[跳至内容]

未分类

一点点感激之情大有帮助

2022 年十一月 21 日
参赛作品预览

“承认你生活中已经拥有的美好是一切富足的基础。” – Eckhart Tolle 随着假期的开始,一些人期待着欢乐的庆祝活动、远离工作的时光,或与家人和朋友共度的特殊时刻。对于其他人来说,孤独、绝望或悲伤的感觉在一年中的这个时候尤其明显。虽然许多心理健康问题最好在专业人士的支持下得到处理,但有些事情可以在个人层面或在家庭和社会支持下完成,以改善悲伤或绝望的感觉。练习感恩可以对您的思想、身体以及与他人的关系产生积极影响。一种意义感,更多的快乐,并增加……

阅读更多

帮助患有饮食失调症的人的5个技巧

2022 年 10 月 31 日
参赛作品预览

饮食失调影响着数百万的美国人,预计大约十分之一的人会在其一生中患上这种疾病。 [1]包括神经性厌食症、神经性贪食症和暴饮暴食在内的疾病会影响所有年龄、种族、体型和性别的人。 [2]任何人都可能在生命中的任何时候患上饮食失调。在许多情况下,它开始于青春期或青年期,平均发病年龄在 12-25 岁之间。 [3]在 COVID 大流行期间,报告的饮食失调激增表明拨打全国热线的电话量增加了 70% 以上。[4]饮食失调已成为年轻人中最致命的精神疾病,这是一个我们不能忽视的问题。 [5]统计数据令人震惊。在一项针对青春期女孩的研究中,直到……

阅读更多

股权领导峰会带来热情和政策建议

参赛作品预览

“我看到了一个未来,每个需要精神保健的人都能得到它。我们必须结束对心理健康和成瘾的单独和不平等待遇,并确保我们每个人都能过上充实、有意义的生活。” ~ 尊敬的帕特里克·肯尼迪 (Patrick J. Kennedy),前美国代表和肯尼迪论坛创始人。最近,988——全国新的自杀预防和危机护理号码——上线了。自杀和危机生命线有机会在获得心理健康服务方面改变游戏规则。它代表了各级行为健康保健治疗的切入点,可用于预防自杀之外的更多方面。 988 任何时候都可以使用……

阅读更多

Beacon 和 Kennedy-Satcher:促进行为健康公平

参赛作品预览

即将在 7 月上线的第一条针对行为健康紧急情况的全国性危机热线。相当于心理健康的 911,988 标志着在改善获得挽救生命的危机服务方面的历史性里程碑。虽然 988 代表了解决美国当前心理健康危机的关键一步,但仍有许多工作要确保危机应对系统是公平的——特别是对于历史上经历过巨大不平等和创伤的社区。数据表明,识别为 LGBTQIA+ 的人;黑人、土著和有色人种 (BIPOC);农村社区;移民、难民和非英语人士;残疾人士;老年人;无家可归或住房不稳定的人;以前被监禁或参与司法的人口;创伤幸存者;和…

阅读更多

改善阿片类药物使用障碍患者的预后

四月 5, 2022
参赛作品预览

2022 年 5 月,美国疾病控制与预防中心估计,从 2020 年 12 月到 2021 年 12 月,超过 107,600 名美国人死于药物过量,创下美国 SUD 危机的又一悲惨记录。这些死亡中有超过 75% 来自阿片类药物 (75,673)。 [1]有了这些令人震惊的统计数据,迫切需要对阿片类药物使用障碍 (OUD) 进行有效的治疗选择。使用药物治疗阿片类药物使用障碍 (MOUD) 是目前 OUD 最有效的治疗方法。 [2]尽管有三种 FDA 批准的药物(美沙酮、丁丙诺啡和纳曲酮),但 MOUD 并未得到尽可能多的利用。在急性护理环境中,许多住院病房仍然依赖传统的戒断管理方案,这与复发、意外过量和/或……的高风险有关。

阅读更多

通过公共/私人伙伴关系增加获得行为保健的机会

四月 5, 2022
参赛作品预览

作者:Beacon 危机领袖 Wendy Martinez Farmer 九年前,我在亚特兰大高峰时段开车回家,担心我无法及时从托儿所接我 2 岁的孩子。交通繁忙,我在处理工作中的危机后已经迟到了。突然,我感到剧烈的胸痛,从双臂蔓延到我的下巴。我本能地下了高速,拐进了一家便利店,买了片阿司匹林,嚼了一口,看着店员说:“请打911,我心脏病发作了。”几秒钟之内,似乎也知道该怎么做的旁观者进来让我保持冷静。其中一个甚至联系了我的……

阅读更多

一次改进一种算法的健康公平性

四月 5, 2022
参赛作品预览

医疗保健行业经常使用数据和算法来识别可能从专业护理管理中受益的人群。利用算法的数据驱动程序可以改善疾病管理、健康结果并降低护理成本。在获得护理方面,它们还有可能消除人类决策中的偏见。但是当算法本身有偏见时会发生什么?最近的研究表明,由于系统性种族主义,医疗保健[1] 和其他领域 [2] 中的算法可能会对某些人群产生偏见,这反映在用于构建这些基于计算机的计算的数据中。例如,在医疗保健领域,有关成本和护理利用率的数据通常被视为问题严重程度的指标。然而,…

阅读更多

通过社区合作减少心理健康污名

三月 22, 2022
参赛作品预览

随着 988 将于今年夏天推出,许多州都在努力准备。尽管每个州都有自己独特的供应商和服务系列,但将它们协调成一个能够为所有人服务的有效危机系统可能会令人生畏。为了成功启动 988,如果与 988 中心的联系不足以满足当前的需求,每个州都需要实施协调的危机应对系统。对流动危机响应团队的投资和一系列以设施为基础的危机计划可以增强和支持现有的计划和服务,以提供及时、适当的护理。其中包括精神科紧急护理设施、23 小时危机稳定计划、同伴暂托中心、危机住院计划、部分住院计划和……

阅读更多

克服污名以改善心理健康

三月 9, 2022
参赛作品预览

尽管态度正在慢慢改变,但污名化继续对心理健康治疗造成重大障碍。根据美国心理健康协会的数据,2020 年报告出现心理健康问题的人中有一半以上没有接受治疗。 [1]此外,BCBS 健康指数表明,在黑人和西班牙裔/拉丁裔社区中,严重抑郁症和焦虑症的诊断不足率降低了 32-40%。 [2]虽然造成这种情况的原因可能有所不同,但美国心理学会表示,较低的诊断率可能是由于提供者对文化差异、污名和获得护理的障碍缺乏了解,例如社会经济差异和提供者偏见/护理不平等。特别是在黑人社区,污名化可能无处不在。研究表明……

阅读更多

增加马萨诸塞州的行为健康公平:MBHP 将授予 $250K 赠款资金

三月 1, 2022
参赛作品预览

马萨诸塞州行为健康伙伴关系 (MBHP) 是一家 Beacon Health Options 公司,在帮助人们通过获得关键服务过上更健康的生活方面处于领先地位。作为其对行为健康公平和获取承诺的一部分,MBHP 最近向来自英联邦的五个组织提供了超过 $130K 的赠款,以增加不同人群对行为健康的获取和参与。这笔资金是拨款周期的第一轮,最终将在针对这一紧迫问题的拨款中分配 $250K。 MBHP 收到了来自马萨诸塞州各地的 100 多份意见书。经过全面审查和决策过程,以下组织获得了赠款:Aspire Health Alliance Community Health Network Area 17 The Learning Center...

阅读更多
热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Uncategorized

A little gratitude goes a long way

Entry Preview

“Acknowledging the good that you already have in your life is the foundation for all abundance.” – Eckhart Tolle As the holiday season begins, some people look forward to joyous celebrations, time away from work, or special moments with family and friends. For others, feelings of loneliness, desperation, or sadness can feel especially pronounced during this time of year. While many mental health concerns are best handled with the support of a professional, there are  things that can be done on an individual level or with family and social supports to improve feelings of sadness or hopelessness. Practicing gratitude can have a positive impact on your mind, body, and relationships with others. A sense of meaning, more joy, and increased…

Read More

5 tips to help someone struggling with an eating disorder

Entry Preview

Eating disorders affect millions of Americans, with approximately 1 in 10 expected to develop one during their lifetime.[1] Conditions including anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating affect people of all ages, races, body types, and genders.[2] Anyone can develop an eating disorder at any time in life. In many cases, it begins during adolescence or young adulthood, with the average age of onset between 12-25.[3] During the COVID pandemic, a spike in reported eating disorders indicated a more than 70% increase in call volume to national hotlines.[4] With eating disorders ranking as the top fatal mental illness in young people, it’s a problem we can’t afford to ignore.[5] The statistics are alarming. In a study following adolescent girls until…

Read More

Equity leadership summit brings passion – and policy recommendations – to the table

Entry Preview

“I see a future where everyone who needs mental health care gets it. We must end the separate and unequal treatment of mental health and addiction and ensure each of us is able to achieve a full, meaningful life.” ~ The Honorable Patrick J. Kennedy, Former U.S. Representative and Founder of the Kennedy Forum. Recently, 988 – the new nationwide number for suicide prevention and crisis care – went live. The Suicide and Crisis Lifeline has the opportunity to change the game when it comes to accessing mental health services. It represents an entry point to treatment for all levels of behavioral health care and can be used for much more than suicide prevention. 988 can be used anytime someone…

Read More

Beacon and Kennedy-Satcher: advancing behavioral health equity

Entry Preview

Coming in July, the first nationwide crisis hotline for behavioral health emergencies will go live. The equivalent of 911 for mental health, 988 marks a historic milestone in improving access to life-saving crisis services. While 988 represents a crucial step forward to address the current mental health crisis in the United States, much work remains to ensure that the crisis response system is equitable – particularly for communities that have historically experienced great inequity and trauma. Data indicates that people who identify as LGBTQIA+; black, indigenous and people of color (BIPOC); rural communities; immigrants, refugees, and non-English speaking people; people living with disabilities; older adults; people experiencing homelessness or housing instability; formerly incarcerated or justice-involved populations; survivors of trauma; and…

Read More

Improving outcomes for people with opioid use disorder

Entry Preview

In May 2022, the CDC estimated that more than 107,600 Americans died from drug overdoses from December 2020 to December 2021, setting another tragic record in the nation’s SUD crisis. More than 75% of those deaths were from opioids (75,673).[1] With alarming statistics like these, the need for effective treatment options for opioid use disorder (OUD) is urgent. The use of medications for opioid use disorder (MOUD) is currently the most effective treatment for OUD.[2] Although there are three FDA-approved medications (methadone, buprenorphine, and naltrexone), MOUD is not utilized as much as it could be. In acute care settings many inpatient units still rely on traditional withdrawal management protocols, which are associated with high risk for relapse, accidental overdose, and/or…

Read More

Increasing access to behavioral health care through public / private partnerships

Entry Preview

By Wendy Martinez Farmer, Beacon Crisis Leader Nine years ago, I was driving home during Atlanta rush hour concerned I would not make it in time to pick up my 2-year-old from daycare. Traffic was heavy and I was already running late after handling a crisis at work. Suddenly, I felt crushing chest pain that radiated down both arms and up into my jaw. Instinctively I pulled off the highway, turned into a convenience store, bought an aspirin, chewed it and looked at the store clerk and said, “Please call 911. I am having a heart attack.” Within seconds, bystanders who also seemed to know what to do stepped in to keep me calm. One of them even contacted my…

Read More

Improving health equity one algorithm at a time

Entry Preview

Data and algorithms are frequently used in the healthcare industry to identify populations that may benefit from specialty care management. Data driven programs that utilize algorithms can improve disease management, health outcomes and reduce the cost of care. They also have the potential to remove bias from human decision making when it comes to accessing care.  But what happens when the algorithm itself is biased? Recent research has shown that algorithms in healthcare[1] and other fields[2] can show bias against certain populations due to systemic racism that is reflected in the data used to construct these computer-based calculations. In healthcare for example, data on cost and utilization of care is often relied upon as an indicator of problem severity. However,…

Read More

Reducing mental health stigma through community collaboration

Entry Preview

With 988 set to launch this summer, many states are working hard to prepare. Although each state has its own unique array of providers and services, coordinating them into an effective crisis system capable of serving all people can be daunting. In order for a successful 988 launch, each state will need to implement a coordinated crisis response system should the contact with the 988 center not be sufficient to meet the immediate need. Investment in mobile crisis response teams and a continuum of facility-based crisis programs can enhance and bolster existing programs and services to provide timely, appropriate care. These include psychiatric urgent care facilities, 23-hour crisis stabilization programs, peer respite centers, crisis residential programs, partial hospitalization programs and…

Read More

Overcoming stigma for better mental health

Entry Preview

Although attitudes are slowly changing, stigma continues to create a significant barrier to mental health treatment. According to Mental Health America, more than half of the people who reported experiencing mental health problems in 2020 did not receive treatment.[1] Additionally, the BCBS Health Index indicated that major depression and anxiety are underdiagnosed at rates of 32-40 percent less in Black and Hispanic/Latino communities.[2] While the reasons for this may vary, the American Psychological Association says that lower diagnosis rates are likely driven by lack of provider understanding of cultural differences, stigma and barriers to getting care such as socioeconomic disparities and provider bias / inequality of care. In the Black community in particular, stigma can be pervasive. Research has shown…

Read More

Increasing behavioral health equity in Massachusetts: MBHP will award $250K in grant funding

Entry Preview

The Massachusetts Behavioral Health Partnership (MBHP) is a Beacon Health Options company and a leader in helping people lead healthier lives through access to critical services. As part of its commitment to behavioral health equity and access, MBHP recently awarded more than $130K in grants to five organizations from across the Commonwealth to increase access to and engagement in behavioral healthcare for diverse populations. This funding is the first round of a grant cycle that will ultimately distribute $250K in grants focused on this pressing issue. MBHP received more than 100 submissions from across Massachusetts. After a comprehensive review and decision-making process, the following organizations were awarded grant funding: Aspire Health Alliance Community Health Network Area 17 The Learning Center…

Read More
Top Link
en_USEnglish