[跳至内容]

一次改进一种算法的健康公平性

医疗保健行业经常使用数据和算法来识别可能从专业护理管理中受益的人群。利用算法的数据驱动程序可以改善疾病管理、健康结果并降低护理成本。在获得护理方面,它们还有可能消除人类决策中的偏见。 

但是当算法本身有偏见时会发生什么?最近的研究表明,医疗保健中的算法[1] 和其他领域[2] 由于系统性种族主义,可能会对某些人群表现出偏见,这反映在用于构建这些基于计算机的计算的数据中。例如,在医疗保健领域,有关成本和护理利用率的数据通常被视为问题严重程度的指标。然而,研究表明,尽管健康状况相似,但黑人、土著和有色人种 (BIPOC) 的医疗保健消费率通常低于非西班牙裔白人。[3] 在这个例子中,过度依赖利用率或基于成本的指标可能会因对 BIPOC 人群的健康问题认识不足而使偏见长期存在。

最近,Beacon Health Options 和康涅狄格州行为健康伙伴关系 (CT BHP) 开始了一个为期 14 个月的项目,旨在通过提供住房支持和获得国家资助的住房券来改善无家可归的 Medicaid 接受者的健康和福祉。他们的第一个算法解决方案经过测试,并揭示了一个偏见,即参与康涅狄格州住房参与和支持服务 (CHESS) 计划的西班牙裔个人选择不足。由分析和创新高级副总裁 Robert Plant 博士和健康研究科学家 Krista Noam 博士领导的 Beacon 团队随后着手开发一种新算法来减轻和提高公平性。

CHESS 的初始算法利用了住院时间和其他利用率指标的数据。 Beacon 发现该算法过度选择了非西班牙裔白人,而未充分选择具有西班牙裔血统的人。当包括成本节约在内时,偏差变得更大。 

为了提高公平性,我们的数据科学家将注意力转移到基于诊断的合并症指数上,该指数用于预测谁最有可能在来年患重病或死亡。这种方法显着减少了偏差,但还不够。 Beacon 发现西班牙裔美国人仍然不太可能被选入计划,这表明需要对算法进行其他调整。

为了确保通过算法选择的人口更接近无家可归的总人口,包括了成员一生中在避难所度过的天数。利用这种方法,Drs。 Plant and Noam found that the ethnic/racial composition of the members passing the algorithm more closely resembled the total population when those who spent more days in a shelter throughout their life were selected.

Beacon 与 CT BHP 的合作正在进行中,这只是我们为改善弱势群体的公平所取得的进展的一个例子。要了解有关 Drs 的更多信息。 Plant 和 Noam 成功消除算法中的偏见,包括有用的注意事项和注意事项,他们计划在全国心理健康委员会全国会议上参加他们的海报会议, NATCON 2022,于 4 月 11 日星期一在华盛顿特区举行。他们的会议将包括:

  • 关于算法中存在偏见的简短文献综述
  • 通常用于识别可能会引入偏见的特殊人群的指标
  • 如何测试算法中的偏差
  • 与某些可能被视为歧视性的偏见缓解方法相关的风险
  • 纳入健康的社会决定因素指标如何有助于减轻偏见
  • 现实世界中放大和减轻客户或成员选择偏差的算法示例

[1] Obermeyer et al., Science 366, 447–453 (2019) 在用于管理人群健康的算法中剖析种族偏见

[2] 纽约时报 2020 年 12 月 7 日——即使是不完美的算法也可以改善刑事司法系统,以及 2020 年 2 月 7 日——一种赋予自由或剥夺自由的算法

[3] 从加载 HMIS 数据的当月开始,索赔被取消了一年,允许四个月的差距。无论会员在那一年有资格获得医疗补助的天数如何,都会提取数据。


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Improving health equity one algorithm at a time

Data and algorithms are frequently used in the healthcare industry to identify populations that may benefit from specialty care management. Data driven programs that utilize algorithms can improve disease management, health outcomes and reduce the cost of care. They also have the potential to remove bias from human decision making when it comes to accessing care. 

But what happens when the algorithm itself is biased? Recent research has shown that algorithms in healthcare[1] and other fields[2] can show bias against certain populations due to systemic racism that is reflected in the data used to construct these computer-based calculations. In healthcare for example, data on cost and utilization of care is often relied upon as an indicator of problem severity. However, studies show that Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) typically consume healthcare at lower rates than non-Hispanic Whites despite having similar health status.[3] In this example, over-reliance on utilization or cost-based indicators can perpetuate bias by under-recognizing health issues in BIPOC populations.

Recently, Beacon Health Options and the Connecticut Behavioral Health Partnership (CT BHP) embarked on a 14-month project aimed at improving the health and wellbeing of homeless Medicaid recipients by providing housing supports and access to state funded housing vouchers. Their first algorithm solution was tested and revealed a bias that would have under-selected individuals with Hispanic ethnicity for participation in the Connecticut Housing Engagement and Support Services (CHESS) program. The Beacon team, led by SVP of Analytics and Innovation Dr. Robert Plant and Health Research Scientist Dr. Krista Noam then set out to develop a new algorithm to mitigate and improve equity.

The initial algorithm for CHESS utilized data on inpatient hospital stays and other utilization indicators. Beacon found that this algorithm over-selected non-Hispanic Whites and under-selected people with Hispanic heritage. The bias grew even larger when cost savings were included. 

To improve equity, our data scientists shifted their focus to a diagnosis-based comorbidity index, which is used to predict who is most likely to become seriously ill or die in the coming year. This approach reduced bias significantly but not quite enough. Beacon found that Hispanics were still significantly less likely to be selected for program inclusion, indicating that other adjustments to the algorithm were needed.

To ensure that the population selected through the algorithm more closely resembled the total population experiencing homelessness, the number of days a member had spent in shelter throughout their life was included. Utilizing this approach, Drs. Plant and Noam found that the ethnic/racial composition of the members passing the algorithm more closely resembled the total population when those who spent more days in a shelter throughout their life were selected.

Beacon’s work with the CT BHP is ongoing, and just one example of the strides we are making to improve equity for vulnerable populations. To learn more about Drs. Plant and Noam’s work on successfully removing bias from algorithms, including helpful dos and don’ts, make plans to attend their poster session at the national conference for the National Council for Mental Wellbeing, NATCON 2022, in Washington, D.C. on Monday, April 11. Their session will include:

  • A brief literature review speaking to the presence of bias in algorithms
  • Metrics commonly used to identify specialty populations that may be subject to introducing bias
  • How to test for bias in algorithms
  • Risks associated with certain methods of bias mitigation that could be viewed as discriminatory
  • How incorporating indicators of social determinants of health can help to mitigate bias
  • Real world examples of algorithms that magnify and mitigate bias in client or member selection

[1] Obermeyer et al., Science 366, 447–453 (2019) Dissecting racial bias in an algorithm used to manage the health of populations

[2] NY Times December 7, 2020 – Even Imperfect Algorithms Can Improve the Criminal Justice System, and February 7, 2020 – An Algorithm That Grants Freedom, or Takes It Away

[3] Claims were pulled for one year, allowing for a four-month gap, starting from the month the HMIS data was loaded. Data was pulled regardless of the number of days the member had been eligible for Medicaid during that year.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish