[跳至内容]

股权领导峰会带来热情和政策建议

“我看到了一个未来,每个需要精神保健的人都能得到它。我们必须结束对心理健康和成瘾的单独和不平等待遇,并确保我们每个人都能过上充实、有意义的生活。”

~ 尊敬的帕特里克·肯尼迪 (Patrick J. Kennedy),前美国代表和肯尼迪论坛创始人。

最近,988——全国新的自杀预防和危机护理号码——上线了。自杀和危机生命线有机会在获得心理健康服务方面改变游戏规则。它代表了各级行为健康保健治疗的切入点,可用于预防自杀之外的更多方面。 988 可以在有人感到自己处于危机或情绪困扰的任何时候使用。此外,预计将减少不必要的急诊就诊,减少不必要的执法参与,最重要的是,挽救生命。

虽然是该领域的一个重要里程碑,但仅靠 988 是不够的。它只是迈向重要的系统性变革的第一步,以确保所有美国人的行为健康公平。 “除了健康公平的结构性和制度性障碍外,我们的危机应对系统中的不公平现象长期以来一直被忽视,并给许多人带来更多伤害和创伤,其中包括我们的医疗保健系统历来无法触及的许多人群,”执行董事丹尼尔·道斯 (Daniel Dawes) 说,莫尔豪斯医学院萨彻健康领导研究所。

最近, 信标健康选项Kennedy-Satcher 心理健康公平中心 (KSCMHE) 联手举办了一次虚拟领导力峰会,讨论将公平纳入新的 988 自杀预防和危机热线的重要性。此次峰会汇集了来自心理健康、公共政策和立法等各个领域的领导人,为深入研究关于公平危机应对系统的研究和政策建议提供了机会。

参与者中有前美国外科医生 大卫萨彻,谁开始了小组讨论,尊敬的 帕特里克·J·肯尼迪,前国会议员和地标的主要赞助商 心理健康平等和成瘾公平法,以及来自的代表 萨姆哈萨,药物滥用和精神健康服务管理局。

“988 代表......机会来纠正来自没有能力处理心理健康危机的刑事司法系统的不公正反应...... [和]......解决拥有文化能力......危机响应者的整个想法......看起来像社区的社区他们正在回应,”帕特里克·肯尼迪说。

代表 Beacon,危机领导者 琳达·亨德森-史密斯博士 提供了关于公平在心理健康中的重要性以及它如何影响最弱势群体的真实观点。她说:“接触能够以文化上胜任的方式缓和危机局势的临床医生和同行可以帮助消除精神卫生系统的污名化,并对改变应对方式产生重大影响。”

Beacon 为我们与 KSCMHE 的合作感到自豪,并且同样为成为行为健康公平领域的领导者而感到自豪。 “我要感谢 Anthem [现在的 Elevance Health] 和 Beacon 再次挺身而出,”帕特里克·肯尼迪 (Patrick Kennedy) 说。我们将继续致力于行为健康公平,并帮助所有美国人充分发挥他们的生活潜力。

通过以下方式了解更多关于将股权嵌入 988 的信息 观看我们预先录制的领导力峰会 或收听我们的播客, 988 适合所有人:在新的心理健康热线内, 上 与安迪·斯拉维特在泡沫中柠檬水媒体.


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Equity leadership summit brings passion – and policy recommendations – to the table

“I see a future where everyone who needs mental health care gets it. We must end the separate and unequal treatment of mental health and addiction and ensure each of us is able to achieve a full, meaningful life.”

~ The Honorable Patrick J. Kennedy, Former U.S. Representative and Founder of the Kennedy Forum.

Recently, 988 – the new nationwide number for suicide prevention and crisis care – went live. The Suicide and Crisis Lifeline has the opportunity to change the game when it comes to accessing mental health services. It represents an entry point to treatment for all levels of behavioral health care and can be used for much more than suicide prevention. 988 can be used anytime someone feels that they are in crisis or emotional distress. Additionally, it is expected to reduce unnecessary emergency department visits, reduce unnecessary law enforcement involvement, and, most importantly, save lives.

While an important milestone in the field, 988 on its own is not enough. It represents only a first step toward important systemic changes that ensure behavioral health equity for all Americans. “Along with structural and institutional barriers to health equity, inequity in our crisis response system has long been neglected and resulted in more harm and trauma for many, including many populations historically underreached by our health care system,” said Daniel Dawes, Executive Director, Satcher Health Leadership Institute at Morehouse School of Medicine.

Recently, Beacon Health Options and the Kennedy-Satcher Center for Mental Health Equity (KSCMHE) teamed up to host a virtual leadership summit to discuss the importance of embedding equity into the new 988 suicide prevention and crisis line. Bringing together leaders from the full spectrum of mental health, public policy, and lawmaking, the summit provided an opportunity for a deep-dive into research and policy recommendations on equitable crisis response systems.

Among the participants were former United States Surgeon General David Satcher, who kicked off the panel discussion, the Honorable Patrick J. Kennedy, former congressman and lead sponsor of the landmark Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act, and representatives from SAMHSA, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

“988 represents…opportunities to both correct the unjust response from a criminal justice system that is not equipped to deal with a mental health crisis…[and]…address the whole idea of having a culturally competent…crisis responder who looks like the community that they’re responding to,” said Patrick Kennedy.

Representing Beacon, crisis leader Dr. Linda Henderson-Smith provided a real-world perspective on the importance of equity in mental health and how it stands to impact the most vulnerable. “Access to clinicians and peers that can de-escalate crisis situations in a culturally competent manner can help destigmatize the mental health system and can have a major impact on changing the response,” she said.

Beacon is proud of our partnership with KSCMHE, and equally proud to be a leader in the behavioral health equity space. “I want to thank Anthem [now Elevance Health] and Beacon for, again, stepping up,” said Patrick Kennedy. We remain committed to behavioral health equity and helping all Americans live their lives to the fullest potential.

Hear more about embedding equity into 988 by watching our pre-recorded leadership summit or listening to our podcast, 988 Is for Everyone: Inside the New Mental Health Hotline, on In the Bubble with Andy Slavitt from Lemonada Media.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish