[跳至内容]

宿舍,食堂和抑郁症:大学生处于危险之中

抑郁症是一种人类疾病,这不是现代的还是新颖的。这 最早的书面账目 这种状况的出现是在美索不达米亚的公元前第二个千年出现的,当时人们认为它比精神上的更为肉体上的。长期以来,抑郁症是用魔鬼和恶魔来解释的。作为体液的不平衡;或作为气质的弱点。今天,我们将抑郁症理解为一种复杂的疾病,其根源在于生物学,心理和社会因素。

自美索不达米亚著作以来,我们已经走了很长一段路。有充分的理由将十月定为抑郁症意识月;我们需要不断提请人们注意这种非常常见的情况。 超过7%的美国成年人 至少有过一次严重的抑郁发作,但其中只有35%的人接受了治疗。尽管所有年龄段的人的抑郁情绪都在上升, 在青少年中上升最快。这种上升在大学校园中尤为明显。

对学生行为健康服务的需求比以往任何时候都大

大学生正在感受到压力。数据 来自两次大型年度调查 2007-2018年的大学生调查显示,自杀思维,严重抑郁和自残率增加了一倍以上。从2010年到2015年,大学咨询中心的使用率增长了30%,而入学率仅增长了5%。

但是,尽管获得校园精神卫生服务的人数有所增加, 学生仍然无法获得与需求相关的服务:小型学院的院长报告说,寻求服务的学生的平均百分比在大型学院和大学中为9-12%和6-7%。

关于缺乏与需求相关的服务的解释可能有两个方面:校园资源无法满足需求,而学生-尤其是那些有自杀念头的学生-可能因为害怕被开除或放学而回避他们。休病假。

新增加了旧的

为了解决这两个问题-资源不足和学生不愿寻求服务-信标健康选择为大学生创建了EAP-信标健康:学生援助计划。该计划提供数字解决方案,以帮助大学满足学生的需求,并为学生提供远程医疗和在线解决方案的选择权,私密性和便利性。

数字解决方案能够补充现有的大学心理健康服务,提供在线教育内容,自助工具,虚拟治疗访问等。

数字解决方案的价值在于选择,隐私

数字解决方案的最大价值也许在于它们提供的选择和私密性,这些解决方案可以使人们对技术极为满意,甚至可以解决他们的心理健康问题。 一项研究发表在 医学互联网研究杂志 表明年轻人认为基于社交媒体的心理健康干预措施“高度可用,参与和支持”。

数字解决方案的最大价值也许在于它们提供的选择和私密性,这些解决方案可以使人们对技术极为满意,甚至可以解决他们的心理健康问题。

此外,对于生活在校园非常明确的环境中的学生来说,数字技术可以规避与心理健康相关的污名。很少或几乎没有进出咨询中心,这消除了因自杀意念或其他严重问题而被开除或休病假的恐惧。数字解决方案增加了这一代学生可以欣赏的另一层隐私。

因此,数字技术为校园心理健康服务增加了一个维度,而不仅仅是增加现状。雇用更多的校内辅导员并不能满足需求。数字解决方案的便捷性,私密性,便利性和选择方式改变了心理健康服务的面貌,从而使学生改善了心理健康。差异才是重要的。


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

Dorms, dining halls and depression: College students at risk

The awareness of depression as a human condition is not modern or new. The earliest written accounts of the condition emerged from the second millennium BC in Mesopotamia when it was seen as more spiritual than physical. Through the ages, depression came to be explained in terms of demons and evil spirits; as an imbalance in bodily fluids; or as a weakness in temperament. Today, we understand depression to be a complicated condition with roots in biological, psychological and social factors.

We’ve come a long way since the Mesopotamian writings. It is with good reason that October is recognized as Depression Awareness Month; we need to continually draw attention to this all-too-common condition. More than 7 percent of American adults have had at least one major depressive episode, but only 35 percent of those people received treatment. While depression is on the rise for all age groups, it is rising the fastest among teens and young adults. That rise is particularly amplified on college campuses.

Demand for student behavioral health services greater than ever

College students are feeling the pressure. The data from two large annual surveys of undergraduates from 2007-2018 reveal that suicidal thinking, severe depression and rates of self-injury more than doubled. From 2010 to 2015, the use of college counseling centers grew by 30 percent while enrollment increased only by 5 percent during those years.

However, in spite of the growth in accessing campus mental health services, students are still not accessing services relative to need: directors at small colleges reported that the average percent of students seeking services is 9-12 percent and 6-7 percent at larger colleges and universities.

The explanation for the lack of accessing services relative to need may be two-pronged: campus resources can’t keep up with the demand, and students – especially those students with suicidal ideation – may be avoiding them for the fear of being expelled or put on medical leave.

New augments the old

To address both of these issues – inadequate resources and student reluctance to seek services – Beacon Health Options created an EAP for college students – Beacon Wellbeing: Student Assistance Program. The program offers digital solutions to help colleges meet student demand and to afford students the options, the privacy and convenience of telehealth and online solutions.

Able to supplement existing college mental health services, digital solutions offer online educational content, self-help tools, virtual therapy visits and more.

Digital solutions’ value lies in choice, privacy

Perhaps the greatest value of digital solutions lies in the choice and privacy that they provide for a population exceedingly comfortable with technology, even for addressing their mental health concerns. One study published in the Journal of Medical Internet Research reveals that young adults view social media-based interventions for mental health treatment as “highly usable, engaging and supportive”.

Perhaps the greatest value of digital solutions lies in the choice and privacy that they provide for a population exceedingly comfortable with technology, even for addressing their mental health concerns.

Further, for students who live in the very defined environment of a campus, digital technology skirts the stigma associated with mental health. There is little or no coming in or out of the counseling center, which eliminates the fear of being expelled or put on medical leave for suicidal ideation or other serious issue. Digital solutions add another layer of privacy that this generation of students can appreciate.

Digital technology, therefore, adds a dimension to campus mental health services that goes beyond adding to the status quo. Hiring more on-campus counselors has not kept up with the demand. The ease, privacy, convenience and choice of digital solutions change the complexion of mental health services in a way that gets students to improve their mental health. It’s the difference that makes a difference.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *