[跳至内容]

通过公共/私人伙伴关系增加获得行为保健的机会

作者:Beacon 危机负责人 Wendy Martinez Farmer

九年前,我在亚特兰大高峰时段开车回家,担心我不能及时从托儿所接我 2 岁的孩子。交通繁忙,我在处理工作中的危机后已经迟到了。突然,我感到剧烈的胸痛,从双臂蔓延到我的下巴。

我本能地下了高速,拐进了一家便利店,买了一颗阿司匹林,嚼了一口,看着店员说:“请打911,我心脏病发作了。”

几秒钟之内,似乎也知道该怎么做的旁观者进来让我保持冷静。其中一位甚至联系了我的家人。第一响应者很快就到了。 EMS 和消防无缝合作,让我安全地通过交通拥堵的交通,前往该市最好的心脏护理中心。不到一个小时后,我就进入了导管室。尽管确实心脏病发作让所有人都感到惊讶,但三天后我和家人一起回家了。

在我的健康恐慌之后,我开始想知道如果我不是胸痛,而是自杀,经历精神病或药物过量,我的经历可能会是什么。无论您住在哪里,对胸痛的反应都是可以预测的。我们要求它。行为健康紧急情况并非如此,这也可能是致命的。

如果没有协调的行为健康危机系统,社区必须依赖为医疗紧急情况设计的系统。拨打 911 寻求心理健康紧急情况通常会导致执法部门介入或前往最近的急诊室。通常,如果患者可以通过热线、在自己家中的流动危机小组或专门为他们的需求设计的紧急步入式中心获得即时护理,患者可能会在精神科病床等待很长时间。

可以肯定的是,911 是为有紧急身体健康问题的人提供的救生服务。然而,我们还没有为那些有心理健康问题的人提供同样重要的服务,这些问题与一个人的整体健康有着内在的联系。到目前为止。

将于 2022 年 7 月推出全国三位数的行为健康紧急情况号码 988。为了做好准备,各州需要准备好实施一个全面和协作的护理系统。这是一项艰巨的任务,需要公共和私营部门的利益相关者之间的合作、协作和沟通。州和护理管理实体之间有效的公共/私人伙伴关系是确保正确的基础设施到位、优化资金流以及适当利用当地资源为所有人提供护理的关键。

Beacon Health Options 处于全国危机系统的最前沿,与各州密切合作,评估现有基础设施,利用现有资源,就如何填补服务缺口提供指导——并编织资金以支付所有费用。要了解更多信息,请参加 4 月 12 日星期二的 NATCON22 会议 D15:编织安全网:通过公共/私人合作伙伴关系拯救生命。 现在注册。


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Increasing access to behavioral health care through public / private partnerships

By Wendy Martinez Farmer, Beacon Crisis Leader

Nine years ago, I was driving home during Atlanta rush hour concerned I would not make it in time to pick up my 2-year-old from daycare. Traffic was heavy and I was already running late after handling a crisis at work. Suddenly, I felt crushing chest pain that radiated down both arms and up into my jaw.

Instinctively I pulled off the highway, turned into a convenience store, bought an aspirin, chewed it and looked at the store clerk and said, “Please call 911. I am having a heart attack.”

Within seconds, bystanders who also seemed to know what to do stepped in to keep me calm. One of them even contacted my family. First responders soon arrived. EMS and fire worked together seamlessly to get me safely through gridlocked traffic to the best cardiac care in the city. Less than an hour later I was in a cath lab. Despite indeed having a heart attack that surprised everyone, I was home with my family three days later.

After my health scare, I started to wonder what my experience may have been if instead of chest pain, I was suicidal, experiencing psychosis or a drug overdose. The response to chest pain is predictable no matter where you live. We demand it. This is not the case for behavioral health emergencies, which can also be fatal.

Without coordinated behavioral health crisis systems, communities must rely on the system designed for medical emergencies. A call to 911 for a mental health emergency often results in law enforcement involvement or a trip to the nearest emergency department. Commonly, patients experience long waits for a psychiatric bed that might have been prevented if the individual could have accessed immediate care from a hotline, in their own home from a mobile crisis team or in an urgent walk-in center specifically designed for their needs.

To be sure, 911 is a life-saving service for people with emergency physical health issues. However, we haven’t had this equally important service for those with mental health issues, which are intrinsically linked to a person’s whole health. Until now.

Coming in July 2022, a nationwide three-digit number for behavioral health emergencies, 988, will launch. To prepare for that, states need to be ready to implement a comprehensive and collaborative system of care. It’s a massive undertaking that requires cooperation, collaboration and communication between stakeholders in both the public and private sectors. Effective public / private partnerships between states and care management entities are key to ensuring that the right infrastructure is in place, funding streams are optimized and local resources are properly leveraged to provide care for all people.

Beacon Health Options is at the forefront of the nationwide crisis system, working closely with states to evaluate existing infrastructure, leverage existing resources, provide guidance on how to fill gaps in service – and braid funding to get it all paid for. To learn more, join us at NATCON22 on Tuesday, April 12 at session D15: Knitting a Safety Net: Saving Lives through Public/Private Partnerships. Register now.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish