[跳至内容]

精神卫生专业人员:切记要照顾好自己

在 COVID-19 大流行期间及之后的高峰期,前线医护人员所经历的压力已得到充分记录,尤其是在 洛娜·布林博士,一位没有精神病史的急诊医生,在不知疲倦地照顾病人后自杀身亡,然后自己感染了这种疾病。

然而,鲜为人知的是大流行对另一组前线医护人员的影响:心理健康专业人员。

大流行对医院及其工作人员的压力已经开始减轻,希望这种趋势能够继续下去。但是,如果提供者参与了一项计划,那么精神卫生专业人员在未来几年内可能不会经历衰退。 Anthem Inc. 委托调查 是正确的:接受调查的心理健康专家和初级保健医生中,近四分之三估计大流行对心理健康的影响将持续三年或更长时间。

认识到五月是心理健康意识月,Beacon Health Options 希望利用这个空间来支持心理健康专业人士,他们花了一年多时间来治疗现在比以往任何时候都更需要他们的人。

识别标志

COVID-19 大流行是一场旷日持久的危机,在这种危机中,恐惧和压力的感觉会滋生。压力的加剧会导致倦怠和继发性创伤性压力,根据 疾病预防与控制中心.不一定非要成为心理健康专家或其他提供者才能识别倦怠——那种极度疲惫和不知所措的感觉。然而,继发性创伤性压力——由于暴露于他人的创伤而不是自己的创伤而出现的症状——对于心理健康专业人员来说也是一种常见的经历。

即使是心理健康专业人士,也可能需要提醒他们意识到自己何时接近极限。倦怠的迹象包括易怒、冷漠、疲惫、冷漠和卫生条件差。从专业上讲,精疲力竭可能会导致失败的感觉,或者您无能为力。

继发性创伤性压力的迹象包括过度担心会发生坏事;夸张的惊吓反射;体征,如心跳加快;噩梦等等。

你能做些什么来照顾好自己

也许对心理健康专业人士来说,最好的建议是遵循你自己的建议。你告诉你的客户什么来帮助他们管理自己的压力?您可能会从这样做中受益。以下是一些有关如何管理压力和倦怠以帮助改善您的健康状况的提示。

促进自我保健.睡个好觉、健康饮食和锻炼是自我保健的基础。困难的部分是致力于做到这一点。记住,如果你不照顾好自己,你就无法帮助别人。例如,坚持固定的办公时间是一种健康的做法,这样您就可以腾出时间进行自我保健。

采用适合您的应对策略.我们都以不同的方式应对困难的情况。对于一个人来说,它可能是散步。另一方面,它可能是提醒自己所有值得感恩的事情。另一方面,它可能是读诗。无论是什么,请确保您知道什么最适合您并花时间去做。

依赖他人.你不必一直一个人做这件事。如果您是更大团队的一员,请讨论如何更好地共享工作负载。分享处理困难情况的想法和策略,并承认彼此的成功。只需互相检查一下,看看同事们的表现如何以及你们如何互相帮助。对于那些独自工作的专业人士来说,培养这种友情可能比较困难,但并非不可能。利用任何专业团体的资源。培养现有的专业关系以获得所需的支持。

更多的工作并不是更好的工作.说工作不是心理健康专家的一切是很难推销的,因为他们所做的工作的性质是:帮助人们过上更好的生活。很难对有需要的人说不。但是,请记住,一直工作并不等同于尽力而为。对很多人来说,这需要思维转变 越多越好。

Beacon Health Options 呼吁照顾他人心理健康的专业人士记得照顾好自己的心理健康。你们对我们国家的健康和福祉至关重要,随着大流行和其他压力源的展开,你们的持续贡献可能比以往任何时候都更加重要。为了在您继续在大流行期间为人们提供治疗时帮助使您的工作更轻松一些,您可以通过单击“通过 COVID 关怀”网络研讨会系列找到信息 这里.

此外,要查找更多信息和资源,确认 5 月为心理健康意识月,请访问新的 国家心理健康状况 网站。


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Mental health professionals: Remember to take care of yourself

The stress frontline healthcare workers experienced during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic and beyond has been well documented, especially after the death of Dr. Lorna Breen, an ER doctor with no history of mental illness who died by suicide after tirelessly caring for patients and then contracting the disease herself.

However, less well-known is the effect the pandemic is having on a different group of frontline healthcare workers: mental health professionals.

The pandemic’s strain on hospitals and their workers has begun to abate, and hopefully the trend will continue. However, mental health professionals may not experience a downturn for years to come if providers who participated in an Anthem Inc.-commissioned survey are correct: Nearly three out of four mental health specialists and primary care doctors surveyed estimate that the mental health effects from the pandemic will last up to three years or longer.

Recognizing May as Mental Health Awareness Month, Beacon Health Options would like to use this space to support the mental health professionals who have spent more than a year treating people who need them more now than they might ever have.

Recognize the signs

The COVID-19 pandemic has been a protracted crisis where feelings of fear and stress can build. That intensifying stress can lead to burnout and secondary traumatic stress, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. One doesn’t have to be a mental health professional or other provider to recognize burnout – those feelings of extreme exhaustion and being overwhelmed. However, secondary traumatic stress – symptoms that emerge from exposure to someone else’s trauma as opposed to one’s own – is a common experience for mental health professionals as well.

Even mental health professionals may need reminders on recognizing when they’re approaching their limit. Signs of burnout include irritability, indifference, exhaustion, apathy and poor hygiene. Professionally, burnout may lead to feelings of failure or that there’s nothing you can do to help.

Signs of secondary traumatic stress include excessive worry that something bad will happen; an exaggerated startle reflex; physical signs, such as a rapid heartbeat; nightmares and more.

What you can do to take care of yourself

Perhaps the best advice for mental health professionals is to follow your own advice. What do you tell your clients to help them manage their own stress? You may benefit from doing the same. Below are some reminders on how to manage stress and burnout to help improve your wellbeing.

Promote self-care. Getting a good night’s sleep, eating a healthy diet and exercising are the ABC’s to self-care. The hard part is committing to doing it. Remember that you can’t help others if you aren’t taking care of yourself. For example, it’s a healthy practice to stick with set office hours so that you can carve out time for self-care.

Adopt the coping strategies that work for you. We all cope with difficult situations differently. For one person, it may be taking a walk. For another, it might be reminding oneself of all the things to be thankful for. For another, it might be reading poetry. Whatever it is, be sure that you know what works best for you and to take the time to do it.

Rely on others. You don’t have to do this alone, all the time. If you’re part of a larger team, discuss how you can better share workloads. Share ideas and strategies for handling difficult situations and acknowledge each other’s successes. Simply check in with each other to see how coworkers are doing and how you can help each other out. For those professionals who work alone, developing this kind of camaraderie may be more difficult but not impossible. Tap into the resources of any professional groups. Cultivate your existing professional relationships to get the support you need.

More work isn’t better work. Saying that work isn’t everything to a mental health professional is a tough sell because of the nature of the work they do: helping people to lead better lives. It’s hard to say no to people in need. However, remember that working all the time does not equate to doing your best work. For many people, it requires a mind shift to not equate more with better.

Beacon Health Options calls upon the professionals who take care of the mental health of others to remember to take care of your own mental health. You are critical to our nation’s health and wellbeing, and as the pandemic and other stressors unfold, your continued contributions may turn out to be more important than ever. To help make your job a little easier as you continue to treat people through the pandemic, you can find information from our Caring Through COVID webinar series by clicking here.

Additionally, to find more information and resources acknowledging May as Mental Health Awareness Month, visit the new State of the Nation’s Mental Health website.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish