[تخطى الى المحتوى]

التغلب على وصمة العار من أجل صحة نفسية أفضل

على الرغم من أن المواقف تتغير ببطء ، إلا أن وصمة العار لا تزال تشكل حاجزًا كبيرًا أمام علاج الصحة العقلية. وفقًا لـ Mental Health America ، فإن أكثر من نصف الأشخاص الذين أبلغوا عن تعرضهم لمشاكل الصحة العقلية في عام 2020 لم يتلقوا العلاج.[1] بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أشار مؤشر BCBS الصحي إلى أن الاكتئاب والقلق الشديد لا يتم تشخيصهما بمعدلات تقل بنسبة 32-40 في المائة في مجتمعات السود واللاتينيين / اللاتينيين.[2] في حين أن أسباب ذلك قد تختلف ، تقول الجمعية الأمريكية لعلم النفس أن معدلات التشخيص المنخفضة من المحتمل أن تكون مدفوعة بعدم فهم مقدم الخدمة للاختلافات الثقافية والوصمة والعوائق التي تحول دون الحصول على الرعاية مثل الفوارق الاجتماعية والاقتصادية وتحيز مقدم الرعاية / عدم المساواة في الرعاية.

في مجتمع السود على وجه الخصوص ، يمكن أن تكون وصمة العار منتشرة. أظهرت الأبحاث أن البالغين السود كانوا أكثر عرضة من البالغين البيض للإبلاغ عن مشاعر الحزن واليأس ، لكن واحدًا فقط من كل ثلاثة بالغين سود يحتاجون إلى رعاية صحية عقلية يتلقونها.[3] وفقًا لإحدى الدراسات ، يعتقد 63% من السود في الولايات المتحدة أن حالة الصحة العقلية هي علامة على الضعف الشخصي.[4] وقد ارتبط أيضًا بنقص الإيمان أو الروحانية.

يمكن أن تكون مناقشة الصحة العقلية صعبة للغاية بالنسبة للكثيرين في مجتمع السود. الخوف من الحكم غير العادل أو التمييز ضده يخلق حاجزًا أمام تلقي علاج الصحة العقلية ويمكن أن يؤثر بشدة على حياة الشخص. يمكن أن يساعد العمل على تقليل وصمة العار في زيادة الوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية النفسية.

تطبيع الحديث بصراحة عن الصحة العقلية. هناك أدلة قوية تشير إلى أن التواصل مع الأفراد ذوي الخبرة الحية مع تحديات الصحة العقلية يعمل على تقليل وصمة العار.[5] التحدث بصراحة عن صراعات الصحة العقلية يمكن أن يساعد الشخص الذي يكافح في تحديد الموارد وإيجاد الشجاعة لطلب العلاج.

تثقيف لتقليل المفاهيم الخاطئة. قم بدور فعال في الرد على التعليقات السلبية والمفاهيم الخاطئة بالحقائق والصدق حول التجربة الحية. يعد الحفاظ على الوعي باللغة التي تستخدمها أمرًا بالغ الأهمية أيضًا لمحاربة وصمة العار. تواصل بالحقائق والتعاطف وأظهر التعاطف مع أولئك الذين يكافحون.

تحدث عن اضطرابات الصحة السلوكية بنفس الطريقة التي تتحدث بها عن مشاكل الصحة البدنية. إن التحدث عن تحديات الصحة العقلية كما هو الحال بالنسبة للمشاكل الجسدية مثل السرطان أو أمراض القلب يساعد على تطبيع موضوع حساس وتحقيق قبول أكبر.

العمل على استئصال العار من خلال تعزيز التمكين. كن مكانًا آمنًا لأولئك الذين يرغبون في سرد قصتهم عن تحديات صحتهم العقلية وشجعهم على التحدث بصراحة من مكان التمكين. إذا كنت الشخص الذي لديه قصة ترويها ، فامتلكها. صدقك قد يكون منقذًا لحياة شخص آخر.

الامتناع عن وصمة العار الذاتية. في عام 2020 ، أبلغ واحد من كل خمسة بالغين في الولايات المتحدة عن إصابته بمرض عقلي وكان لدى أكثر من 12 مليونًا أفكارًا جدية بالانتحار.[6] إذا كنت من بين الملايين الذين يعانون من تحديات الصحة العقلية ، فأنت لست وحدك. تذكير نفسك بهذه الحقيقة يمكن أن يساعدك على تجنب وصم الذات.

اطلب العلاج وشجع الآخرين على فعل الشيء نفسه. تقدم المنارة مساحة آمنة ومفتوحة لأي شخص للحصول على خدمات الصحة العقلية والدعم العاطفي. نحن نعمل بنشاط لدمج جهودنا لمواءمة العوامل الاجتماعية المتكافئة مع الصحة العقلية والدعم العاطفي لضمان مستوى شامل من الرعاية لجميع الناس. وهذا يشمل الاستمرار في إنشاء شبكة تمثيلية من الممارسين الأكفاء ثقافيا.

إذا كنت أنت أو أي شخص تهتم به يعاني من أعباء عقلية أو عاطفية ، فلا تتردد في الاتصال بنا على 888-204-5581 أو National Suicide Prevention Lifeline Hours على 800-273-8255.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول الصحة العقلية وأين تجد الموارد ، يمكنك زيارة الموقع على الإنترنت التحالف الوطني للأمراض العقلية,  https://blackmentalhealth.com أو https://nami.org/Your-Journey/Identity-and-Cultural-Dimensions/Black-African-American  .


[1] https://mhanational.org/issues/2020/mental-health-america-access-care-data#adults_ami_no_treatmentt

[2] https://www.bcbs.com/the-health-of-america/health-index

[3] https://www.nami.org/Your-Journey/Identity-and-Cultural-Dimensions/Black-African-American

[4] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4279858/

[5] https://www.psychiatry.org/patients-families/stigma-and-discrimination

[6] https://www.nami.org/mhstats


لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

رابط علوي
arالعربية

[Skip to Content]

Overcoming stigma for better mental health

Although attitudes are slowly changing, stigma continues to create a significant barrier to mental health treatment. According to Mental Health America, more than half of the people who reported experiencing mental health problems in 2020 did not receive treatment.[1] Additionally, the BCBS Health Index indicated that major depression and anxiety are underdiagnosed at rates of 32-40 percent less in Black and Hispanic/Latino communities.[2] While the reasons for this may vary, the American Psychological Association says that lower diagnosis rates are likely driven by lack of provider understanding of cultural differences, stigma and barriers to getting care such as socioeconomic disparities and provider bias / inequality of care.

In the Black community in particular, stigma can be pervasive. Research has shown Black adults were more likely than White adults to report feelings of sadness and hopelessness, but only one in three Black adults who need mental health care receive it.[3] According to one study, 63% of Black people in the United States believe that a mental health condition is a sign of personal weakness.[4] It has also been associated with a lack of faith or spirituality.

Discussing mental health can be very challenging for many in the Black community. The fear of being unfairly judged or discriminated against creates a barrier to receiving mental health treatment and can severely impact a person’s life. Working to reduce stigma can help increase access to mental healthcare.

Normalize talking openly about mental health. There is strong evidence suggesting that communication with individuals with lived experience with mental health challenges works to reduce stigma.[5] Speaking openly about mental health struggles can help someone who is struggling identify resources and find the courage to seek treatment.

Educate to reduce misperceptions. Take an active role in responding to negative comments and misperceptions with facts and honesty about lived experience. Maintaining consciousness of the language you use is also critical to battling stigma. Communicate with facts and empathy and demonstrate compassion for those who are struggling.

Speak about behavioral health disorders the same way you would about physical health problems. Speaking about mental health challenges as you would physical problems such as cancer or heart disease helps to normalize a sensitive topic and bring about greater acceptance.

Work to eradicate shame by promoting empowerment. Become a safe space for those who wish to tell their story about their mental health challenges and encourage them to speak openly from a place of empowerment. If you’re the one with a story to tell, own it. Your honesty may be a life saver for someone else.

Refrain from self-stigma. In 2020 one in five adults in the United States reported experiencing a mental illness and more than 12 million had serious thoughts of suicide.[6] If you’re one of the millions who suffer from a mental health challenge, you’re not alone. Reminding yourself of this fact can help you avoid self-stigmatization.

Seek treatment and encourage others to do the same. Beacon offers a safe and open space for anyone to seek mental health and emotional support services. We are actively working to integrate our efforts to align social factors that are symbiotic with mental health and emotional support to ensure a comprehensive level of care for all people. This includes continuing to establish a representative network of culturally competent practitioners.

If you or someone you care about is struggling with mental or emotional burdens, do not hesitate to call us at 888-204-5581 or National Suicide Prevention Lifeline Hours at 800-273-8255.

For more information on mental health and where to find resources, you can visit online at the National Alliance on Mental Illness,  https://blackmentalhealth.com or https://nami.org/Your-Journey/Identity-and-Cultural-Dimensions/Black-African-American  .


[1] https://mhanational.org/issues/2020/mental-health-america-access-care-data#adults_ami_no_treatmentt

[2] https://www.bcbs.com/the-health-of-america/health-index

[3] https://www.nami.org/Your-Journey/Identity-and-Cultural-Dimensions/Black-African-American

[4] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4279858/

[5] https://www.psychiatry.org/patients-families/stigma-and-discrimination

[6] https://www.nami.org/mhstats


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish