[跳至内容]

危机护理通过个性化服务挽救生命

对于 22 岁的克莱尔来说,[1] 假期证明具有挑战性。在回家的几天内,她的父母注意到克莱尔不是她自己。她已经好几天没睡了,似乎与现实脱节了。随着克莱尔的行为变得更加古怪,她的父亲拨打了 911。

通常,拨打 911 可能会导致将救护车送往最近的急诊室 (ED),或执法部门介入。但这个电话不同。 911 调度员接受了当地心理健康危机合作组织的专业培训,意识到克莱尔需要心理健康专家的帮助。多亏了该州的行为健康危机热线,调度员将克莱尔的父亲热情地转移到了一位受过危机应对培训的有爱心的心理健康助理处。

接通后,心理健康助理通过提供电话支持迅速对克莱尔的情况进行分类和评估,这有助于缓解危机并减少她父亲的恐慌。在某些情况下,呼叫本身可能是稳定需要帮助的人所需的唯一干预措施。在克莱尔的情况下,电话危机支持是不够的。

危机响应热线充当空中交通管制,从社区卫生提供者派出一个支持 GPS 的移动快速反应小组,该小组由精神卫生专业人员组成,亲自去看克莱尔。这使他们能够确定对克莱尔最有利的护理类型。研究小组认识到她正在经历双相情感障碍的症状,并怀疑她滥用了阿片类药物。他们完成了一项评估和安全计划,并推荐她在 48 小时内进行预约。克莱尔没有去急诊室,而是与她的需求相关的个性化护理。

像克莱尔一样,数以百万计的美国人与心理健康问题作斗争,经常这样做直到他们经历了一场全面的危机。但它不一定是那样的。很快,像克莱尔和她父亲这样的人将能够完全绕过 911,拨打一条专门针对行为健康需求的新热线。

988 危机系统将于 2022 年 7 月上线。作为行为健康的 911,988 危机热线将 24/7/365 运营,作为全国第一个心理健康号码。全国范围的行为健康危机系统的出现为挽救生命的护理提供了一个切入点,而且来得还不够快。新系统甚至在危机发生之前就通过广泛的选择为人们真正需要的服务提供了一个接入点,从长远来看,有助于为更好的结果奠定基础。

Beacon Health Options 高级产品总监 Linda Henderson-Smith 博士说:“全国范围的行为健康危机热线最令人兴奋的事情之一是,它可以满足人们的需求,并提供个性化护理的途径。” “这个系统不是试图强制匹配,而是自定义的。它使人们能够打破他们对斗争的沉默,并帮助他们建立复原力——无论这个人正在经历一场全面的危机,还是只是需要一些支持和鼓励,”她说。

虽然没有针对行为健康或物质使用危机的单一解决方案,但专门的危机热线可以解决人类经验的范围,并为所有人提供富有同情心的护理和个性化体验。它减少了不必要和昂贵的急诊就诊,减轻了执法人员在未经培训的情况下进行干预的负担,并最终挽救了生命。

Beacon Health Options 是危机服务领域久经考验的合作伙伴,通过持续支持计划保持联系。

信标——您的终生危机关怀伙伴。


[1] 名称已更改以保护隐私。


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Crisis care saves lives through individualized services

For 22-year-old Claire,[1] the holidays proved challenging. Within a few days of a visit home, her parents noticed that Claire wasn’t herself. She hadn’t slept for days and seemed to be losing touch with reality. As Claire’s behavior became more erratic, her father called 911.

Normally a 911 call might result in an ambulance ride to the nearest emergency department (ED), or law enforcement involvement. But this call was different. The 911 dispatcher, having received specialized training from local mental health crisis collaboratives, recognized that Claire needed help from a mental health professional. Thanks to the state’s behavioral health crisis line, the dispatcher warm-transferred Claire’s father to a caring mental health associate trained in crisis response.

Once connected, the mental health associate worked quickly to triage and assess Claire’s situation by providing telephonic support, which helped de-escalate the crisis and reduce panic in her father. In some situations, the call itself may be the only intervention needed to stabilize someone who needs help. In Claire’s situation, telephonic crisis support wasn’t enough.

The crisis response line acted as air traffic control to dispatch a GPS-enabled Mobile Rapid Response Team of mental health professionals from a community health provider to see Claire in person. This allowed them to identify the type of care most beneficial to Claire. The team recognized that she was experiencing symptoms of Bipolar Disorder and suspected that she was misusing opiates. They completed an assessment and safety plan and referred her for an appointment that would take place within 48 hours. Instead of going to the ED, Claire was connected to individualized care for her needs.

Like Claire, millions of Americans struggle with mental health issues, often doing so until they experience a full-blown crisis. But it doesn’t have to be that way. Soon, people like Claire and her father will be able to bypass 911 altogether and call a new hotline dedicated to behavioral health needs.

Coming in July 2022, the 988 crisis system will go live. Functioning as the 911 for behavioral health, the 988 crisis line will operate 24/7/365 as the first nationwide number for mental health. The emergence of a nationwide crisis system for behavioral health provides an entry point to life-saving care and cannot come soon enough. The new system provides an access point to the services people really need through a wide range of options even before a crisis occurs, helping to establish a foundation for better outcomes in the long run.

“One of the most exciting things about a nationwide crisis line for behavioral health is that it meets people where they are and provides an access point to individualized care,” said Dr. Linda Henderson-Smith, Senior Product Director for Beacon Health Options. “Rather than trying to force a fit, this system is self-defined. It empowers people to break the silence about their struggles and helps them build resilience – whether the person is experiencing a full-blown crisis or just needs some support and encouragement,” she said.

While there is no single solution to behavioral health or substance use crises, a dedicated crisis line can address the spectrum of human experience and provide compassionate care and individualized experiences for all people. It reduces unnecessary and costly ED visits, unburdens law enforcement from intervening in situations for which they are not trained and ultimately saves lives.

Beacon Health Options is a proven partner in crisis services that stays connected beyond today with a plan for sustained support.

Beacon – your crisis care partner for life.


[1] The name has been changed to protect privacy.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish