[跳至内容]

一场不完美的完美风暴:延迟行为保健的影响

随着美国人开始使用COVID-19疫苗,我们看到隧道尽头。随之而来的希望是,我们可以回到工作,娱乐和其他方面的生活,即曾经与人交往的生活。

伴随着新的希望,这对一般医疗保健尤其是行为健康而言都是一个挑战:大流行引起的延期护理的影响。 最近的一项调查 透露有40%的人说他们取消了即将到来的约会,另有12%的人说他们需要护理但没有安排约会。据我们所知,大流行使个人的心理健康和福祉受到了负面影响,使情况变得复杂。 在另一项调查中,有53%的美国成年人表示,由于与COVID-19相关的担忧和压力,其心理健康受到了负面影响。

简而言之,我们遇到了一场完美的医疗保健风暴:更多需要照料的人没有得到它。现在是所有医疗保健参与者共同努力的方法,以弄清楚如何阻止延期护理的浪潮。

对医疗系统的影响

预测,延期护理对医疗系统的影响正变得显而易见 麦肯锡咨询公司在2020年9月的文章中。大流行不仅给有行为健康挑战的人打断治疗,还使更多人处于发展行为健康状况的风险中,例如抑郁症和药物滥用症(SUD)。实际上,该文章认为,由于大流行,大约有3500万人可以发展出行为健康状况。

行为健康需求的激增将影响医疗保健系统很多年。当然,它会影响需要行为健康护理的人的生活质量,但是一些研究表明,这也会增加成本:根据行为健康状况,有行为健康挑战的人的医疗保健支出约为无行为健康状况的人们的四倍。文章。

重要的是要指出,当某人有行为健康需要时,医疗费用会增加。例如,没有行为健康状况的个人每年的身体保健费用约为$2,400。患有严重抑郁症的人每年平均花费$10,400,其中$1,800用于行为保健。对于拥有SUD的人来说,平均每年花费为$15,100,其中只有$1,700用于行为健康服务。

我们可以满足被压抑的需求

当我们为增加的需求做准备时,“信标健康选择”提供了在大流行期间吸取的经验教训,以确保获得护理。以下信标工作也将适用于大流行后世界:

  • 通过数据分析主动识别危险人群。识别高危人群有助于在病情恶化之前将这些人与护理联系起来。为此,Beacon投入了额外的筛选工具,并进行了约13,000个外拨电话。
  • 促进远程医疗和其他虚拟护理方式。灯塔不仅解除了围绕远程医疗的管理要求,而且还通过提供许多远程医疗培训来帮助提供商。事实证明,2020年信标会员使用远程医疗服务的比例是2019年的80倍。
  • 增加同行专家的使用。除了他们的正常职责外,我们还培训了同龄人向处于风险中的成员发出外展电话。我们还培训了他们,以方便在线支持小组。随着世界转向更加虚拟化的医疗方法,在线支持小组等活动可能仍会保持相关性。
  • 注意健康的社会决定因素。 在我们的外联电话中,Beacon了解到,与之联系的28%的人有sh需求。在其他SHH举措中,我们进行了面向服务提供商的培训,以识别和应对SHH,并实施了SHH评估工具。

这些建议是一个开始。 Beacon呼吁所有利益相关者确定他们在组织中可以做什么,以确保人们在这些时候比以往任何时候都更需要得到护理。


22评论。 留下新的

艾玛·恩迪(Ema Ndi)
二月10,2021 4:38下午

这是很有见地的

回复

我非常感激这篇文章,这提醒我们,在我们的职业中,长期影响将是重大的。我主要与小孩一起工作,并且抑郁症状和躁动感有所增加。

回复
卡罗琳·鲍尔
二月10,2021 4:57下午

心理保健工作者(参赞,心理学家等)需要优先进行疫苗接种。现在,我听到潜在客户说,他们只想亲自见见辅导员。这对我们和其他客户都是风险。我们是前线工作人员,我似乎无法在3月底前得到任命。

回复
塔比莎·奎恩(Tabitha Kuehne)
二月12,2021 3:50下午

我是一名独立的心理治疗师,随机的人已经接种疫苗,而我没有。我希望有一种方法可以显示出来。

回复
黛比·伯迈斯特(Debbie Burmeister)
二月10,2021 5:00下午

另一个挑战是对现场会议的需求增加,以及与大型机构或医院无关的精神卫生服务提供者对疫苗的限制。我的客户(儿童,青少年和成人)中大约有2/3希望面对面参加远程医疗。

回复
Lynne Sheban博士
二月10,2021 5:01下午

我发现相反。不仅每个人都可以预约,因为远程医疗更容易,而且对医疗的需求如此之高,以至于我认识的每个执业者都被预订,即使没有被预订过多。当我不得不告诉转介我目前无法适应他们时,这是很痛苦的。

回复
辛西娅·威尔斯·格雷
二月11,2021 12:39下午

我遇到的情况与Lynne Sheban相同。在大流行开始时与我一起接受治疗的大多数客户实际上仍在继续。我以前的客户回来了。很少有人取消,大多数人认为远程医疗更省时。我只添加了很少的引荐。通过虚拟地看到它们,我感觉不到潜在的责任(客户在我的办公室或建筑物中暴露于病毒)。我也感到更安全。

回复

我也是如此。我从来没有接到过如此多的约会查询,现在我通过远程医疗看到了不同县和州的人。我看到有些人不精通技术,并且/或者只是过时的,想亲自参加。因此,我一直在使用安全措施来保持整个空间。确实很奇怪。

回复

好文章。我希望,在危机爆发后能够为应对由流行病引起的急剧的社会,情感变化的人们提供资源,并且知道在未来几年中将有很多个月的需求。

回复

远程医疗已为因日程要求,育儿和远程学习,没有交通和/或需要社交疏远而无法参加咨询服务的人们提供了心理健康服务。我希望在大流行危机消退之后,远程医疗将继续可用。谢谢!

回复

对于我和我的客户而言,远程治疗一直是大流行期间的天赐之物。不仅由于与COVID相关的问题而更加安全,而且我发现会议同样有效(或更有效),我的缺席率大大降低,并且我可以为客户提供更多服务。如果我回到办公室进行治疗,那么只能在有限的基础上进行。我真的很喜欢使用远程疗法,我的客户也喜欢!

回复
罗宾·巴迪亚里(Robin Badiali)
二月11,2021 12:30上午

是的,我完全同意!!!虽然,我认为我们都同意亲自见人是我们最擅长的事情。但是,这不是我们必须调整的常规时间,我们所有人都将从中受益。在如此困难的时期中,每个人似乎都很高兴可以访问。我很感激保险业已调整,让我们有机会做远光保健!!

回复

萨拉·科里,我同意你的看法。

回复

通常,妇女/母亲会发现其他
虚拟会议,经过一天的远程学习和他们自己的专业计算机密集工作
太多了
有时电话可以代替错过的会话
通常在晚上
必须重新适应环境影响
对于错过的会议也有更多的了解

回复
贝弗利·帕克·丹尼斯
二月10,2021 11:57下午

谢谢你的这篇文章 。在这次Covid-19大会上,我与不同的客户一起经历了这些问题的变化。我将很高兴能再次打开我的办公室进行现场会议。我阅读的文章有助于保持社区意识。

回复

作为私人执业LPC以及创伤和悲伤专家,我敏锐地意识到有必要规范人们对压力源的反应以及持续威胁生命的大流行性质。我从一开始就是这样。我们的工作不仅涉及呈现问题的标准,包括抑郁,愤怒和焦虑,还涉及客户能够识别的问题的文化和全球背景。与过去我与媒体和社区组织合作的方式一样,我能够为受9/11,波士顿马拉松爆炸,桑迪胡克学校枪击事件以及许多其他创伤事件影响的人们提供心理教育机会,一直在使用远程医疗和其他虚拟平台来提供信息,以帮助规范化和建立对我们所有人正在经历的事情以及面对大流行时如何发展和维持复原力的理解。我还发现,大量的精神卫生专业同事已经精疲力尽,并形成了明显的同情疲劳迹象,这促使他们寻求帮助。我们需要意识到我们作为精神卫生专业人员的角色对第一线反应的性质,并在可能的情况下在何时何地提供支持,以使自己保持健康并能够不断响应对我们服务的压倒性需求。谢谢Beacon,从一年前的大流行开始到现在一直为您提供的所有支持。即使我没有时间参加网络研讨会,我们也很感激。

回复
加里·比索尼亚(Gary Bisogna)
二月11,2021 2:08上午

事实证明,远程医疗不仅为客户提供了更多便利,而且迄今为止,我的7个不同的客户已签订了COVID。如果我在办公室里看到它们,不仅可能会生病,还会将这种可怕的病毒传播给其他客户。

回复
康斯坦茨·怀尔德(LCSW)
二月11,2021 4:05上午

本文讨论了我们都在处理的问题。我正在进行面对面和电话会议的混合。我同意提到难以获得疫苗接种时间表的人的观点。我仍然更喜欢面对面的会话,但是赞赏能够灵活地满足某些客户对虚拟会话的偏爱。

回复
Myrna B Alexander博士
二月11,2021 4:19上午

发现这篇文章很有帮助且有趣,因为它有助于了解我自己作为从业者的主要趋势,并确保客户不孤单。

回复
菲利斯·贝尔
二月11,2021 4:36下午

既使提供者和患者也有能力的好主意。

回复
约翰·凯恩·LMHC
二月11,2021 10:54下午

由于Covid造成的社会隔离极大地增加了焦虑和抑郁感,许多其他健康的人正在经历可以被诊断为适应障碍的疾病。如果不加以治疗,这种情况可能导致药物滥用,人际关系和家庭压力以及许多相关问题。这还没有算上大流行对危机前已经进行了心理健康诊断的人们的严重影响。保险公司既聪明又善于消除心理健康服务的共付额和可扣除额要求。

回复
卡伦·利文斯顿(Karen Livingston)
二月17,2021 3:24上午

谢谢!我发现这篇文章对大流行期间行为健康的一些实际问题很有帮助。我的大多数客户都愿意切换到远程医疗,当我问他们在选择戴面具或通过屏幕全脸看我时,他们偏爱选择带屏幕的全脸。由于我的大多数客户都有重大的创伤经历,因此,重要的是要注意并减轻大流行本身的创伤影响以及触发大流行的早期经验和应对方式。
我非常感谢其他提供者的回应以及他们对在大流行期间我们的工作受到影响的方式的认可。在大流行期间的需求是如此之大,以至于有时要实行“足够好”的自我护理是一项挑战,要注意我也受到大流行影响的方式,并且在一次大流行期间对自己有合理的期望不合理的时间。

回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

[Skip to Content]

An imperfect perfect storm: The effects of deferred behavioral health care

We’re seeing light at the end of the tunnel as Americans start to get the COVID-19 vaccine. With it comes the hope that we can return to a life we once knew – a life of engaging with people – at work, at play and beyond.

Along with the renewed hope is a challenge for healthcare in general and behavioral health in particular: the effects of deferred care due to the pandemic. A recent survey revealed that 40 percent of individuals stated they canceled upcoming appointments, and an additional 12 percent stated they need care but haven’t scheduled an appointment. The situation complicates as we know that the pandemic has negatively affected individuals’ mental health and wellbeing. In another survey, 53 percent of American adults reported their mental health has been negatively affected due to COVID-19-related worry and stress.

In brief, we have a healthcare perfect storm: more people needing care who haven’t been getting it. The time is now for all healthcare players to work together to figure out how to stem the tide of deferred care.

The impact on the healthcare system

The effect of deferred care on the healthcare system is just becoming apparent, predicts McKinsey Consulting in a September 2020 article. Not only did the pandemic interrupt treatment for people with existing behavioral health challenges, it also has put more people at risk for developing behavioral health conditions, such as depression and substance use disorder (SUD). In fact, the article posits that approximately 35 million people could develop a behavioral health condition because of the pandemic.

This surge of behavioral health need will affect the healthcare system for many years. It will, of course, affect the quality of life for individuals needing behavioral health care, but some research indicates it will also increase costs: people with behavioral health challenges have approximately four times the healthcare spend of people without behavioral health conditions, according to the article.

It’s important to point out that medical care costs increase when someone has a behavioral health need. For example, individuals with no behavioral health condition incur approximately $2,400 in annual physical healthcare costs. Someone who has major depression spends on average $10,400 per year, with $1,800 of that on behavioral health care. For someone who has SUD, the average annual spend is $15,100, with only $1,700 of it for behavioral health services.

We can meet pent-up demand

As we prepare for the increased need, Beacon Health Options offers lessons learned during the pandemic to ensure access to care. The following Beacon efforts would apply to a post-pandemic world as well:

  • Be proactive in identifying at-risk people through data analytics. Identifying at-risk people helps to connect these individuals to care before their conditions can escalate. To do so, Beacon invested in additional screening tools and made approximately 13,000 outreach calls.
  • Promote telehealth and other virtual means of care. Not only did Beacon lift administrative requirements around telehealth, we also helped providers by offering many telehealth trainings. It turns out that there was an 80 times higher use of telehealth services among Beacon members in 2020 versus 2019.
  • Increase the use of peer specialists. In addition to their normal duties, we trained peers to do outreach calls to at-risk members. We also trained them to facilitate online support groups. As the world shifts to a more virtual approach to healthcare, activities such as online support groups are likely to remain relevant.
  • Pay attention to social determinants of health (SDoH). During our outreach calls, Beacon learned that 28 percent of people contacted had SDoH needs. Among other SDoH initiatives, we conducted provider-facing trainings on identifying and responding to SDoH and implemented an SDoH assessment tool.

These suggestions are a start. Beacon calls upon all stakeholders to determine what they can do at their organizations to ensure that people get care during these times when they need it more than ever.


22 Comments. Leave new

this is very insightful

Reply

i am so appreciative of this article reminding us that in our profession the long term effects will be significant. I work mainly with small children and have seen an increase in depressive symptoms and feelings of agitation.

Reply

Mental healthcare workers—counselors, psychologists, etc—need to be a priority to be vaccined. Right now I’m hearing potential clients say they only want to see a counselor in person. This is a risk for us and for our other clients. We ARE frontline workers, and I can’t seem to get an appointment before the end of March.

Reply
Tabitha Kuehne
February 12, 2021 3:50 pm

I’m an independent psychotherapist and random people have been vaccinated and I haven’t. I wish there were a way to show up on the radar.

Reply
Debbie Burmeister
February 10, 2021 5:00 pm

An additional challenge is an increased demand for in person sessions and the limitations on vaccines for mental health providers not associated with large agencies or hospitals. Appropriately 2/3 of my clients (children, teens & adults) prefer in person sessions to telehealth.

Reply
Lynne Sheban, Ph.D.
February 10, 2021 5:01 pm

I’m finding the opposite. Not only is everyone keeping appointments because it is easier with telehealth, but the demand for care is so high that every practitioner that I know is booked, if not overbooked. It is painful when I have to tell referrals that I cannot fit them in at this time.

Reply
Cynthia Wells Grey
February 11, 2021 12:39 pm

I am experiencing the same scenario as Lynne Sheban. Most of my clients that were in therapy with me at the start of the pandemic have continued virtually. My former clients are returning. Rarely does someone cancel and most find Telehealth more time efficient. I have only added a very few referrals. I feel less of a potential liability (clients being exposed to the virus in my office or building) by seeing them virtually. I feel safer as well.

Reply

This is true for me as well. I’ve never gotten so many inquiries for appointments and now I see people for different counties and states via telehealth. And I see some people who are not tech savvy and/or just old fashioned and want to come in person. So I’ve held that space throughout (with safety measures). Strange times indeed.

Reply

Good article. I am hopeful the resources for persons dealing with the dramatic social, emotional changes caused by the pandemic will be available post crisis as well know there will be a great deal of need for many months, next couple years to come.

Reply

Telehealth has made mental health services available to people who could not otherwise attend counseling services due to schedule demands, childcare and remote learning, no transportation and, or need for social distancing. I hope telehealth will continue to be available after the pandemic crisis subsides. Thank you!

Reply

Teletherapy has been a godsend during the pandemic, both for me and my clients. Not only safer due to COVID related concerns, but I have found that sessions are just as effective (or more effective), my no-show rate is significantly lower, and I am able to be more available to my clients. If I return to in-office therapy it will only be on a limited basis. I really enjoy using teletherapy and my clients do too!

Reply

Yes, I totally agree!!! Although, I would think we all agree seeing people in person is what we do best. However, these are not regular times we have to adjust and ALL of us benefit. Everyone seems to be happy to have the accessibility during such a difficult time. I am grateful insurance has adjusted to allow us the opportunity to do telahealth!!

Reply

I agree with you, Sara Corry.

Reply

Mostly women/mothers find an additional
Virtual session , after a day with remote learning and their own professional computer intensive work
Just too much
Sometimes a telephone can substitute for a missed session
And usually later at night
Have to re adjust to the environmental impacts
Also have be more understanding for a missed session

Reply
Beverly Parker-Dennis
February 10, 2021 11:57 pm

Thank you, for this article . I have experienced a variation of these issues with the diverse clients during this Covid-19. I will be grateful for when I can open my office again to provide in person sessions. The articles I read are able to help with keeping a sense of community.

Reply

As a private practice LPC, and trauma and grief specialist, I am acutely aware of the need to normalize people’s responses to the stressors and ongoing life threatening nature of the pandemic. I have been from the beginning. Our work is not just about the standard presenting problems, of depression, anger and anxiety, but also about the cultural and global context of the problems clients are able to identify. In the same way that I have worked with media and community organizations in the past to be able to provide psychoeducational opportunities to people impacted by 9/11, the Boston Marathon Bombing, the Sandy Hook school shootings, and many other traumatic incidents, I have been using telehealth and other virtual platforms to offer information that helps normalize and create understanding of what we are all experiencing and how to develop and sustain resilience in the face of the pandemic. I have also found that a significant number of mental health professional colleagues are maxed out and developing clear signs of compassion fatigue, which leads them to call for help. We need to be aware of the the frontline response nature of our roles as mental health professionals and provide supports, where and when we can, to keep ourselves healthy and able to keep responding to the overwhelming need for our services. Thank you Beacon, for all of your support from the beginning of the pandemic a year ago, until now. It is appreciated, even when I don’t have the hours in the day to participate in the webinars.

Reply

Telehealth has proven not only more convenient for clients, but so far 7 different clients of mine have contracted COVID. Had I been seeing them in my office, not only would I likely have gotten sick, I would have spread this horrid virus(es) to my other clients.

Reply
Constance Wildey, LCSW
February 11, 2021 4:05 am

This article addressed issues that we are all dealing with. I am doing a mixture of in-person and telephonic sessions. I agree with the person who mentioned the difficulty getting schedule for vacine. I still prefer the face-to-face sessions, but appreciate the flexibility to meet some client’s preference for virtual sessions.

Reply
Dr Myrna B Alexander
February 11, 2021 4:19 am

Found this article helpful and interesting, as it helps to be aware of major trends both for myself as practitioner as well as to assure clients they are not alone.

Reply

Great ideas that empower both the providers and the patients..

Reply

Social isolation due to Covid has dramatically increased anxiety and depression, with many otherwise healthy people experiencing what can be diagnosed as an adjustment disorder. If left untreated this situation can lead to substance abuse, interpersonal and family stress, and a host of related issues. This is not even counting the serious effects the pandemic has had on those who already had a mental health diagnosis before the crisis. Insurance companies have been both smart and beneficient to eliminate copay and deductible requirements for mental health services.

Reply
Karen Livingston
February 17, 2021 3:24 am

Thank you! I found this article helpful as it spoke to the some of the real issues of behavioral health during the pandemic. Most of my clients were willing to switch to tele-health and when I asked them their preference between seeing me in a mask or full face through a screen voted for full face with a screen. Since most of my clients are have a significant trauma history, it has been important to pay attention to and mitigate the traumatic impact of the pandemic itself and the ways in which it triggers earlier experiences and responses.
I greatly appreciated other provider’s responses and their acknowledgement of the ways in which we have been impacted through our work during the pandemic. The need is so great during the pandemic that it has, at times, been a challenge to practice “good enough” self care, pay attention to the ways in which I am also impacted by the pandemic, and have reasonable expectations of myself during an unreasonable time.

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Comments that are inappropriate and/or not pertaining to the immediate topic at hand will not be published.

Top Link
en_USEnglish