[تخطى الى المحتوى]

تنقذ رعاية الأزمات الأرواح من خلال الخدمات الفردية

بالنسبة لكلير البالغة من العمر 22 عامًا ،[1] أثبتت العطلات أنها صعبة. في غضون أيام قليلة من زيارة المنزل ، لاحظ والداها أن كلير لم تكن هي نفسها. لم تنم لعدة أيام ويبدو أنها تفقد الاتصال بالواقع. عندما أصبح سلوك كلير أكثر اضطرابًا ، اتصل والدها برقم 911.

عادة قد تؤدي مكالمة 911 إلى ركوب سيارة إسعاف إلى أقرب قسم طوارئ (ED) ، أو مشاركة جهات إنفاذ القانون. لكن هذه الدعوة كانت مختلفة. أدرك مرسل 911 ، بعد أن تلقى تدريبًا متخصصًا من التعاونيات المحلية في أزمة الصحة العقلية ، أن كلير بحاجة إلى مساعدة من أخصائي الصحة العقلية. بفضل خط أزمة الصحة السلوكية في الولاية ، نقل المرسل والد كلير إلى أحد مساعدي الصحة العقلية المهتمين والمدربين على الاستجابة للأزمات.

بمجرد الاتصال ، عمل مساعد الصحة العقلية بسرعة لفرز وتقييم حالة كلير من خلال توفير الدعم الهاتفي ، مما ساعد على تهدئة الأزمة وتقليل الذعر لدى والدها. في بعض المواقف ، قد تكون المكالمة نفسها هي التدخل الوحيد المطلوب لتحقيق الاستقرار في شخص يحتاج إلى المساعدة. في حالة كلير ، لم يكن دعم الأزمات الهاتفية كافيًا.

عمل خط الاستجابة للأزمات كمراقبة للحركة الجوية لإرسال فريق استجابة سريع متنقل مزود بنظام تحديد المواقع العالمي (GPS) من متخصصين في الصحة العقلية من أحد مقدمي خدمات الصحة المجتمعية لرؤية كلير شخصيًا. سمح لهم ذلك بتحديد نوع الرعاية الأكثر فائدة لكلير. أدرك الفريق أنها كانت تعاني من أعراض الاضطراب ثنائي القطب واشتبه في أنها كانت تسيء استخدام المواد الأفيونية. أكملوا خطة التقييم والسلامة وأحالوها إلى موعد يتم خلال 48 ساعة. بدلاً من الذهاب إلى قسم الطوارئ الطبية ، ارتبطت كلير بالرعاية الفردية لاحتياجاتها.

مثل كلير ، يعاني ملايين الأمريكيين من مشاكل الصحة العقلية ، وغالبًا ما يفعلون ذلك حتى يواجهوا أزمة كاملة. لكن لا يجب أن يكون الأمر على هذا النحو. قريبًا ، سيتمكن أشخاص مثل كلير ووالدها من تجاوز 911 تمامًا والاتصال بخط ساخن جديد مخصص لاحتياجات الصحة السلوكية.

قادمًا في يوليو 2022 ، سيبدأ تشغيل نظام الأزمة 988. يعمل خط الأزمة 988 باعتباره الرقم 911 للصحة السلوكية ، وسيعمل 24/7/365 كأول رقم وطني للصحة العقلية. يوفر ظهور نظام أزمة على الصعيد الوطني للصحة السلوكية نقطة دخول إلى الرعاية المنقذة للحياة ولا يمكن أن يأتي قريبًا بما فيه الكفاية. يوفر النظام الجديد نقطة وصول للخدمات التي يحتاجها الأشخاص حقًا من خلال مجموعة واسعة من الخيارات حتى قبل حدوث الأزمة ، مما يساعد على إنشاء أساس لنتائج أفضل على المدى الطويل.

قالت الدكتورة ليندا هندرسون سميث ، كبيرة مديري المنتجات في Beacon Health Options: "من أكثر الأشياء إثارة حول خط الأزمات على الصعيد الوطني للصحة السلوكية هو أنه يلتقي بالناس أينما كانوا ويوفر نقطة وصول إلى الرعاية الفردية". “بدلاً من محاولة فرض التوافق ، فإن هذا النظام محدد ذاتيًا. إنها تمكن الناس من كسر حاجز الصمت بشأن نضالاتهم وتساعدهم على بناء المرونة - سواء كان الشخص يمر بأزمة كاملة أو يحتاج فقط إلى بعض الدعم والتشجيع "، قالت.

في حين لا يوجد حل واحد لأزمات الصحة السلوكية أو تعاطي المخدرات ، يمكن لخط أزمات مخصص أن يعالج طيف الخبرة البشرية ويوفر رعاية رحيمة وتجارب فردية لجميع الناس. فهو يقلل من زيارات قسم الطوارئ غير الضرورية والمكلفة ، ويفتح عبء تطبيق القانون عن التدخل في المواقف التي لم يتم تدريبهم عليها وينقذ الأرواح في نهاية المطاف.

تعد Beacon Health Options شريكًا مثبتًا في خدمات الأزمات التي تظل متصلة إلى ما بعد اليوم بخطة للدعم المستمر.

منارة - شريكك في رعاية الأزمات مدى الحياة.


[1] تم تغيير الاسم لحماية الخصوصية.


لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

رابط علوي
arالعربية

[Skip to Content]

Crisis care saves lives through individualized services

For 22-year-old Claire,[1] the holidays proved challenging. Within a few days of a visit home, her parents noticed that Claire wasn’t herself. She hadn’t slept for days and seemed to be losing touch with reality. As Claire’s behavior became more erratic, her father called 911.

Normally a 911 call might result in an ambulance ride to the nearest emergency department (ED), or law enforcement involvement. But this call was different. The 911 dispatcher, having received specialized training from local mental health crisis collaboratives, recognized that Claire needed help from a mental health professional. Thanks to the state’s behavioral health crisis line, the dispatcher warm-transferred Claire’s father to a caring mental health associate trained in crisis response.

Once connected, the mental health associate worked quickly to triage and assess Claire’s situation by providing telephonic support, which helped de-escalate the crisis and reduce panic in her father. In some situations, the call itself may be the only intervention needed to stabilize someone who needs help. In Claire’s situation, telephonic crisis support wasn’t enough.

The crisis response line acted as air traffic control to dispatch a GPS-enabled Mobile Rapid Response Team of mental health professionals from a community health provider to see Claire in person. This allowed them to identify the type of care most beneficial to Claire. The team recognized that she was experiencing symptoms of Bipolar Disorder and suspected that she was misusing opiates. They completed an assessment and safety plan and referred her for an appointment that would take place within 48 hours. Instead of going to the ED, Claire was connected to individualized care for her needs.

Like Claire, millions of Americans struggle with mental health issues, often doing so until they experience a full-blown crisis. But it doesn’t have to be that way. Soon, people like Claire and her father will be able to bypass 911 altogether and call a new hotline dedicated to behavioral health needs.

Coming in July 2022, the 988 crisis system will go live. Functioning as the 911 for behavioral health, the 988 crisis line will operate 24/7/365 as the first nationwide number for mental health. The emergence of a nationwide crisis system for behavioral health provides an entry point to life-saving care and cannot come soon enough. The new system provides an access point to the services people really need through a wide range of options even before a crisis occurs, helping to establish a foundation for better outcomes in the long run.

“One of the most exciting things about a nationwide crisis line for behavioral health is that it meets people where they are and provides an access point to individualized care,” said Dr. Linda Henderson-Smith, Senior Product Director for Beacon Health Options. “Rather than trying to force a fit, this system is self-defined. It empowers people to break the silence about their struggles and helps them build resilience – whether the person is experiencing a full-blown crisis or just needs some support and encouragement,” she said.

While there is no single solution to behavioral health or substance use crises, a dedicated crisis line can address the spectrum of human experience and provide compassionate care and individualized experiences for all people. It reduces unnecessary and costly ED visits, unburdens law enforcement from intervening in situations for which they are not trained and ultimately saves lives.

Beacon Health Options is a proven partner in crisis services that stays connected beyond today with a plan for sustained support.

Beacon – your crisis care partner for life.


[1] The name has been changed to protect privacy.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish