[تخطى الى المحتوى]

قمة قيادة الإنصاف تجلب العاطفة - وتوصيات السياسة - إلى الطاولة

"أرى مستقبلاً يحصل فيه كل من يحتاج إلى رعاية صحية عقلية. يجب أن ننهي العلاج المنفصل وغير المتكافئ للصحة العقلية والإدمان وأن نضمن أن كل واحد منا قادر على تحقيق حياة كاملة وذات مغزى ".

~ المحترم باتريك ج. كينيدي ، الممثل الأمريكي السابق ومؤسس منتدى كينيدي.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، تم إطلاق 988 - الرقم الجديد على الصعيد الوطني لمنع الانتحار ورعاية الأزمات. لدى The Suicide and Crisis Lifeline فرصة لتغيير اللعبة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالوصول إلى خدمات الصحة العقلية. إنه يمثل نقطة دخول إلى العلاج لجميع مستويات الرعاية الصحية السلوكية ويمكن استخدامه لأكثر من مجرد منع الانتحار. يمكن استخدام 988 في أي وقت يشعر فيه شخص ما أنه في أزمة أو ضيق عاطفي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من المتوقع أن تقلل الزيارات غير الضرورية لقسم الطوارئ ، وتقليل المشاركة غير الضرورية لإنفاذ القانون ، والأهم من ذلك ، إنقاذ الأرواح.

في حين أن معلمًا مهمًا في هذا المجال ، فإن 988 بمفردها لا تكفي. إنه لا يمثل سوى خطوة أولى نحو تغييرات منهجية مهمة تضمن المساواة في الصحة السلوكية لجميع الأمريكيين. قال دانييل داوز ، المدير التنفيذي: "إلى جانب العوائق الهيكلية والمؤسسية التي تحول دون الإنصاف في مجال الصحة ، فإن عدم المساواة في نظام الاستجابة للأزمات لدينا تم إهماله منذ فترة طويلة ، مما أدى إلى مزيد من الأذى والصدمات للكثيرين ، بما في ذلك العديد من السكان الذين لم يتمكن نظام الرعاية الصحية لدينا من الوصول إليهم تاريخيًا". معهد ساتشر للقيادة الصحية في كلية مورهاوس للطب.

حديثاً، خيارات الصحة منارة و ال مركز كينيدي ساتشر لحقوق الصحة العقلية (KSCMHE) اجتمعوا معًا لاستضافة قمة افتراضية للقيادة لمناقشة أهمية دمج الإنصاف في خط 988 الجديد لمنع الانتحار والأزمات. جمعت القمة قادة من الطيف الكامل للصحة العقلية والسياسة العامة وسن القوانين ، وأتاحت القمة فرصة للتعمق في البحوث والتوصيات المتعلقة بالسياسات بشأن أنظمة الاستجابة للأزمات العادلة.

وكان من بين المشاركين الجراح العام السابق للولايات المتحدة ديفيد ساتشر، الذي بدأ حلقة النقاش ، المحترم باتريك ج.كينيدي، عضو الكونغرس السابق والراعي الرئيسي للمعلم قانون المساواة في الصحة العقلية والإدمان، وممثلين عن SAMHSA، إدارة خدمات إساءة استعمال المواد المخدرة والصحة العقلية.

"988 يمثل ... فرصًا لتصحيح الاستجابة غير العادلة من نظام العدالة الجنائية غير المجهز للتعامل مع أزمة الصحة العقلية ... [و] ... معالجة الفكرة الكاملة المتمثلة في وجود شخص مؤهل ثقافيًا ... مستجيب للأزمات يشبه المجتمع الذي قال باتريك كينيدي.

يمثل منارة ، زعيم الأزمة الدكتورة ليندا هندرسون سميث قدمت منظورًا واقعيًا حول أهمية الإنصاف في الصحة النفسية وكيف يمكن أن تؤثر على الفئات الأكثر ضعفًا. وقالت: "إن الوصول إلى الأطباء والأقران الذين يمكنهم تقليل تصعيد حالات الأزمات بطريقة مؤهلة ثقافيًا يمكن أن يساعد في إزالة وصمة العار عن نظام الصحة العقلية ويمكن أن يكون له تأثير كبير على تغيير الاستجابة".

تفخر شركة Beacon بشراكتنا مع KSCMHE ، وتفخر بنفس القدر بكونها رائدة في مجال المساواة في الصحة السلوكية. قال باتريك كينيدي: "أود أن أشكر Anthem [الآن Elibility Health] و Beacon ، مرة أخرى ، لتصعيدهما". نحن لا نزال ملتزمين بالمساواة في الصحة السلوكية ومساعدة جميع الأمريكيين على عيش حياتهم إلى أقصى إمكاناتهم.

تعرف على المزيد حول تضمين حقوق الملكية في 988 بواسطة مشاهدة قمة القيادة المسجلة مسبقًا أو الاستماع إلى البودكاست الخاص بنا ، 988 للجميع: داخل الخط الساخن للصحة العقلية الجديد، على في الفقاعة مع آندي سلافيت من ليمونادا ميديا.


لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

رابط علوي
arالعربية

[Skip to Content]

Equity leadership summit brings passion – and policy recommendations – to the table

“I see a future where everyone who needs mental health care gets it. We must end the separate and unequal treatment of mental health and addiction and ensure each of us is able to achieve a full, meaningful life.”

~ The Honorable Patrick J. Kennedy, Former U.S. Representative and Founder of the Kennedy Forum.

Recently, 988 – the new nationwide number for suicide prevention and crisis care – went live. The Suicide and Crisis Lifeline has the opportunity to change the game when it comes to accessing mental health services. It represents an entry point to treatment for all levels of behavioral health care and can be used for much more than suicide prevention. 988 can be used anytime someone feels that they are in crisis or emotional distress. Additionally, it is expected to reduce unnecessary emergency department visits, reduce unnecessary law enforcement involvement, and, most importantly, save lives.

While an important milestone in the field, 988 on its own is not enough. It represents only a first step toward important systemic changes that ensure behavioral health equity for all Americans. “Along with structural and institutional barriers to health equity, inequity in our crisis response system has long been neglected and resulted in more harm and trauma for many, including many populations historically underreached by our health care system,” said Daniel Dawes, Executive Director, Satcher Health Leadership Institute at Morehouse School of Medicine.

Recently, Beacon Health Options and the Kennedy-Satcher Center for Mental Health Equity (KSCMHE) teamed up to host a virtual leadership summit to discuss the importance of embedding equity into the new 988 suicide prevention and crisis line. Bringing together leaders from the full spectrum of mental health, public policy, and lawmaking, the summit provided an opportunity for a deep-dive into research and policy recommendations on equitable crisis response systems.

Among the participants were former United States Surgeon General David Satcher, who kicked off the panel discussion, the Honorable Patrick J. Kennedy, former congressman and lead sponsor of the landmark Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act, and representatives from SAMHSA, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

“988 represents…opportunities to both correct the unjust response from a criminal justice system that is not equipped to deal with a mental health crisis…[and]…address the whole idea of having a culturally competent…crisis responder who looks like the community that they’re responding to,” said Patrick Kennedy.

Representing Beacon, crisis leader Dr. Linda Henderson-Smith provided a real-world perspective on the importance of equity in mental health and how it stands to impact the most vulnerable. “Access to clinicians and peers that can de-escalate crisis situations in a culturally competent manner can help destigmatize the mental health system and can have a major impact on changing the response,” she said.

Beacon is proud of our partnership with KSCMHE, and equally proud to be a leader in the behavioral health equity space. “I want to thank Anthem [now Elevance Health] and Beacon for, again, stepping up,” said Patrick Kennedy. We remain committed to behavioral health equity and helping all Americans live their lives to the fullest potential.

Hear more about embedding equity into 988 by watching our pre-recorded leadership summit or listening to our podcast, 988 Is for Everyone: Inside the New Mental Health Hotline, on In the Bubble with Andy Slavitt from Lemonada Media.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish