[Перейти к содержанию]

Медицинские работники: у вас есть возможность справиться с COVID-19

Тревога и страх, вызванные пандемией COVID-19, могут быть серьезными, и нигде это не проявляется так ярко, как в случае с передовыми медицинскими работниками. Работая много часов в нестандартных условиях с пациентами, которые часто очень больны и очень заразны, они опасаются за свое личное здоровье и здоровье своих семей. Многие чувствуют себя разочарованными системой в целом из-за недостаточной подготовки к пандемии, включая надлежащее снабжение самой элементарной линией защиты - средствами индивидуальной защиты.

Задокументированные опасения медицинских работников реальны. Стресс - это физиологическая реакция. Нейрохимические гормоны наполняют мозг и тело, чтобы подготовить нас к борьбе или бегству во время стресса, объясняет психолог Сьюзан Дж. Мекка, доктор философии и автор книги «Дар кризиса: найти себя с лучшей стороны в наихудшие времена». Более того, воздействие этих химикатов не исчезает сразу; их эффекты могут длиться дни или недели. Кратковременные эффекты могут включать изменения в пищевых привычках, трудности со сном или раздражительность. По словам доктора Мекки, долгосрочные эффекты могут включать чрезмерную эмоциональную активность, депрессию, беспокойство, плохую концентрацию и многое другое.

Данные подтверждают реальность стресса среди медицинских работников. В одно исследование Во время острой вспышки атипичной пневмонии 89 процентов медицинских работников, находящихся в стрессовых ситуациях, сообщили о психологических проблемах.

Практические шаги, чтобы пройти через это

В дополнение к хорошему здоровью и гигиеническим привычкам, ниже приведены шаги, которые доктор Мекка предлагает медицинским работникам, чтобы помочь им ориентироваться в это чрезвычайно напряженное время.

1. Создавайте ритуалы, чтобы укрепить границы между работой и домом. Доктор Мекка говорит, что для людей важно найти способ отпустить рабочий день после того, как они уйдут. Примеры из реальной жизни включают выход из больничной скрабы и принятие душа. Некоторые люди останавливаются в парке возле своего дома, чтобы расслабиться и расслабиться, чтобы избавиться от тяжелого дня. Медитация или молитва, особенно ночью или в другое определенное время, могут помочь людям отпустить день. Другая тактика - создать время, когда вы позволяете себе думать о своих пациентах, когда они не на работе, но устанавливаете ограничения, чтобы у вас было время «простоя». Например, вы можете позволить себе думать о своей смене во время поездки домой, но затем переключить свое внимание, когда поездка закончится.

2. Участвуйте в позитивном разговоре с самим собой, благодарности и сострадании к себе. Помните о своих естественных навыках ухода за ребенком и о том, что вы знаете, к кому обратиться, когда вам понадобится помощь в решении конкретной проблемы. Кроме того, активно сосредотачивайтесь на вещах, за которые вы благодарны. Благодарность помогает людям сосредоточиться на положительных аспектах своей жизни, а не на трудных, которые, как объясняет доктор Мекка, «просто хотят остаться в вашем мозгу». Сострадайте к себе, если вы чувствуете, что не проявили себя наилучшим образом. Слишком много самооценки может подпитывать негативное мышление.

3. Подключитесь к сообществу поддержки и найдите «качественное» время. Сейчас не время быть одному. Подумайте, что вам нужно от людей, чтобы помочь вам в эти трудные времена. Затем набирайте, формируйте и поддерживайте сообщество поддержки, в которое входят коллеги, друзья и семья. В наше время социального дистанцирования это может означать виртуальные перерывы на кофе и другие виртуальные социальные встречи, или телефонные звонки FaceTime и собрания Zoom. Это могут быть онлайн-игры, например, игра в скрэббл. Здесь «качество» означает время, которое запланировано с семьей и друзьями, когда вы не обсуждаете пандемию. Это еще один способ установить границы.

4. Установите приоритеты. Отпустите задачи, которые не являются критическими, или отдайте их на аутсорсинг. Сосредоточьтесь только на том, что абсолютно необходимо, и используйте все остальное время для ухода за собой.

5. Будьте намеренными, когда имеете дело с неизвестным. Важно понимать, что вы можете контролировать, а что нет. В конечном итоге вы контролируете себя. «Вы можете решить, кем вы будете в это кризисное время», - говорит доктор Мекка. «Когда у вас есть это, у вас есть траектория полета». Кроме того, составьте список проблем, с которыми вы сталкиваетесь, и обведите в кружок то, что вы можете контролировать. Определите шаги, которые вы можете предпринять, чтобы добиться этого контроля. Отпустите те, на которые вы не можете повлиять лично.

Во время этой пандемии мы поддерживаем наших медицинских работников, чтобы они были как можно лучше, побуждая их заботиться о себе - физически, психологически и эмоционально. Beacon Health Options - это #CaringthroughCovid.


Нет комментариев

Добавить комментарий

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован. Необходимые поля отмечены *
Комментарии, которые неуместны и / или не относятся к рассматриваемой теме, не будут опубликованы.

Верхняя ссылка
ru_RUРусский

Healthcare workers: You have the power to manage COVID-19

The anxiety and fear resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic can be profound, and nowhere is that more evident than with frontline healthcare workers. Working long hours in substandard conditions with patients who are often very ill and highly contagious, they fear for their personal health and that of their families. Many feel let down by the system at-large due to a lack of pandemic preparation, including a proper supply of the most elemental line of defense – personal protective equipment.

The documented concerns of healthcare workers is real. Stress is a physiological reaction. Neurochemical hormones flood the brain and body to prepare us for fight or flight during times of stress, explains psychologist Susan J. Mecca, PhD, and author of “The Gift of Crisis: Finding Your Best Self in the Worst of Times”. Further, these chemicals’ impact doesn’t immediately dissipate; their effects can last for days or weeks. Short-term effects can include changes in eating habits, sleep difficulties, or irritability. Long-term effects can include emotional over-reactivity, depression, anxiety, poor concentration and more, according to Dr. Mecca.

Data bear out the reality of stress among healthcare workers. In one study during an acute outbreak of SARS, 89 percent of healthcare workers in stressful situations reported having psychological problems.

Practical steps to getting through it

In addition to good health and hygiene habits, below are steps Dr. Mecca suggests that healthcare workers take to help them navigate this extraordinarily stressful time.

1. Create rituals to strengthen the boundaries between work and home. Dr. Mecca says that it’s important for people to find a way to let the workday go once they leave. Real-life examples include getting out of hospital scrubs and taking a shower. Some people will stop at a park near their house, to decompress and unwind, as part of letting go of a difficult day. Meditating or praying, especially at night or other specified times, can help people let the day go. Another tactic is to create a time when you let yourself think about your patients when not at work, but set limits so that you can have some ‘down time.’ For example, you might let yourself think about your shift during your commute home but then shift your attention when your commute ends.

2. Engage in positive self-talk, gratitude and self-compassion. Remember your natural skills for caregiving and that you know who to contact when you need help with a particular problem. Also, actively focus on things for which you are grateful. Gratitude helps people focus on the positive aspects of their lives rather than on the difficult ones, which as Dr. Mecca explains, “just want to stick in your brain”. Have compassion for yourself when you feel you haven’t performed at your best. Too much self-judgment can fuel negative thinking.

3. Tap into a community of support and create “quality” time. This is no time to be alone. Think about what you need from people to help you through these tough times. Then recruit, shape and maintain a support community that includes colleagues, friends and family. In these times of social distancing, that can mean virtual coffee breaks and other virtual social gatherings, or FaceTime phone calls and Zoom meetings. It can be playing online games, such as an ongoing Scrabble game. Here “quality” means time that is planned with family and friends when you don’t discuss the pandemic. It’s another way of setting boundaries.

4. Set priorities. Let go of or outsource the tasks that aren’t critical. Focus only on what is absolutely necessary and use any other available time for self-care.

5. Get intentional when dealing with the unknown. It’s important to recognize what you can and cannot control. Ultimately, you control you. “You can decide who you’re going to be in this time of crisis,” says Dr. Mecca. “Once you have that, you have a flight path.” Also, write down a list of the challenges you’re facing and circle the things you can control. Figure out the steps you can take to make that control happen. Let go of the ones you can’t personally impact.

During this pandemic, we support our healthcare workers to be the best they can be by urging them to take care of themselves – physically, psychologically and emotionally. Beacon Health Options is #CaringthroughCovid.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

en_USEnglish
nl_NLNederlands es_ESEspañol fr_FRFrançais it_ITItaliano de_DEDeutsch pl_PLPolski pt_PTPortuguês tlTagalog viTiếng Việt ru_RUРусский hyՀայերեն arالعربية fa_IRفارسی bn_BDবাংলা pa_INਪੰਜਾਬੀ ko_KR한국어 ja日本語 zh_CN简体中文 en_USEnglish