[跳至内容]

黑人心理健康先锋

在这个黑人历史月,我们感谢为健康公平而奋斗并继续奋斗的美国黑人所做的贡献。

我们认识到,要实现医疗保健公平,还有更多工作要做。 Beacon Health Options 致力于推进 行为健康公平 以便所有人,无论种族或民族、性取向、性别认同、残疾、地理或经济状况如何,都可以接受个性化的护理,体现文化谦逊并改善他们的健康和福祉。

本月,我们将重点介绍一些为更深入的理解和更好的生活铺平道路的先驱者。从引发关于废除种族隔离辩论的开创性早期研究,到新技术和新疗法,我们认可黑人顾问、研究人员、治疗师、医生、社会工作者和倡导者,他们提高了我们对心理健康的理解,并为该领域做出了宝贵贡献。

看看这些开拓者!

罗伯特·李·威廉姆斯博士,二世(1930-2020)

罗伯特·李·威廉姆斯 (Robert Lee Williams) 博士,二世是美国心理学界有影响力的声音,也是智商测试中种族和文化偏见的直言不讳的批评者。威廉姆斯博士通过创建自己的标准化测试来指出这些偏见,展示测试结构如何对非裔美国人的结果和看法产生负面影响。

在他漫长的职业生涯中,威廉姆斯博士取得了许多成就。他撰写了 60 多篇专业文章以及颇具影响力的著作《Ebonics:黑人的真实语言》,该书于 1975 年首次出版。威廉姆斯博士是美国黑人心理学家协会的创始人和首任主席,并且是圣路易斯华盛顿大学心理学和非洲裔和非裔美国人研究名誉教授。

所罗门·卡特·富勒,医学博士 (1872-1953)

所罗门·卡特·富勒不仅是第一位黑人精神病学家,他还是阿尔茨海默病研究的先驱。在早期的医学生涯中表现出色后,富勒博士成为了阿洛伊斯·阿尔茨海默 (AloisAlzheimer) 挑选的五名研究助理之一,与他一起在慕尼黑皇家精神病医院工作。在他对阿尔茨海默病开创性研究的众多贡献中,富勒博士发表了第一篇全面的评论,当时黑人医生的代表性和重视程度都非常低。

富勒博士成为波士顿大学神经病学名誉教授,并在私人诊所工作多年,担任医师、神经病学家和精神病学家。第一次世界大战后,他为塔斯基吉退伍军人管理局医疗中心招募了黑人精神科医生,培训他们担任关键职位。富勒博士对阿尔茨海默病的贡献以及他漫长的职业生涯充满成就值得肯定。

Inez Beverly Prosser 博士(1897-1934)

Inez Beverly Prosser 被认为是第一位获得博士学位的黑人女性。在心理学上,一个了不起的成就。在一个只能送一个孩子上大学的家庭中,Prosser 博士的父母选择送她而不是她的兄弟,因为她对学习有着明显的热情。

在任教 18 年并一路获得学士和硕士学位后,Prosser 博士获得了博士学位。 1933 年获得心理学博士学位。她的论文研究引发了关于种族隔离对学童的影响的重要对话,并呼吁教师和管理人员彻底改变态度,以帮助孩子们对取消种族隔离有更积极的体验。 Prosser 博士坚信教育的变革力量,并将她的热情传递给帮助他人。作为 11 个孩子中的一个,她帮助资助了 5 个弟弟妹妹的高等教育,这使他们能够获得大学学位。普罗瑟博士的生命在 1934 年的一场致命车祸中戛然而止,但她的热情和遗产永存。

Maxie Clarence Maultsby, Jr., 医学博士 (1932-2016)

Maxie Clarence Maultsby, Jr. 是一位多才多艺的精神病学家、作家和行为健康领域的创新者。他是多本关于情绪和行为自我管理的书籍的作者,也是理性行为疗法和理性自我咨询的创始人。他在理性行为疗法方面的工作在许多重要方面为该领域做出了贡献,专注于人类大脑的生理学和挑战旧方法。

Maultsby 博士的许多荣誉包括美国精神病学协会杰出终身研究员、全国认知行为治疗师协会终身成就奖获得者和霍华德大学医学院名誉教授。


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Black Mental Health Pioneers

This Black History Month we express our gratitude for the contributions of Black Americans who have fought, and continue to fight, for health equity.

We recognize that there is more to be done to achieve equity in healthcare. Beacon Health Options is dedicated to advancing Behavioral Health Equity so that all people, regardless of race or ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, and geographic or financial access can receive individualized care that demonstrates cultural humility and improves their health and well-being.

This month, we shine a light on just a few of the pioneers who have paved the way for deeper understanding and better lives for all. From groundbreaking early research sparking debate on desegregation, to new techniques and therapies we recognize Black counselors, researchers, therapists, doctors, social workers and advocates who elevated our understanding of mental health and made invaluable contributions to the field.

Check out these trailblazers!

Dr. Robert Lee Williams, II (1930-2020)

Dr. Robert Lee Williams, II was an influential voice in American psychology and a vocal critic of racial and cultural biases in IQ testing. Dr. Williams called out these biases by creating his own standardized test showing how testing structure negatively influenced outcomes for and perceptions of African Americans.

Throughout his long career, Dr. Williams had many accomplishments. He authored more than 60 professional articles as well as the influential book “Ebonics: The True Language of Black Folks,” which was first published in 1975. Dr. Williams was a founder and the first president of the National Association of Black Psychologists and was professor emeritus of psychology and African and Afro-American studies at the Washington University in St. Louis.

Solomon Carter Fuller, M.D. (1872-1953)

Not only was Solomon Carter Fuller the first Black psychiatrist, he was also a pioneer in the study of Alzheimer’s disease. After excelling in his medical career early on, Dr. Fuller became one of five research assistants selected by Alois Alzheimer to work with him at the Royal Psychiatric Hospital in Munich. Among his numerous contributions to trailblazing research in Alzheimer’s disease, Dr. Fuller published the first comprehensive review of it at a time when Black physicians were greatly under-represented and underappreciated.

Dr. Fuller became professor emeritus of neurology at Boston University and worked in private practice for many years as a physician, neurologist and psychiatrist. After World War I, he recruited Black psychiatrists for the Tuskegee Veterans Administration Medical Center, training them for key positions. Dr. Fuller’s contributions to Alzheimer’s disease and his long career filled with achievements deserve to be recognized.

Inez Beverly Prosser, Ph.D. (1897-1934)

Inez Beverly Prosser is considered the first Black woman to earn a Ph.D. in psychology, a remarkable achievement. In a family that could only afford to send one child to college, Dr. Prosser’s parents chose to send her instead of her brother due to her obvious passion for learning.

After teaching for 18 years and earning bachelors and masters degrees along the way, Dr. Prosser earned her Ph.D. in psychology in 1933. Her dissertation research led to important conversations about the effects of segregation on school children and called for radical changes in attitude on the part of teachers and administrators to help kids have a more positive experience with desegregation. Dr. Prosser strongly believed in the transformative power of education and channeled her passion to help others. One of eleven children, she helped to fund higher education for 5 of her younger siblings, which allowed them to earn college degrees. Dr. Prosser’s life was cut short in a fatal car accident in 1934, but her passion and legacy live on.

Maxie Clarence Maultsby, Jr., M.D. (1932-2016)

Maxie Clarence Maultsby, Jr. was an accomplished psychiatrist, author and innovator in the field of behavioral health. He is the author of several books on emotional and behavioral self-management, and the founder of both Rational Behavior Therapy and Rational Self-Counseling. His work on Rational Behavioral Therapy contributed to the field in many important ways, focusing on the human brain’s physiology and challenging old approaches.

Dr. Maultsby’s many accolades include Distinguished Life Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Association of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapists and professor emeritus at Howard University School of Medicine.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish