[跳至内容]

驱散假日忧郁

假期通常被称为“一年中最美好的时光”是有原因的。至少有 15 个不同的节日和纪念活动,它对来自世界各地的人们的惊人拼凑具有特殊的宗教和文化意义。作为家庭聚会、与朋友庆祝和精神联系的时间,假期可以像一年中的其他时间一样激发欢乐。

然而,假期并不总是对每个人都很有趣。当假期压力增加、开支增加和缺乏支持时,12 月可能会引发消极的想法和情绪。经济困难可能会阻止旅行探望家人,或者让父母无法向孩子解释为什么他们今年无法参加送礼活动。对于其他人来说,随着旧的创伤再次浮出水面和不切实际的期望有可能压倒一切,与家人的探访充满了困难的情绪。

焦虑、抑郁甚至绝望的激增会影响任何人,无论其家庭状况或社会经济地位如何。好消息是我们都可以使用有效的策略来消除假日忧郁症。

1:设定切合实际的期望。

克拉克·格里斯沃尔德 (Clark Griswold) 为人们对假期的期待设定了极高的标准——带来了极佳的喜剧效果。在您承诺计划或同意接待之前,请清楚您自己的需求并努力满足它们。对您对他人的期望也要切合实际。了解他们对赛季的态度可能与您的完全不同。正如克拉克巧妙地展示的那样,本赛季的精神比完美更重要。

2:注意孤独。

假期中的孤独感可能会引发抑郁症以及许多其他心理健康和个人挑战。制定计划会有所帮助。假期和朋友一起办事,和邻居一起散步,或者简单地打电话给您信任的人并进行交谈,以消除孤立感。假期可能是恢复和加强社会关系的好时机——这对全年都有持久的好处。积极主动地与他人建立联系,并记住您可能也在帮助他们减少孤独感。

3:通过运动来补充能量。

无数研究表明,定期锻炼对心理健康有明显好处。在压力大的时候——例如,与姻亲共进晚餐——抽出时间搬家很重要。无论是慢跑、整理庭院还是在公园散步,只需 30 分钟的体育锻炼,您的心情就会得到改善。

4:志愿者。

帮助他人可以成为治疗忧郁症的有力解药。当你把时间花在需要它的人身上时,你就表现出了慷慨、善良和同理心。所有这些都有助于形成整体的感恩感和归属感。这可以改善您的心情,并帮助您在假期期间保持头脑健康。

5:要灵活。

家庭传统和仪式很重要,但它们也会每年发生变化。灵活可以帮助您保持远见,减轻心情,并帮助您在压力大的情况下保持弹性。

虽然假期可能会有压力,但了解您的需求可以帮助您确定减轻一些压力的策略。通过一些练习,这些技巧可以帮助您远离忧郁,度过一个愉快的假期。

如果您或您所爱的人正在挣扎,Beacon 的 24/7 热线随时为您服务。请随时致电 1-800-580-6934 联系我们。如果您觉得自己处于危机之中,请立即拨打 988 或上网联系 988 自杀和危机生命线 988lifeline.org。

没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

Banish the holiday blues

There is a reason the holiday season is often called “the most wonderful time of the year.” With at least 15 different holidays and observances, it holds special religious and cultural significance for a stunning patchwork of people from around the world. A time for family gatherings, celebrations with friends, and spiritual connections, the holidays can inspire joy like no other time of the year.

The holidays aren’t always fun for everyone, however. The month of December can trigger negative thoughts and feelings when holiday stress mounts, expenses increase, and support is lacking. Financial woes may prevent travel to see family or leave a parent to explain to their child why the family isn’t able to participate in gift giving this year. For others, visitations with family are fraught with difficult emotions as old traumas resurface and unrealistic expectations threaten to overwhelm.

Spikes in anxiety, depression, and even hopelessness can affect anyone, regardless of family situation or socioeconomic status. The good news is that there are effective strategies we can all use for banishing the holiday blues.

1: Set realistic expectations.

Clark Griswold set the bar sky-high for holiday expectations — to great comedic effect. Before you commit to plans or agree to host, be clear about your own needs and strive to honor them. Be realistic in what you expect from others as well. Understand that their approach to the season might be completely different from yours. As Clark so deftly demonstrated, the spirit of the season is more important than perfection.

2: Lookout for loneliness.

Feeling alone during the holidays can be a trigger for depression and a host of other mental health and personal challenges. Having a plan can help. Run holiday errands with a friend, take a walk with your neighbor, or simply call someone you trust and have a conversation to combat feelings of isolation. The holiday season can be a great time to renew and strengthen social ties — something that has lasting benefits throughout the year. Be proactive in your connections with others and remember that you may be helping them feel less lonely, too.

3: Energize with exercise.

Countless studies demonstrate clear mental health benefits from regular exercise. In times of high stress — for example, dinner with the in-laws — it’s important to carve out time to move. Whether it’s a light jog, yard work, or a stroll in the park, your mood can improve with just 30 minutes of physical activity.

4: Volunteer.

Helping others can be a powerful antidote to the blues. When you give your time to someone else who needs it, you demonstrate generosity, kindness, and empathy. All of these things contribute to an overall sense of gratitude and belonging. This can boost your mood and help keep your mind feeling healthy during the holidays.

5: Be flexible.

Family traditions and rituals are important, but they can also change from year to year. Being flexible can help you maintain perspective, lighten your mood, and help you be resilient in stressful situations.

While the holidays may be stressful, staying attuned to your needs can help you identify strategies that relieve some of the pressure. With a little practice, these tips can help you keep the blues at bay and have a joyful holiday season.

If you or someone you love is struggling, Beacon’s 24/7 hotline is here for you. Call us anytime at 1-800-580-6934. If you feel you are in crisis, please contact the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline right away by calling 988 or going online at 988lifeline.org.

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish