[تخطى الى المحتوى]

رواد الصحة العقلية السوداء

في شهر التاريخ الأسود هذا ، نعرب عن امتناننا لمساهمات الأمريكيين السود الذين حاربوا ، ولا يزالون يناضلون ، من أجل العدالة الصحية.

نحن ندرك أن هناك الكثير الذي يتعين القيام به لتحقيق الإنصاف في الرعاية الصحية. منارة الخيارات الصحية مكرسة للتقدم المساواة في الصحة السلوكية حتى يتسنى لجميع الأشخاص ، بغض النظر عن العرق أو العرق أو الميول الجنسية أو الهوية الجنسية أو الإعاقة أو الوصول الجغرافي أو المالي ، تلقي رعاية فردية تظهر التواضع الثقافي وتحسن صحتهم ورفاهيتهم.

في هذا الشهر ، نسلط الضوء على عدد قليل فقط من الرواد الذين مهدوا الطريق لفهم أعمق وحياة أفضل للجميع. من الأبحاث المبكرة الرائدة التي تثير الجدل حول إلغاء الفصل العنصري ، إلى التقنيات والعلاجات الجديدة ، نعترف بالمستشارين والباحثين والمعالجين والأطباء والأخصائيين الاجتماعيين والمدافعين عن السود الذين رفعوا مستوى فهمنا للصحة العقلية وقدموا مساهمات لا تقدر بثمن في هذا المجال.

تحقق من هؤلاء الرواد!

الدكتور روبرت لي ويليامز ، الثاني (1930-2020)

كان الدكتور روبرت لي ويليامز ، الثاني ، صوتًا مؤثرًا في علم النفس الأمريكي وناقدًا صريحًا للتحيزات العرقية والثقافية في اختبار معدل الذكاء. دعا الدكتور ويليامز إلى هذه التحيزات من خلال إنشاء اختبار معياري خاص به يوضح كيف أثر هيكل الاختبار سلبًا على نتائج وتصورات الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي.

خلال حياته المهنية الطويلة ، حقق الدكتور ويليامز العديد من الإنجازات. قام بتأليف أكثر من 60 مقالة مهنية بالإضافة إلى الكتاب المؤثر "Ebonics: The True Language of Black Folks" ، الذي نُشر لأول مرة في عام 1975. كان الدكتور ويليامز مؤسسًا وأول رئيس للجمعية الوطنية لعلماء النفس السود وكان أستاذ متقاعد في علم النفس والدراسات الإفريقية والأفرو أمريكية بجامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس.

سليمان كارتر فولر ، دكتوراه في الطب (1872-1953)

لم يكن سليمان كارتر فولر أول طبيب نفسي أسود فحسب ، بل كان أيضًا رائدًا في دراسة مرض الزهايمر. بعد التفوق في مسيرته الطبية في وقت مبكر ، أصبح الدكتور فولر واحدًا من خمسة مساعدين باحثين اختارهم ألويس ألزهايمر للعمل معه في مستشفى الطب النفسي الملكي في ميونيخ. من بين مساهماته العديدة في البحث الرائد في مرض الزهايمر ، نشر الدكتور فولر أول مراجعة شاملة له في وقت كان الأطباء السود يعانون من نقص التمثيل والتقدير.

أصبح الدكتور فولر أستاذًا فخريًا في علم الأعصاب بجامعة بوسطن وعمل في الممارسة الخاصة لسنوات عديدة كطبيب وطبيب أعصاب وطبيب نفسي. بعد الحرب العالمية الأولى ، قام بتجنيد الأطباء النفسيين السود في المركز الطبي لإدارة المحاربين القدامى في توسكيجي ، وتدريبهم على مناصب رئيسية. مساهمات الدكتور فولر في مرض الزهايمر ومسيرته الطويلة المليئة بالإنجازات تستحق التقدير.

إينيز بيفرلي بروسر ، دكتوراه. (1897-1934)

تعتبر إينيز بيفرلي بروسر أول امرأة سوداء تحصل على درجة الدكتوراه. في علم النفس ، إنجاز رائع. في عائلة لا تستطيع سوى إرسال طفل واحد إلى الكلية ، اختار والدا الدكتورة بروسر إرسالها بدلاً من شقيقها بسبب شغفها الواضح بالتعلم.

بعد التدريس لمدة 18 عامًا وحصولها على درجتي البكالوريوس والماجستير على طول الطريق ، حصلت الدكتورة بروسر على درجة الدكتوراه. حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في علم النفس عام 1933. أدى بحث أطروحتها إلى محادثات مهمة حول تأثيرات الفصل العنصري على أطفال المدارس ودعت إلى تغييرات جذرية في المواقف من جانب المعلمين والإداريين لمساعدة الأطفال على اكتساب تجربة أكثر إيجابية مع إلغاء الفصل العنصري. تؤمن الدكتورة بروسر بقوة بالقوة التحويلية للتعليم ووجهت شغفها لمساعدة الآخرين. واحدة من أحد عشر طفلاً ، ساعدت في تمويل التعليم العالي لـ 5 من أشقائها الصغار ، مما سمح لهم بالحصول على شهادات جامعية. تم قطع حياة الدكتورة بروسر في حادث سيارة مميت عام 1934 ، لكن شغفها وإرثها لا يزالان مستمرين.

ماكسي كلارنس مالسبي جونيور ، دكتوراه في الطب (1932-2016)

Maxie Clarence Maultsby، Jr. كان طبيبًا نفسيًا بارعًا ومؤلفًا ومبتكرًا في مجال الصحة السلوكية. وهو مؤلف للعديد من الكتب حول إدارة الذات العاطفية والسلوكية ، ومؤسس كل من العلاج السلوكي العقلاني والاستشارة الذاتية العقلانية. ساهم عمله في العلاج السلوكي العقلاني في هذا المجال بعدة طرق مهمة ، مع التركيز على فسيولوجيا الدماغ البشري وتحدي الأساليب القديمة.

تشمل الجوائز العديدة للدكتور مولتسي زميل الحياة المتميز في الجمعية الأمريكية للطب النفسي ، الحاصل على جائزة الإنجاز مدى الحياة من الجمعية الوطنية للمعالجين الإدراكيين والسلوكيين وأستاذ فخري في كلية الطب بجامعة هوارد.


لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

رابط علوي
arالعربية

[Skip to Content]

Black Mental Health Pioneers

This Black History Month we express our gratitude for the contributions of Black Americans who have fought, and continue to fight, for health equity.

We recognize that there is more to be done to achieve equity in healthcare. Beacon Health Options is dedicated to advancing Behavioral Health Equity so that all people, regardless of race or ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, and geographic or financial access can receive individualized care that demonstrates cultural humility and improves their health and well-being.

This month, we shine a light on just a few of the pioneers who have paved the way for deeper understanding and better lives for all. From groundbreaking early research sparking debate on desegregation, to new techniques and therapies we recognize Black counselors, researchers, therapists, doctors, social workers and advocates who elevated our understanding of mental health and made invaluable contributions to the field.

Check out these trailblazers!

Dr. Robert Lee Williams, II (1930-2020)

Dr. Robert Lee Williams, II was an influential voice in American psychology and a vocal critic of racial and cultural biases in IQ testing. Dr. Williams called out these biases by creating his own standardized test showing how testing structure negatively influenced outcomes for and perceptions of African Americans.

Throughout his long career, Dr. Williams had many accomplishments. He authored more than 60 professional articles as well as the influential book “Ebonics: The True Language of Black Folks,” which was first published in 1975. Dr. Williams was a founder and the first president of the National Association of Black Psychologists and was professor emeritus of psychology and African and Afro-American studies at the Washington University in St. Louis.

Solomon Carter Fuller, M.D. (1872-1953)

Not only was Solomon Carter Fuller the first Black psychiatrist, he was also a pioneer in the study of Alzheimer’s disease. After excelling in his medical career early on, Dr. Fuller became one of five research assistants selected by Alois Alzheimer to work with him at the Royal Psychiatric Hospital in Munich. Among his numerous contributions to trailblazing research in Alzheimer’s disease, Dr. Fuller published the first comprehensive review of it at a time when Black physicians were greatly under-represented and underappreciated.

Dr. Fuller became professor emeritus of neurology at Boston University and worked in private practice for many years as a physician, neurologist and psychiatrist. After World War I, he recruited Black psychiatrists for the Tuskegee Veterans Administration Medical Center, training them for key positions. Dr. Fuller’s contributions to Alzheimer’s disease and his long career filled with achievements deserve to be recognized.

Inez Beverly Prosser, Ph.D. (1897-1934)

Inez Beverly Prosser is considered the first Black woman to earn a Ph.D. in psychology, a remarkable achievement. In a family that could only afford to send one child to college, Dr. Prosser’s parents chose to send her instead of her brother due to her obvious passion for learning.

After teaching for 18 years and earning bachelors and masters degrees along the way, Dr. Prosser earned her Ph.D. in psychology in 1933. Her dissertation research led to important conversations about the effects of segregation on school children and called for radical changes in attitude on the part of teachers and administrators to help kids have a more positive experience with desegregation. Dr. Prosser strongly believed in the transformative power of education and channeled her passion to help others. One of eleven children, she helped to fund higher education for 5 of her younger siblings, which allowed them to earn college degrees. Dr. Prosser’s life was cut short in a fatal car accident in 1934, but her passion and legacy live on.

Maxie Clarence Maultsby, Jr., M.D. (1932-2016)

Maxie Clarence Maultsby, Jr. was an accomplished psychiatrist, author and innovator in the field of behavioral health. He is the author of several books on emotional and behavioral self-management, and the founder of both Rational Behavior Therapy and Rational Self-Counseling. His work on Rational Behavioral Therapy contributed to the field in many important ways, focusing on the human brain’s physiology and challenging old approaches.

Dr. Maultsby’s many accolades include Distinguished Life Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Association of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapists and professor emeritus at Howard University School of Medicine.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish