[تخطى الى المحتوى]

زيادة الوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية السلوكية من خلال الشراكات العامة / الخاصة

بقلم ويندي مارتينيز فارمر ، قائدة أزمة بيكون

قبل تسع سنوات ، كنت أقود سيارتي إلى المنزل خلال ساعة الذروة في أتلانتا قلقًا من أنني لن أتمكن من اصطحاب طفلي البالغ من العمر عامين من الرعاية النهارية في الوقت المناسب. كانت حركة المرور مزدحمة وكنت متأخراً بالفعل بعد أن تعاملت مع أزمة في العمل. فجأة ، شعرت بألم ساحق في الصدر امتد إلى ذراعي إلى أعلى في فكي.

بشكل غريزي ، تركت الطريق السريع ، وتحولت إلى متجر صغير ، واشتريت قرصًا من الأسبرين ، ومضغه ، ونظرت إلى كاتب المتجر وقلت ، "من فضلك اتصل برقم 911. أعاني من نوبة قلبية."

في غضون ثوان ، تدخل المارة الذين بدا أنهم يعرفون أيضًا ما يجب عليهم فعله لإبقائي هادئًا. حتى أن أحدهم اتصل بأسرتي. سرعان ما وصل المستجيبون الأوائل. عمل EMS والنار معًا بسلاسة للحصول على أفضل رعاية للقلب في المدينة بأمان من خلال الازدحام المروري. بعد أقل من ساعة كنت في معمل قسطرة. على الرغم من إصابتي بنوبة قلبية فاجأت الجميع ، إلا أنني عدت إلى المنزل مع عائلتي بعد ثلاثة أيام.

بعد خوفي الصحي ، بدأت أتساءل عما قد تكون تجربتي إذا كنت بدلاً من ألم الصدر ، كنت انتحارًا ، أو أعاني من الذهان أو جرعة زائدة من المخدرات. يمكن التنبؤ بالاستجابة لألم الصدر بغض النظر عن المكان الذي تعيش فيه. نحن نطالب به. ليس هذا هو الحال بالنسبة لحالات الطوارئ الصحية السلوكية ، والتي يمكن أن تكون قاتلة أيضًا.

بدون أنظمة أزمات صحية سلوكية منسقة ، يجب أن تعتمد المجتمعات على النظام المصمم لحالات الطوارئ الطبية. غالبًا ما ينتج عن الاتصال برقم 911 لحالة طوارئ الصحة العقلية مشاركة جهات إنفاذ القانون أو رحلة إلى أقرب قسم طوارئ. بشكل عام ، يعاني المرضى من فترات انتظار طويلة للحصول على سرير للأمراض النفسية كان من الممكن منعه إذا كان بإمكان الفرد الوصول إلى رعاية فورية من خط ساخن ، أو في منزله من فريق أزمات متنقل أو في مركز استقبال عاجل مصمم خصيصًا لتلبية احتياجاتهم.

من المؤكد أن 911 هي خدمة منقذة للحياة للأشخاص الذين يعانون من مشكلات صحية بدنية طارئة. ومع ذلك ، لم نحصل على هذه الخدمة المهمة بنفس القدر لأولئك الذين يعانون من مشاكل الصحة العقلية ، والتي ترتبط ارتباطًا جوهريًا بصحة الشخص ككل. حتى الآن.

قادمًا في يوليو 2022 ، سيتم إطلاق رقم مكون من ثلاثة أرقام على مستوى البلاد لحالات الطوارئ الصحية السلوكية ، 988. للتحضير لذلك ، يجب أن تكون الدول مستعدة لتنفيذ نظام رعاية شامل وتعاوني. إنها مهمة ضخمة تتطلب التعاون والتعاضد والتواصل بين أصحاب المصلحة في كل من القطاعين العام والخاص. تعد الشراكات العامة / الخاصة الفعالة بين الدول وكيانات إدارة الرعاية أساسية لضمان وجود البنية التحتية المناسبة ، وتحسين تدفقات التمويل ، والاستفادة من الموارد المحلية بشكل صحيح لتوفير الرعاية لجميع الناس.

تعد Beacon Health Options في طليعة نظام الأزمات على مستوى البلاد ، حيث تعمل بشكل وثيق مع الدول لتقييم البنية التحتية الحالية ، والاستفادة من الموارد الحالية ، وتقديم إرشادات حول كيفية سد الثغرات في الخدمة - وتمويل جديلة للحصول على مدفوعاتها بالكامل. لمعرفة المزيد ، انضم إلينا في NATCON22 يوم الثلاثاء 12 أبريل في الجلسة D15: حياكة شبكة أمان: إنقاذ الأرواح من خلال الشراكات العامة / الخاصة. سجل الان.


لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

رابط علوي
arالعربية

[Skip to Content]

Increasing access to behavioral health care through public / private partnerships

By Wendy Martinez Farmer, Beacon Crisis Leader

Nine years ago, I was driving home during Atlanta rush hour concerned I would not make it in time to pick up my 2-year-old from daycare. Traffic was heavy and I was already running late after handling a crisis at work. Suddenly, I felt crushing chest pain that radiated down both arms and up into my jaw.

Instinctively I pulled off the highway, turned into a convenience store, bought an aspirin, chewed it and looked at the store clerk and said, “Please call 911. I am having a heart attack.”

Within seconds, bystanders who also seemed to know what to do stepped in to keep me calm. One of them even contacted my family. First responders soon arrived. EMS and fire worked together seamlessly to get me safely through gridlocked traffic to the best cardiac care in the city. Less than an hour later I was in a cath lab. Despite indeed having a heart attack that surprised everyone, I was home with my family three days later.

After my health scare, I started to wonder what my experience may have been if instead of chest pain, I was suicidal, experiencing psychosis or a drug overdose. The response to chest pain is predictable no matter where you live. We demand it. This is not the case for behavioral health emergencies, which can also be fatal.

Without coordinated behavioral health crisis systems, communities must rely on the system designed for medical emergencies. A call to 911 for a mental health emergency often results in law enforcement involvement or a trip to the nearest emergency department. Commonly, patients experience long waits for a psychiatric bed that might have been prevented if the individual could have accessed immediate care from a hotline, in their own home from a mobile crisis team or in an urgent walk-in center specifically designed for their needs.

To be sure, 911 is a life-saving service for people with emergency physical health issues. However, we haven’t had this equally important service for those with mental health issues, which are intrinsically linked to a person’s whole health. Until now.

Coming in July 2022, a nationwide three-digit number for behavioral health emergencies, 988, will launch. To prepare for that, states need to be ready to implement a comprehensive and collaborative system of care. It’s a massive undertaking that requires cooperation, collaboration and communication between stakeholders in both the public and private sectors. Effective public / private partnerships between states and care management entities are key to ensuring that the right infrastructure is in place, funding streams are optimized and local resources are properly leveraged to provide care for all people.

Beacon Health Options is at the forefront of the nationwide crisis system, working closely with states to evaluate existing infrastructure, leverage existing resources, provide guidance on how to fill gaps in service – and braid funding to get it all paid for. To learn more, join us at NATCON22 on Tuesday, April 12 at session D15: Knitting a Safety Net: Saving Lives through Public/Private Partnerships. Register now.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish