[تخطى الى المحتوى]

تحسين العدالة الصحية خوارزمية واحدة في كل مرة

تُستخدم البيانات والخوارزميات بشكل متكرر في صناعة الرعاية الصحية لتحديد السكان الذين قد يستفيدون من إدارة الرعاية المتخصصة. يمكن للبرامج القائمة على البيانات التي تستخدم الخوارزميات تحسين إدارة المرض والنتائج الصحية وتقليل تكلفة الرعاية. لديهم أيضًا القدرة على إزالة التحيز من صنع القرار البشري عندما يتعلق الأمر بالحصول على الرعاية. 

ولكن ماذا يحدث عندما تكون الخوارزمية نفسها متحيزة؟ أظهرت الأبحاث الحديثة أن الخوارزميات في الرعاية الصحية[1] وغيرها من المجالات[2] يمكن أن يُظهر تحيزًا ضد مجموعات سكانية معينة بسبب العنصرية النظامية التي تنعكس في البيانات المستخدمة لإنشاء هذه الحسابات المستندة إلى الكمبيوتر. في الرعاية الصحية على سبيل المثال ، غالبًا ما يُعتمد على البيانات المتعلقة بالتكلفة والاستفادة من الرعاية كمؤشر على شدة المشكلة. ومع ذلك ، تظهر الدراسات أن السود ، والسكان الأصليين ، والأشخاص الملونين (BIPOC) يستهلكون عادة الرعاية الصحية بمعدلات أقل من البيض غير اللاتينيين على الرغم من وجود حالة صحية مماثلة.[3] في هذا المثال ، يمكن أن يؤدي الاعتماد المفرط على الاستخدام أو المؤشرات المستندة إلى التكلفة إلى استمرار التحيز من خلال عدم الاعتراف بالقضايا الصحية في مجموعات BIPOC.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، شرعت Beacon Health Options و Connecticut Behavioral Health Partnership (CT BHP) في مشروع مدته 14 شهرًا يهدف إلى تحسين صحة ورفاهية متلقي Medicaid المشردين من خلال توفير دعم الإسكان والوصول إلى قسائم الإسكان الممولة من الدولة. تم اختبار حل الخوارزمية الأول الخاص بهم وكشف عن تحيز من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى عدم اختيار أفراد من أصل إسباني للمشاركة في برنامج خدمات دعم الإسكان والمشاركة في كونيتيكت (CHESS). شرع فريق Beacon ، بقيادة نائب الرئيس الأول للتحليلات والابتكار ، الدكتور روبرت بلانت وعالمة الأبحاث الصحية الدكتورة كريستا نعوم ، في تطوير خوارزمية جديدة للتخفيف من الإنصاف وتحسينه.

استخدمت الخوارزمية الأولية لـ CHESS بيانات عن الإقامة في المستشفى ومؤشرات الاستخدام الأخرى. وجدت منارة أن هذه الخوارزمية انتقيت أكثر من اللازم من البيض غير اللاتينيين والأشخاص الذين تم اختيارهم بشكل ناقص من ذوي الأصول الأسبانية. نما التحيز بشكل أكبر عندما تم تضمين وفورات التكلفة. 

لتحسين الإنصاف ، حوّل علماء البيانات لدينا تركيزهم إلى مؤشر الاعتلال المشترك القائم على التشخيص ، والذي يستخدم للتنبؤ بالأشخاص الأكثر عرضة للإصابة بمرض خطير أو الوفاة في العام المقبل. قلل هذا النهج التحيز بشكل كبير ولكن ليس بدرجة كافية. وجدت منارة أن الأشخاص ذوي الأصول الأسبانية لا يزالون أقل احتمالية لأن يتم اختيارهم لإدراج البرنامج ، مما يشير إلى الحاجة إلى تعديلات أخرى على الخوارزمية.

للتأكد من أن السكان الذين تم اختيارهم من خلال الخوارزمية يشبهون إلى حد كبير إجمالي السكان الذين يعانون من التشرد ، تم تضمين عدد الأيام التي قضاها العضو في المأوى طوال حياته. باستخدام هذا النهج ، د. وجد بلانت ونعوم أن التركيب العرقي / العرقي للأعضاء الذين يجتازون الخوارزمية يشبه إلى حد كبير إجمالي السكان عندما تم اختيار أولئك الذين أمضوا أيامًا أكثر في الملجأ طوال حياتهم.

إن عمل Beacon مع CT BHP مستمر ، وهو مجرد مثال واحد على الخطوات التي نتخذها لتحسين المساواة بين الفئات السكانية الضعيفة. لمعرفة المزيد عن د. عمل بلانت ونعوم على إزالة التحيز بنجاح من الخوارزميات ، بما في ذلك ما يجب فعله وما يجب تجنبه ، ووضع خطط لحضور جلسة الملصقات في المؤتمر الوطني للمجلس الوطني للرفاهية العقلية ، ناتكون 2022، في واشنطن العاصمة يوم الاثنين 11 أبريل. وستتضمن جلستهم ما يلي:

  • مراجعة مختصرة للأدبيات تتحدث عن وجود تحيز في الخوارزميات
  • المقاييس المستخدمة بشكل شائع لتحديد المجموعات السكانية المتخصصة التي قد تكون عرضة لإدخال التحيز
  • كيفية اختبار التحيز في الخوارزميات
  • المخاطر المرتبطة بأساليب معينة لتخفيف التحيز يمكن اعتبارها تمييزية
  • كيف يمكن لدمج مؤشرات المحددات الاجتماعية للصحة أن يساعد في التخفيف من التحيز
  • أمثلة من العالم الحقيقي للخوارزميات التي تضخم وتحد من التحيز في اختيار العميل أو العضو

[1] Obermeyer et al.، Science 366، 447–453 (2019) تشريح التحيز العنصري في خوارزمية تُستخدم لإدارة صحة السكان

[2] نيويورك تايمز ، 7 كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 2020 - حتى الخوارزميات غير الكاملة يمكنها تحسين نظام العدالة الجنائية ، و 7 فبراير 2020 - خوارزمية تمنح الحرية أو تبتعد عنها

[3] تم سحب المطالبات لمدة عام واحد ، مما سمح بفجوة لمدة أربعة أشهر ، بدءًا من الشهر الذي تم فيه تحميل بيانات HMIS. تم سحب البيانات بغض النظر عن عدد الأيام التي كان فيها العضو مؤهلاً للحصول على برنامج Medicaid خلال تلك السنة.


لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

رابط علوي
arالعربية

[Skip to Content]

Improving health equity one algorithm at a time

Data and algorithms are frequently used in the healthcare industry to identify populations that may benefit from specialty care management. Data driven programs that utilize algorithms can improve disease management, health outcomes and reduce the cost of care. They also have the potential to remove bias from human decision making when it comes to accessing care. 

But what happens when the algorithm itself is biased? Recent research has shown that algorithms in healthcare[1] and other fields[2] can show bias against certain populations due to systemic racism that is reflected in the data used to construct these computer-based calculations. In healthcare for example, data on cost and utilization of care is often relied upon as an indicator of problem severity. However, studies show that Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) typically consume healthcare at lower rates than non-Hispanic Whites despite having similar health status.[3] In this example, over-reliance on utilization or cost-based indicators can perpetuate bias by under-recognizing health issues in BIPOC populations.

Recently, Beacon Health Options and the Connecticut Behavioral Health Partnership (CT BHP) embarked on a 14-month project aimed at improving the health and wellbeing of homeless Medicaid recipients by providing housing supports and access to state funded housing vouchers. Their first algorithm solution was tested and revealed a bias that would have under-selected individuals with Hispanic ethnicity for participation in the Connecticut Housing Engagement and Support Services (CHESS) program. The Beacon team, led by SVP of Analytics and Innovation Dr. Robert Plant and Health Research Scientist Dr. Krista Noam then set out to develop a new algorithm to mitigate and improve equity.

The initial algorithm for CHESS utilized data on inpatient hospital stays and other utilization indicators. Beacon found that this algorithm over-selected non-Hispanic Whites and under-selected people with Hispanic heritage. The bias grew even larger when cost savings were included. 

To improve equity, our data scientists shifted their focus to a diagnosis-based comorbidity index, which is used to predict who is most likely to become seriously ill or die in the coming year. This approach reduced bias significantly but not quite enough. Beacon found that Hispanics were still significantly less likely to be selected for program inclusion, indicating that other adjustments to the algorithm were needed.

To ensure that the population selected through the algorithm more closely resembled the total population experiencing homelessness, the number of days a member had spent in shelter throughout their life was included. Utilizing this approach, Drs. Plant and Noam found that the ethnic/racial composition of the members passing the algorithm more closely resembled the total population when those who spent more days in a shelter throughout their life were selected.

Beacon’s work with the CT BHP is ongoing, and just one example of the strides we are making to improve equity for vulnerable populations. To learn more about Drs. Plant and Noam’s work on successfully removing bias from algorithms, including helpful dos and don’ts, make plans to attend their poster session at the national conference for the National Council for Mental Wellbeing, NATCON 2022, in Washington, D.C. on Monday, April 11. Their session will include:

  • A brief literature review speaking to the presence of bias in algorithms
  • Metrics commonly used to identify specialty populations that may be subject to introducing bias
  • How to test for bias in algorithms
  • Risks associated with certain methods of bias mitigation that could be viewed as discriminatory
  • How incorporating indicators of social determinants of health can help to mitigate bias
  • Real world examples of algorithms that magnify and mitigate bias in client or member selection

[1] Obermeyer et al., Science 366, 447–453 (2019) Dissecting racial bias in an algorithm used to manage the health of populations

[2] NY Times December 7, 2020 – Even Imperfect Algorithms Can Improve the Criminal Justice System, and February 7, 2020 – An Algorithm That Grants Freedom, or Takes It Away

[3] Claims were pulled for one year, allowing for a four-month gap, starting from the month the HMIS data was loaded. Data was pulled regardless of the number of days the member had been eligible for Medicaid during that year.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish