[跳至内容]

988 最佳实践

全国 988 危机护理系统于 2022 年 7 月 16 日上线。这个新的紧急号码专门用于任何遇到行为健康危机的人,无论其严重程度如何。 988 旨在减轻当前 911 呼叫系统的压力,减少对执法的依赖,减少急诊室就诊次数,同时为处于危机中的人提供富有同情心的护理。

要实现 988 的基本目标,系统必须不止一个数字。它将需要一个由训练有素的心理健康专业人员组成的适当资助和协调的生态系统,再加上最先进的资源,以提供促进后续护理的多点触控体验。县和州之间的一致性也将有助于其成功。

全国精神疾病联盟 (NAMI) 列举了构成理想危机应对系统所需的三个核心组成部分。1

  1. 区域危机呼叫中心
  2. 危机移动团队响应
  3. 危机接收和稳定设施

呼叫中心将是遇到行为健康危机的人的第一联系点。这些中心配备训练有素的心理健康专业人员,将作为一个枢纽,能够派遣流动危机小组、检查住院护理的可用性并安排当日或次日门诊预约。他们还将根据需要进行跟进电话并与精神卫生保健提供者进行沟通。

当人们需要的不仅仅是电话支持时,将派遣移动危机小组。这种团队的一个例子是已经在该领域得到证明的模式:训练有素的同行与受过学士或硕士水平教育的员工合作。在某些地区,甚至有专门的青年危机小组可用。这些流动危机小组将帮助提供适当的护理/支持,同时避免不必要的执法部署或住院治疗。

当处于危机中的人需要住院时,将需要实时连接稳定设施的床位可用性,以提供尽可能好的护理。这种工作模式的一个例子是 Beacon 与 OPEN BEDS 的合作伙伴关系,后者提供了一个床位登记表,允许设施通过该系统接受或拒绝一个人。这些设施还可以提供其他重要信息,例如评估或拒绝某人需要多长时间,或者某人被拒绝的原因。该系统还在一些地区实施了实时 GPS 调度。

最后一个不容忽视的组成部分是社区伙伴关系。通过与每个社区合作,可以定制危机护理系统,以最好地满足他们的特定需求。好消息是,像 Beacon 这样经验丰富的公司已经拥有这些核心组件,使行为危机响应更快、更安全,尤其是更富有同情心。

阅读有关 988 危机护理系统的更多信息。

1 https://www.nami.org/getattachment/43600aa2-34db-4fb0-964c-3b86927f768f/Advocacy-Resource-on-988-Crisis-Response-System-Vi


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Best Practices for 988

The nationwide 988 crisis care system goes live on July 16, 2022. This new emergency number is solely dedicated to anyone experiencing a behavioral health crisis, regardless of severity. 988 is designed to take the strain off the current 911 call system, reduce the reliance on law enforcement and lower emergency room visits while providing compassionate care for those in crisis.

To realize the fundamental objectives of 988, the system will have to be more than a number. It will need to be a properly funded and coordinated eco-system of trained mental health professionals coupled with state-of-the-art resources providing a multi-touch experience that facilitates follow-up care. Consistency across counties and states will also contribute to its success.

The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) has cited three core components that are needed to make up an ideal crisis response system.1

  1. Regional Crisis Call Center
  2. Crisis Mobile Team Response
  3. Crisis Receiving and Stabilization Facilities

Call centers will be the first point of contact for someone experiencing a behavioral health crisis. Staffed with trained mental health professionals, the centers will work as a hub with the ability to dispatch mobile crisis teams, check the availability of inpatient care and arrange same-day or next-day outpatient appointments. They will also do follow-up calls and communicate with mental health care providers as needed.

Mobile crisis teams will be dispatched when people need more than telephonic support. An example of such a team is the model that has been proven in the field: trained peers partnered with bachelor- or master-level educated staff. In some regions, there are even specific youth crisis teams available. These mobile crisis teams will help provide appropriate care/support while avoiding unnecessary law enforcement deployment or hospitalization.

Real-time connection to bed availability at stabilization facilities will be needed to provide the best care possible when a person in crisis needs to be hospitalized. An example of such a working model is Beacon’s partnership with OPEN BEDS, who provides a bed registry that allows facilities to accept or decline a person through the system. The facilities can also provide other vital information, like how long it will take to assess or decline a person or why someone has been declined. This system is also implementing a real-time GPS dispatch in some regions.

One last component that should not be overlooked is community partnership. By teaming up with each community, a crisis care system can be customized to best serve their specific needs. The good news is that experienced companies like Beacon already have these core components in place, making behavioral crisis response quicker, safer and, above all, more compassionate.

Read more about the 988 crisis care system.

1 https://www.nami.org/getattachment/43600aa2-34db-4fb0-964c-3b86927f768f/Advocacy-Resource-on-988-Crisis-Response-System-Vi


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish