/the-health-of-america/health-index

[3] https://www.nami.org/Your-Journey/Identity-and-Cultural-Dimensions/Black-African-American

[4] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4279858/

[5] https://www.psychiatry.org/patients-families/stigma-and-discrimination

[6] https://www.nami.org/mhstats


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish